wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

7 Pages123>»
Tragedy of Kenyan stars: Henry Motego
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:11:25 PM

I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.
What's with us Kenyans and disrespecting our heros. I'm sad.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:17:36 PM

I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Thats life. Immense talent comes with a flip side, a tragedy of some sort or misery and destitution after the crowd is done being entertained by you. Its a great irony.
Few talented individuals are able to have a comfortable retired life after raking millions and living on the fast lane.
Examples abound ...Tyson, Holyfield ..
segemia
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:28:15 PM

quicksand wrote:

Thats life. Immense talent comes with a flip side, a tragedy of some sort or misery and destitution after the crowd is done being entertained by you. Its a great irony.
Few talented individuals are able to have a comfortable retired life after raking millions and living on the fast lane.

Include MC Hammer,
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:31:23 PM

Remember watching him on tv, during a match against algeria
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:35:58 PM

segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Include MC Hammer,

But how are others able to make it eg. Muhammed Ali? We can't say he invested better, he's been ill for a long time and still going strong yet he didn't even make a 1/4 of what Tyson and Holyfield made. Or is the US govt. taking care of Ali as a national hero?

#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:46:12 PM

There is a HUGE difference here!!!

Henry Motego never made millions. Not even close!!! There was no money in the game then. There is hardly any even now - In the Kenyan context. This guys were hardly making ends meet at the height of their "careers" let alone after! So the issues of investing (wisely or otherwise) or wasting money does not even arise.

People are seriously comparing Henry Motego to Tyson, Holyfield, MC Hammer etc.? Are you guys serious??? Are facts important anymore or some just says what comes to mind???
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:46:24 PM

I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He looks so low just like Osuofia when acting a poor man in Nigeria movies.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup!

#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:56:12 PM

segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Include MC Hammer,

But how are others able to make it eg. Muhammed Ali? We can't say he invested better, he's been ill for a long time and still going strong yet he didn't even make a 1/4 of what Tyson and Holyfield made. Or is the US govt. taking care of Ali as a national hero?

There are some who have a wise head on their shoulders. ..they know talent fades so they save, invest, avoid the fast lane...some have spouses and advisors who ground them.
Ali is not living on the lap of luxury. But in places like the US its possible to have a decent retired life with just either little effort or charity, esp if you were an icon. Also, professional sports associations pay a stipend (like a royalty) to retired stars. O.J Simpson gets paid one such, actually his daughter (is 25K USD per month or something like that. .not bad huh) and that money is causing friction in his family as she doesnt help the othe members. Its quite possible a similar arangement is in place for Ali as well.
http://www.dailymail.co....on-fall-foreclosure.html
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:04:58 PM

quicksand wrote:
segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:
[quote=2012]I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Include MC Hammer,

There are some who have a wise head on their shoulders. ..they know talent fades so they save, invest, avoid the fast lane...some have spouses and advisors who ground them.
Ali is not living on the lap of luxury. But in places like the US its possible to have a decent retired life with just either little effort or charity, esp if you were an icon. Also, professional sports associations pay a stipend (like a royalty) to retired stars. O.J Simpson gets paid one such, actually his daughter (is 25K USD per month or something like that. .not bad huh) and that money is causing friction in his family as she doesnt help the othe members. Its quite possible a similar arangement is in place for Ali as well.
http://www.dailymail.co....n-fall-foreclosure.html[/quote]

I was going to say that that is the only way out for most. Force the teams and associations they were playing for do something like that.

It's also not fair to judge akina Motego with Tyson. Motego had nothing to squander. He played for Kenya without getting a cent. So Kenyans owe him

Make every ticket have a percentage going towards the upkeep of former players alive or dead. Every team paying a percentage of their gate collections towards players on retirement etc. Just like NSSF.

mdudu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:10:54 PM

quicksand wrote:
segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:
[quote=2012]I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Include MC Hammer,

http://www.dailymail.co....n-fall-foreclosure.html[/quote]

I was going to say that that is the only way out for most. Force the teams and associations they were playing for do something like that.

It's also not fair to judge akina Motego with Tyson. Motego had nothing to squander. He played for Kenya without getting a cent. So Kenyans owe him

Make every ticket have a percentage going towards the upkeep of former players alive or dead. Every team paying a percentage of their gate collections towards players on retirement etc. Just like NSSF.

Recently read an article by Roy Gachuhi on the immediate aftermath of Gor winning the Mandela Cup.If it was not so sad it would have made a very funny story.
http://mobile.nation.co..../-/dx9dciz/-/index.html
7 Pages123>»