wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

43 Pages«<1011121314>»
Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!
#221 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:16:04 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Eventually we will all have to buy those boxes. I believe this is better done sooner rather than later.

waambie!
#222 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:46:03 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Eventually we will all have to buy those boxes. I believe this is better done sooner rather than later.

So bwana engineer, with all the engineers churned out of our universities every year, how come we can't assemble these gadgets locally to bring down the cost and create jobs? Kwani the electrical engineering/IT curriculum taught in shaina/Korea is different from the one at UoN?
#223 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:53:06 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

So bwana engineer, with all the engineers churned out of our universities every year, how come we can't assemble these gadgets locally to bring down the cost and create jobs? Kwani the electrical engineering/IT curriculum taught in shaina/Korea is different from the one at UoN?

Good question. We seem to import everything including refined coffee.
#224 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:05:16 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

Again, good question. And therein lies the opportunity for our local economy. Our education needs to be practical.
#225 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:49:02 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

Hili swali nimeuliza nikachoka. Seriously, can't we at least reverse-engineer one if that's what it'd take?Sad
#226 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 7:22:25 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:

Hili swali nimeuliza nikachoka. Seriously, can't we at least reverse-engineer one if that's what it'd take?Sad

Okay, lets see what it will take to do it!, right:
- gain admission in to the 'correct' university.

- enrol in to the correct 'erb-k' accredited engineering course.

- graduate

- work for atleast 3 years (mostly +6yrs) under an erb-k accredited engineer.

- succeed in the professional interview.

- purchase and reverse engineer the set top box.

- Hustle for the KEBS approvals,

- You may want to patent anything new you 'invented' during your reverse engineering. so visit the relevant body.

- Kenya Copyright Board may need something from you, for protection.

- buy an 'accredited distributorship' slot from CCK.

- SELL YOUR GADGETS, AND BEST OF LUCK.

bird_man
#227 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 7:23:28 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:

Its not that we cant make them here....we can.But as a hobby not a business.While we struggle to make one,China will make millions per day & at lower costs with wider demand from the world market.We made the nyayo car for several years....Japan makes millions of cars per day.Even American goods e.g Nike are no longer made in the US....China!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
thuks
#228 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:20:36 PM

bird_man wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:

Its not that we cant make them here....we can.But as a hobby not a business.While we struggle to make one,China will make millions per day & at lower costs with wider demand from the world market.We made the nyayo car for several years....Japan makes millions of cars per day.Even American goods e.g Nike are no longer made in the US....China!

Why China... I hear labour is cheap there
If our engineers are 'substandard', why are they expensive to hire yet we claim to have so many of them?
How often have you asked for a Kenyan product when available?
I care!
#229 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:29:55 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

Huyu jamaa amenena!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GROrOY-VT94
#230 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:59:54 PM

thuks wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:

Why China... I hear labour is cheap there
If our engineers are 'substandard', why are they expensive to hire yet we claim to have so many of them?
How often have you asked for a Kenyan product when available?

I will try to answer the question "Why China"
Apart from labour being cheap, they have the highest number of skilled labourers.China is the world largest supplier of educated workforce, they have the highest number of science, technology, engineering and mathematics grads, giving it a leg up in some of the world's fastest growing sectors. Another thing, their labor laws are wak so workers are taken advantage of.

But more and more chinese workers are demanding a higher pay now and the manufactures are looking elsewhere for labor.....Ethiopia is very attractive
#231 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 10:20:41 PM

Some updates:

1. For those with GoTv decoders who alredy haven't done it, please blindscan your decoders on your own to get the Signet Channels. Here's how:

Go to Menu >> Settings >> Installations >> Tuning >> Auto-tune and press 'Ok'. After the box finishes the search, save and exit. The Signet channels are from number 801. This is what they're charging you 2,600/= to do.

2. A new setop box called Bomba is set to be launched by Kiss Tv sometime towards the end of Feb 2014. They say it'll have at least 50 channels and they'll charge a one-off fee to access everything rather than a monthly access fee (kinda like OpenView of S.Africa). So far, no word yet on the cost ( though I've heard figures of around 6k being mentioned, with a possibility of channel listing resembling that of the Azam package of Tz). Seems like we are in for exciting times.

3. A comprehensive list of Tvs locally available and with integrated digital tuners can be found here.
#232 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 10:47:05 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

Huyu jamaa amenena!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GROrOY-VT94

The tragedy of the African is that he/she has been conditioned to consume what he does not produce and produce what he does not consume
Masuks...
#233 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 11:04:52 PM

engineer2030 wrote:

Even toilet paper!
#234 Posted : Friday, January 03, 2014 11:06:40 AM

Here's the real issue behind the digital migration war.

Essentially therefore, once digital migration is eventually allowed to commence, the media houses will have to subscribe for transmission services through one or both of the above companies (i.e. Signet and PANG).

This is perhaps the elephant in the court-room. Everything else is a side-show and a curtain raiser that will eventually lead to the big question – is it risky business for media houses to rely on third parties to transmit or deliver their content to the viewers? What is the practice elsewhere?
Caveman
#235 Posted : Friday, January 03, 2014 11:16:27 AM

The best thing is to have a FTA for now....or so I think. Things change every day.
http://jolini.co.ke/pay-...-access-public-channels/
#236 Posted : Friday, January 03, 2014 12:36:10 PM

[quote=Caveman]The best thing is to have a FTA for now....or so I think. Things change every day.
http://jolini.co.ke/pay-...access-public-channels/[/quote]
Nice marketing bro!
Caveman
#237 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 9:21:19 AM

[quote=Caveman]The best thing is to have a FTA for now....or so I think. Things change every day.
http://jolini.co.ke/pay-...access-public-channels/[/quote]

New Development:
http://jolini.co.ke/lobb...ting-on-television-deal/
Caveman
#238 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 3:50:39 PM

No one is now talking about the great migration. There will be a rush at the last minute again?
https://www.facebook.com...a-Jolini/244195935741062
#239 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 4:15:57 PM

[quote=Caveman]No one is now talking about the great migration. There will be a rush at the last minute again?
https://www.facebook.com...-Jolini/244195935741062[/quote]

Caveman, would you know approximately how many households have TV sets in Kenya? What percentage of those are in Nairobi and what percentage is in upcoutry? Any study/report somewhere you can refer me to? Thanks in advance.
thuks
#240 Posted : Thursday, January 16, 2014 4:33:21 PM

[quote=Caveman]No one is now talking about the great migration. There will be a rush at the last minute again?
https://www.facebook.com...-Jolini/244195935741062[/quote]

Caveman, would you know approximately how many households have TV stations in Kenya? What percentage of those are in Nairobi and what percentage is in upcoutry? Any study/report somewhere you can refer me to? Thanks in advance.

"TV stations"?
I care!