wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

11 Pages«<23456>»
Ban on Night Travel Coast Bus Behaving Badly
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 12:20:57 PM

.......so some two guys travelled to Bunyala via a motor bike coz of this very unreasonable decision......fuel ni 600/=!!!

From where to Bunyala?

Nairobi, could not believe the story!!!!...anybody with experience on piki piki (bhajaj) fuel consumption? Eti they rested 3 times on the way!!!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 12:29:50 PM

butterflyke wrote:
can they also ban night travel on lang'ata road and other 'hot spots' where we are sure to have accidents mainly due to DUI whether it's the festive season or not?

nkt. these knee jerk reactions to road safety will not work. we already lose a lot of time to build the economy whilst stuck in traffic jams. having buses travel only during the day will add to the congestion.

something that struck me is that the ban will affect travel to and from western and coastal areas. hii ban ni ya goggles ama?i agree with TAZ that we the drivers do not make the situation any better - indiscipline galore

That highlighted line of thought has been going round FB and am wondering.....Kwani long distance night buses are for which destinations?Its Coast and Western.So obviously they are the affected lot.

Any distance within 300Kms radius from Nairobi does not require overnight travel.

I also look foward to us being part of the solution.Let us offer suggestions,critisism will not help.Yes the decision was not good and its hurting the economy but so were the many deaths that were happenning.

I offer my suggestion

---All buses must have at least 2 experienced drivers who will drive in turns.

---The speed limit should be enforced but at 100KPH not the previous 80KPH
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 12:32:51 PM

.......so some two guys travelled to Bunyala via a motor bike coz of this very unreasonable decision......fuel ni 600/=!!!

From where to Bunyala?

Nairobi, could not believe the story!!!!...anybody with experience on piki piki (bhajaj) fuel consumption? Eti they rested 3 times on the way!!!

Both of them were drivers? Thats a whooping 500km travelling on the open pikipiki, kwanja Bajaj...!!!!
Quit unbelievable, fuel may be okay but human endurance and given that they did it mara ya kwanza.

Think Think Think Think

Prime
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:20:53 PM

butterflyke wrote:
can they also ban night travel on lang'ata road and other 'hot spots' where we are sure to have accidents mainly due to DUI whether it's the festive season or not?

nkt. these knee jerk reactions to road safety will not work. we already lose a lot of time to build the economy whilst stuck in traffic jams. having buses travel only during the day will add to the congestion.

something that struck me is that the ban will affect travel to and from western and coastal areas. hii ban ni ya goggles ama?i agree with TAZ that we the drivers do not make the situation any better - indiscipline galore

That highlighted line of thought has been going round FB and am wondering.....Kwani long distance night buses are for which destinations?Its Coast and Western.So obviously they are the affected lot.

Any distance within 300Kms radius from Nairobi does not require overnight travel.

I also look foward to us being part of the solution.Let us offer suggestions,critisism will not help.Yes the decision was not good and its hurting the economy but so were the many deaths that were happenning.

I offer my suggestion

---All buses must have at least 2 experienced drivers who will drive in turns.

---The speed limit should be enforced but at 100KPH not the previous 80KPH

Yes, then penalize the offenders with death sentences. Applause Applause Applause Surely, why would anyone want to drive at more than the 100 KPH?
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:24:45 PM

These laws you are mentioning are already in the books. The problem is and has always been IMPLEMENTATION.

Not taxation.

I will never like or consider a gov't that uses taxation as a means of controlling behavior.

This is not road safety or alcholism anonymous. It's taxation, TAXation, TAXATION.

Tax and spend gov't is what we have here. And they will use your tears and cries to tax you more.

The laptops will also come with a new tax. In the meantime, mawinder will have more stories to tell us on how the new taxes were spent.
Wainadi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:36:39 PM

From where to Bunyala?

65 kilometres per litre.
Its all good.
#37 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 8:06:44 PM

THe ban seems to have created new opportunities for owners of Fielders and the much derided Promboxes. I call it the miniaturization of public transport.
Zanze
#38 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 2:26:22 AM

I really don't understand the thinking by our government officials. Why create sensible laws (speed governors and seat belts etc) only to disregard them and then create idiotic ones like banning night travel? It is our fault that these things keep happening by boarding overloaded vehicles, giving those bribes just because we are in a hurry and asking our friends to let us know where the alcoblows are. We need very few things to stop the carnage ...

1. Create clear, sensible laws.
2. Enforce the laws to the letter.
3. Jail and fire any cop taking a bribe.
4. Jail and revoke the license of anyone offering a bribe.

Simplistic some of you might say but we have to start being serious. Being huku kwa kina @kiash, I know for a fact that if I am caught speeding or ignoring a traffic device, I get a ticket and my insurance goes up. If I'm caught driving over the speed limit it's the same thing and if I was doing 30 over, it becomes a criminal offense with more issues. If driving drunk the fines can go up to $5,000, might involve jail time, restricted movement and an interlock device, mandatory AA meetings. Don't forget the lawyers fees, time off from work to go to court and since we are proud people the embarrassment of it all. Knowing all these things, why would I break a traffic law?

Bribing you ask? I can't imagine offering these stone faced cops to take one.

#39 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 7:11:52 AM

Can someone post a proper link to the official document "banning" night travel by buses?

I have been on pilgrimage to the Bundus, I noticed many Easy Coaches during the day along Narok Mahi Mahiu and Nax Vegas

My question ¿ From the little i have read, the gaarment required night travel buses to apply fir special licences and issued notice and circulat to this effect which in typical Kenyan vrtsion was ignored till last minute, chida iko wapi?

What is the practice within the commonwealth and rest of civilised world on night transport? I refuse to accept that Eng Kamau and Transport Technocrats can wake up and ban night travel that will be a fundamental bleach of human rights and marginalization of sisi watu wa pwani na western.

Ole Lenku
#40 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 9:31:45 AM

Siringi wrote:
Can someone post a proper link to the official document "banning" night travel by buses?

I have been on pilgrimage to the Bundus, I noticed many Easy Coaches during the day along Narok Mahi Mahiu and Nax Vegas

My question ¿ From the little i have read, the gaarment required night travel buses to apply fir special licences and issued notice and circulat to this effect which in typical Kenyan vrtsion was ignored till last minute, chida iko wapi?

What is the practice within the commonwealth and rest of civilised world on night transport? I refuse to accept that Eng Kamau and Transport Technocrats can wake up and ban night travel that will be a fundamental bleach of human rights and marginalization of sisi watu wa pwani na western.

Why refuse, this is Kenya and someone is reaping serious benefits from this ban including:
1. Traffic police taking more bribes to allow night travel illegally.
2. PSV operators charging more money for less travel.
3. Special licence team also taking massive bribes before giving the licence.
11 Pages«<23456>»