12 Pages123>»
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 9:36:32 AM

government’s July deadline for a ban on using cash in paying for bus fare

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrNh0KAyw14

rink

Kwani these people believe everyone is on M-PESA or BebaPay. This thing will be fought!! since when did m-pesa become legal tender for the payment of debts? Consumer organizations should fight this thing!
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 10:31:10 AM

Will there be money transfer costs? How will they be distributed?

Why should there seem to be a favoritism on M-pesa or bebapay? I have no problem with us going digital but I think the government needs more consultation on how they are going to get revenues in a digital world. For example, the anticipated revenues may not be realized because the digital system is inherently against increasing costs, so delivery systems and multimedia conferencing will rise and government will have a harder time collecting taxes.

#3 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 10:35:12 AM

On the flip side, this will encourage innovative products to sprout. All forms of electronic payments shud be encouraged. There is also a directive in place that will see all government money paid electronically. In several years time, cashless transactions will be the in thing n that will be very good for the economy.
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 10:49:43 AM

The News Article wrote:
The move is expected to both help the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) to collect data on tax compliance in the sector, as well as reduce theft of cash by crew and bribery to traffic police officers to make it more investor friendly.

So the banks get 1% of the matatu revenue?

Bullcrap Legislations by this Jubilee Confused 'Leadership'.

1. Police will still be bribed, even shuttles pay protection money to cops through the SACCOs yet the fares are well documented by issuance of receipts in the offices.

2. Tax evation (income tax) will still continue as usual, since, even landlords have not yet complied. This will cause a hike in fares.

3. Adding VAT on my bus fare (which is what KRA is wants) will not go well with me as an overtaxed citizen.

Caveman
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 10:55:18 AM

Will children also be required to pay fare? How?
Are mobile phones going to be used in the transactions? How about mobile theft/snatching?
If I am going for a very short distance, will I have enough time to transact before I alight?....
Muheani
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 11:12:31 AM

Caveman wrote:
Are mobile phones going to be used in the transactions? How about mobile theft/snatching?
If I am going for a very short distance, will I have enough time to transact before I alight?....

Mayb saccos will come up with prepaid seasonal tickets. Problem is our public transport system is so unreliable and one might need to have a number. Unless of course they come up with a sort of visa card.
Ole Lenku
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 11:17:48 AM

"THESE PEOPLE" are nuts.
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 11:50:59 AM

Muheani wrote:
Caveman wrote:

Mayb saccos will come up with prepaid seasonal tickets. Problem is our public transport system is so unreliable and one might need to have a number. Unless of course they come up with a sort of visa card.

That unreliability part should be sorted first...
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 11:54:06 AM

It's a welcome move but probably wrong timing. Penetrration of mobile phones and cards is low. Govt should allow private sector to make the market receptive before moving to compel markets to go cashless.
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 11:57:40 AM

@dunkang, apart from your second point, I disagree. I doubt govt would want to add VAT for fare. They most likely though will want to get some income tax from the PSV guys which is good for us all. We've been talkin bout widening tax bracket, right?
12 Pages123>»