wazua Sun, Dec 22, 2024

Githongo for KACC job
adept
#21 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 11:45:00 AM

I agree with @jaribu on Githongo. This is Kenya man. KACC does not need a goody-two-shoes. It needs a man (or woman??) with balls of steel. Any effective Director will face major death threats on a daily basis and I am not willing to contribute mny taxes again for MPs airfare and accomodation to go and interview the chap in the UK again. Make no mistake: he is a good guy. Just too much of a softie for the role.

My humbe opinion on the rest:

Muite - I have no words. Wacha iishie hapo.

Mwalimu Mati - LMAO. While I appreciate his attention to detail,I think he gets overly dramatic. Cant forget the time this guy went wailing all over the place claiming cops had assaulted him during a demo. He wore a bandage for ages kumbe all he had was a scratch. Needs to man up a bit hehehe.

Maina Kiai - Better than all the above. An assertive fellow. But he seemed to have some personal beef with some politicians and I would hope that does not end up clouding his judgement.

PLO - Fantastic orator and brilliant mind. I however find him untested on difficult situations. Maybe he could cut it though.
mkristo
#22 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 12:33:00 PM

I agree with you on Githongo; however KACC remains toothless if nothing can be done to prosecute persons investigated. Githongo will get furstrated a second time and resign like he did the first time.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
newcomer
#23 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 1:24:00 PM

Githongo did his good part when he acted detective on top kenyans. His appointment would be over politicised and end end up like that of his predecessor.

I do not trust anyone who ate from Moi's plate with joy,and Lumumba was one of them. His last mouthful from Moi before he turned the orator activist was the appointment as secretary to the constitutional review commission. When the president was given three names from which to pick one, he preferred PLO yet the list included an old advisers,Prof Nyasani.

Among the names already mentioned here,I would go for Ahmed. However,out there,can't we get another Kenyan other than the recycled old names. Is it true that the only capable people are only those we have known through the media? Could there be some professionals who have achieved a lot in their respective roles and probably have not been a focus for media attention?

I pray that the KACC advisory board will be open minded and especially look for talent outside the very known fellows to give us someone new to our ears. That person could even be a member of SK. Kinyee and others,the job could be yours,apply.
Feish
#24 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 2:00:00 PM

I thought in another string we had guys complaining about kyuks......so to me its we cant remove a GEMA and replace with the same GEMA....HATUWESMEK

life is an endless adventure
extrablessed
#25 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 2:59:00 PM

My choice would be Justice Waki....he has proved himself over and over...but KACC need to be given all the power given to the SCOPIONS of South Africa. Unfortunately,our MPigs would fight tooth and nail to make sure this does not happen.

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
#26 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 5:15:00 PM

Let us be clear first what the job of KACC is: Investigate and prevent corruption. Investigators need to be thorough and in order to prevent anything in Kenya you need to be ruthless. An effective KACC director is not going to be a likable person. This may not be popular with anyone but I think we are missing our man right under our noses. BERNARD CHUNGA!! Never in the history of Kenya has there been such a relentless,cold hearted and feared prosecutor. It is my understanding that in his pursuit of the so called Mwakenya this man was unbeatable. I remember Muite once commenting that Chunga prosecuted with sadistic venom. He had his facts right and was outstanding at knocking holes in the defense arguments. As a lawyer you had to be prepared to face Chunga in court. His zeal would also lead him to do crazy things like hounding a suspect to court at 5am and by the time the other lawyers got there the case was finished and someone had been sentenced. Of course those were Moi days and such things could be arranged.
Do I approve of his actions? Absolutely not!! But if you replace Mwakenya with a corrupt individual in the above scenario and suddenly the picture does not look too bad.
Having said that I agree with Mukiha,as KACC is currently constituted it is a useless body that is a waste of our money and it should be disbanded. Alternatively it may work if you replace both Wako and Ringera with two people on the same page about fighting corruption so that they work as a team.

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
nosk
#27 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 5:26:00 PM

Ati Githongo. dont we have HR managers in this forum? Githongo would make the worst tea boy in any firm,let alone KACC director. Its like saying ''Pattni'. Different sides of the same coin.

Somebody here said we should look forward to a new name. But,as fate would have,Mutonyi will get the job.
#28 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:45:00 PM

LOL... most commentators here dissing ati Githongo is not a man coz he ran away... would run away if threatened with less!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB