wazua Fri, May 1, 2026

85 Pages«<2122232425>»
Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!
#221 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:16:04 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Eventually we will all have to buy those boxes. I believe this is better done sooner rather than later.
waambie!
#222 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:46:03 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Eventually we will all have to buy those boxes. I believe this is better done sooner rather than later.
So bwana engineer, with all the engineers churned out of our universities every year, how come we can't assemble these gadgets locally to bring down the cost and create jobs? Kwani the electrical engineering/IT curriculum taught in shaina/Korea is different from the one at UoN?
#223 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:53:06 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
So bwana engineer, with all the engineers churned out of our universities every year, how come we can't assemble these gadgets locally to bring down the cost and create jobs? Kwani the electrical engineering/IT curriculum taught in shaina/Korea is different from the one at UoN?
Good question. We seem to import everything including refined coffee.
#224 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:05:16 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Again, good question. And therein lies the opportunity for our local economy. Our education needs to be practical.
#225 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:49:02 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Hili swali nimeuliza nikachoka. Seriously, can't we at least reverse-engineer one if that's what it'd take?Sad
#226 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 7:22:25 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:
Hili swali nimeuliza nikachoka. Seriously, can't we at least reverse-engineer one if that's what it'd take?Sad
Okay, lets see what it will take to do it!, right: - gain admission in to the 'correct' university. - enrol in to the correct 'erb-k' accredited engineering course. - graduate - work for atleast 3 years (mostly +6yrs) under an erb-k accredited engineer. - succeed in the professional interview. - purchase and reverse engineer the set top box. - Hustle for the KEBS approvals, - You may want to patent anything new you 'invented' during your reverse engineering. so visit the relevant body. - Kenya Copyright Board may need something from you, for protection. - buy an 'accredited distributorship' slot from CCK. - SELL YOUR GADGETS, AND BEST OF LUCK.
bird_man
#227 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 7:23:28 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:
Its not that we cant make them here....we can.But as a hobby not a business.While we struggle to make one,China will make millions per day & at lower costs with wider demand from the world market.We made the nyayo car for several years....Japan makes millions of cars per day.Even American goods e.g Nike are no longer made in the US....China!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
thuks
#228 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:20:36 PM

bird_man wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:
Its not that we cant make them here....we can.But as a hobby not a business.While we struggle to make one,China will make millions per day & at lower costs with wider demand from the world market.We made the nyayo car for several years....Japan makes millions of cars per day.Even American goods e.g Nike are no longer made in the US....China!
Why China... I hear labour is cheap there If our engineers are 'substandard', why are they expensive to hire yet we claim to have so many of them? How often have you asked for a Kenyan product when available?
I care!
#229 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:29:55 PM

engineer2030 wrote:
Huyu jamaa amenena! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GROrOY-VT94
#230 Posted : Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:59:54 PM

thuks wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
engineer2030 wrote:
Why China... I hear labour is cheap there If our engineers are 'substandard', why are they expensive to hire yet we claim to have so many of them? How often have you asked for a Kenyan product when available?
I will try to answer the question "Why China" Apart from labour being cheap, they have the highest number of skilled labourers.China is the world largest supplier of educated workforce, they have the highest number of science, technology, engineering and mathematics grads, giving it a leg up in some of the world's fastest growing sectors. Another thing, their labor laws are wak so workers are taken advantage of. But more and more chinese workers are demanding a higher pay now and the manufactures are looking elsewhere for labor.....Ethiopia is very attractive
"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
85 Pages«<2122232425>»