wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 Pages«<34567>
Health workers transfer to county goverment
#81 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 9:50:26 AM

What dialogue, new hires are already being interviewed

Will all vacancies be filled?will they cater for all the patients...lets see how that move works out.
Ole Lenku
#82 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 2:18:29 PM

Will all vacancies be filled?will they cater for all the patients...lets see how that move works out.

Hippocratic oath ndio hiyo:
I swear by Apollo Physician and Asclepius and Hygieia and Panaceia and all the gods and goddesses, making them my witnesses, that I will fulfill according to my ability and judgment this oath and this covenant:

To hold him who has taught me this art as equal to my parents and to live my life in partnership with him, and if he is in need of money to give him a share of mine, and to regard his offspring as equal to my brothers in male lineage and to teach them this art—if they desire to learn it—without fee and covenant; to give a share of precepts and oral instruction and all the other learning to my sons and to the sons of him who has instructed me and to pupils who have signed the covenant and have taken an oath according to the medical law, but no one else.

I will apply dietetic measures for the benefit of the sick according to my ability and judgment; I will keep them from harm and injustice.

I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody who asked for it, nor will I make a suggestion to this effect. Similarly I will not give to a woman an abortive remedy. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.

I will not use the knife, not even on sufferers from stone, but will withdraw in favor of such men as are engaged in this work.

Whatever houses I may visit, I will come for the benefit of the sick, remaining free of all intentional injustice, of all mischief and in particular of sexual relations with both female and male persons, be they free or slaves.

What I may see or hear in the course of the treatment or even outside of the treatment in regard to the life of men, which on no account one must spread abroad, I will keep to myself, holding such things shameful to be spoken about.

If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and art, being honored with fame among all men for all time to come; if I transgress it and swear falsely, may the opposite of all this be my lot.
#83 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 3:15:29 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

I swear by Apollo Physician and Asclepius and Hygieia and Panaceia and all the gods and goddesses, making them my witnesses, that I will fulfill according to my ability and judgment this oath and this covenant:

To hold him who has taught me this art as equal to my parents and to live my life in partnership with him, and if he is in need of money to give him a share of mine, and to regard his offspring as equal to my brothers in male lineage and to teach them this art—if they desire to learn it—without fee and covenant; to give a share of precepts and oral instruction and all the other learning to my sons and to the sons of him who has instructed me and to pupils who have signed the covenant and have taken an oath according to the medical law, but no one else.

I will apply dietetic measures for the benefit of the sick according to my ability and judgment; I will keep them from harm and injustice.

I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody who asked for it, nor will I make a suggestion to this effect. Similarly I will not give to a woman an abortive remedy. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.

I will not use the knife, not even on sufferers from stone, but will withdraw in favor of such men as are engaged in this work.

Whatever houses I may visit, I will come for the benefit of the sick, remaining free of all intentional injustice, of all mischief and in particular of sexual relations with both female and male persons, be they free or slaves.

What I may see or hear in the course of the treatment or even outside of the treatment in regard to the life of men, which on no account one must spread abroad, I will keep to myself, holding such things shameful to be spoken about.

If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and art, being honored with fame among all men for all time to come; if I transgress it and swear falsely, may the opposite of all this be my lot.

Correction.

In Kenya, medical schools do not administer the Hippocratic Oath any more. It is obsolete.

Doctors take the Physician's Oath (revised 2006) otherwise called the Geneva Declaration.

I solemnly pledge to consecrate my life to the service of humanity;
I will give to my teachers the respect and gratitude that is their due;
I will practice my profession with conscience and dignity;
The health of my patient will be my first consideration;
I will respect the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;
I will maintain by all the means in my power, the honour and the noble traditions of the medical profession;
My colleagues will be my sisters and brothers;
I will not permit considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;
I will maintain the utmost respect for human life;
I will not use my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;
I make these promises solemnly, freely and upon my honour.

It is then signed by the doctor and witnessed by the Dean of Medical School.

Nurses, Clinical Officers, Lab Techs etc do not take the oath.

Anyway, the classic oath says what a doctor should gain by keeping to the oath: "If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and art, being honored with fame among all men for all time to come;".
Ole Lenku
#84 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 3:27:14 PM

jguru wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:

Correction.

