murchr wrote:washiku wrote:I should buy a bus
You can if you are a co-orporate body but not just washiku. May be washiku express
law wrote:A vehicle shall not be licenced as a public service vehicle unless the owner or operator of the vehicle is a corporate body whose principal objective is the operation of public service vehicles and which meets minimum conditions prescribed by the Authority.
. A corporate body desirous of operating public service vehicles shall meet the following minimum conditions:
(a) Be the registered owner of a minimum of 30 serviceable vehicles licensed as public service vehicles or in respect to which an application for a licence has been or is to be lodged with the Authority;
Someni sheria jameni
So I form "Mukiha & Wife Ltd", buy 30 buses with some 100m bob; then apply for PSV licence.... what if they say no? isn't the risk too great?
Perhaps one should be expected to "show evidence" of financial ability to buy 30 buses then get a provisional license for, say 180days to actually buy the buses and get them inspected and certified and then get the full license upon presentation of the certificates of inspection.
Nonetheless; the idea of saccos should be discouraged kabisa! Saccos are no better than individuals in managing their fleets, and then there is the issue of whether you can withdraw Mukiha's PSV license because Kamau-wa-Njoroge's bus was involved in an accident.
Finally; the requirement of the operator being a corporate body is unnecessary. It is much easier to punish/reward and individual than a corporate body. And we all know that company files can be made to disappear!
The aim should be to ensure that only serious businesspeople get into the PSV business. It's a matter of life and death and leaving it at the hands of any Mukiha who comes along with one rickety jalopy is just too reckless!
Indeed; I suspect that this particular regulation can be challenged in a constitutional court.