In Kenya, medical schools do not administer the Hippocratic Oath any more. It is obsolete.

Doctors take the Physician's Oath (revised 2006) otherwise called the Geneva Declaration.

I solemnly pledge to consecrate my life to the service of humanity;
I will give to my teachers the respect and gratitude that is their due;
I will practice my profession with conscience and dignity;
The health of my patient will be my first consideration;
I will respect the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;
I will maintain by all the means in my power, the honour and the noble traditions of the medical profession;
My colleagues will be my sisters and brothers;
I will not permit considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;
I will maintain the utmost respect for human life;
I will not use my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;
I make these promises solemnly, freely and upon my honour.

It is then signed by the doctor and witnessed by the Dean of Medical School.

Nurses, Clinical Officers, Lab Techs etc do not take the oath.

Anyway, the classic oath says what a doctor should gain by keeping to the oath: "If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me to enjoy life and art, being honored with fame among all men for all time to come;".

What exactly are you correcting, I just quoted the hippocratic oath my good friend?
#85 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 4:39:13 PM

All doctors and clinical officers from the public institutions are directly absorbed by the gaarment.......who are these they are going to recruit???
#86 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 4:46:21 PM

All doctors and clinical officers from the public institutions are directly absorbed by the gaarment.......who are these they are going to recruit???

Graduates from Mt. Kenya University.
#87 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 4:55:07 PM

mostly nurses from the numerous nursing schools around, lakini hizi ni vitisho, medics need a good level of experience that new hires do not have and I can't see a situation where medics from the agha khans and karen hospitals being enticed by the offers.
Ole Lenku
#88 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:02:31 PM

mostly nurses from the numerous nursing schools around, lakini hizi ni vitisho, medics need a good level of experience that new hires do not have and I can't see a situation where medics from the agha khans and karen hospitals being enticed by the offers.

They are actually hiring young, inexperienced nurses temporarily so they can potray a picture of normalcy. These people will be discarded like used tampons once the more experienced staff get their jobs back.
#89 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:05:56 PM

Even the inexperienced ones from public institutions are absorbed directly the the gaarment, I was specific on doctors and clinical officers which in most cases we don't get from those 3rd floor colleges!!!!
Ole Lenku
#90 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:32:23 PM

WSR is brokering a deal between union officials for health workers, TA, ministry of health and governors. He always does these kind of assignments for Johnnie Walker.
#91 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:35:04 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
WSR is brokering a deal between union officials for health workers, TA, ministry of health and governors. He always does these kind of assignments for Johnnie Walker.

You are learning fast......coming soon is Onkong'o and Apuodho for Mtembezi and Billy wailer respectively!!!!
Ole Lenku
#92 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:48:49 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

You are learning fast......coming soon is Onkong'o and Apuodho for Mtembezi and Billy wailer respectively!!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#93 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 6:07:09 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

I thought UK said there is nothing like dialogue...
Ole Lenku
#94 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 6:33:34 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

UK said so lakini he knows he has to negotiate with these unions. This is not like a teachers strike where the consequence is kids staying at home. When medics strike, people die and something had to be done.Besides, doctors are not responding to threats of being sacked.
#95 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 7:26:50 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

When?
#96 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 7:31:12 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@Ole lenku,wewe tuu ndio unatumia hizi majina on wazua.......
Ole Lenku
#97 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 7:58:46 PM

Amores wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:

Naomba nisaidiwe na nitaacha. Sad Sad
#98 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 8:42:36 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
What exactly are you correcting, I just quoted the hippocratic oath my good friend?

I am correcting the notion that the Hippocratic Oath is even remotely significant to the Kenyan healthcare worker situation. Obsolete.
#99 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 8:50:06 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
Amores wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:

Naomba nisaidiwe na nitaacha. Sad Sad

@ole,haki yako to use them if they catch your fancy.It is just that hizo majina ni the mcreggae tuu anazitumia;they are just derogatory,ni kamaa kuita the former premier wazimu mkuu.
The Clown
#100 Posted : Friday, December 20, 2013 12:35:13 AM

[/quote]
What exactly are you correcting, I just quoted the hippocratic oath my good friend?[/quote]

@Ole Lenku, all of us get corrected here on wazua. Take it on the chin man.