wazua Tue, Dec 24, 2024

Laid off but with KShs 800k in savings
Tamuyeyo
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 3:56:00 PM

Guys help me............have been laid off but I have Shs800k in savings. I need to do something quickly as I look for another job so as to provide for my family. Will really appreciate your advice guys. Thanks
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:33:00 PM

If the laying off was abrupt i have this to tell you. Go home and take a deep breath,i mean relax before involving yourself in anything. This is because you shouldn't make such crucial decesions in haste,panic or under pressure.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
Tamuyeyo
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:56:00 PM

Thanks Sober.

Yeah actually it makes sense for me to relax first and not to rush in to a decision. I am just trying to think ahead of time for any business ideas so as to find an alternative source of income as I look for a job. Thanks for your advice.
jerry
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 8:12:00 PM

Buy a car and give it to a car hire company.

Hotels will always serve the fruits/vegs of the season. In stocks,ur duty as a trader is to identify the HOTshare of the season.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 8:12:00 PM

car hire is a very nice business and i can say i have seen two people get in to it and have gone 50% returns in the first 3 months in business. that is their luck though. September is coming and ICT should open up imense opportunities. try upgrading your shags for starters. better still provide unlimited calls for a limited fee monthly. the latter requires expertise though but think over it.

hasta la vista
Tamuyeyo
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 10:50:00 PM

Jerry and Kyt thanks very much.

I have actually been working in the US now and will be heading home soon should the situation persist. Personally,I have had to hire a car while at home fo vacation and I liked the business. The only worry is the security as one will have to give it to a stranger hoping that they are good people and will return the car. I know one way of dealing with this is to take an insurance cover. I understand risk is part and parcelof every business but do you think this is something that may need a lot of thought? Also,what about starting a taxi business,is the situation in Kenya now good for such kind of investment?

Thanks guys.
Waria
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 5:50:00 AM

For someone working in the states 1000usd in savings is peanuts.

Dont come home as u have better chance there. When you get ua next job,tone down on the lifestyle and invest heavily in real estate in kenya

Me first,U next
Chaka
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 7:20:00 AM

@Waria,

800k is 10,000 USD
adept
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 7:36:00 AM

800K is USD 10K not USD 1K. And I do not agree with @Waria on his summary dismissal of Kenya. There are opportunities in Kenya too. Of course luck (read opportunity) beckons to those that are prepared so your biz ideas,skills,qualifications,experience,and/or capital will determine alot.

Above all you must do your homework with assistance from relatives and friends on the ground back home. In summary,your decision whether in the US or Kenya should be well informed. I like it that you have not hinged your plans entirely on either side (Us or Kenya) as having either serve as a Plan B in case things go bust is fundamental.

There is more to life than being employed so all the best.
mkristo
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 8:09:00 AM

you need to finance your monthly budget for at least three months with your savings.

Three months will be useful to think through and know exactly what you want to do,either find another job,or go into business,whether in Kenya or USA.

After you've financed your monthly budget for at least three months,talk to people both in USA and Kenay to know what opportunities are available for you.

If you choose business,you will need enough working capital to get it started,and if you need it to pay you a salary every month,then you must factor that in keeping inmind that the business must aslo retain its income for growth.

If business does not seem vaible,I would encourage you to agressively seek employment bearing in mind that you will need to continue servicing your monthly budget.

800K could start a small business in Kenya,I dont know about USA. Examples at home are: a Cyber cafe,a phone accessory shop,car hire,buying and selling of designer cloths for both men and women,you could try MLM for credible companies.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
kogum
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 8:15:00 AM

@ temu,

is yr family in kenya or there states.If here then do u have a place of yr own ama ni rent.Usually without a stable income rent becomes a stumbling issue.If u have your own place and not mortgage,then you 50% safe on stabilty.You can focus easier on setting up a business.You can do multi biz,Get a motorbike and hire someone for tarnsport.start a water biz(buy 2 mikikos+ mitungis) source for water and sell(hire someone),start a food kiosk,etc...am sure some of these small things should not kula more than 200k.Put the rest in money market i.e 600k and let be a nest egg for future small ventures.With those 3 things mentioned am sure u can gross up to like 20-30 per month,but u have to be in kenya and be ready to be jua kali in thinking and work....good luck man dont wait long for a decision.

Tamuyeyo
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 11:09:00 AM

Thanks to Kogum,Mkristo,Adept,Chaka and Waria.

First,just wanted to answer Waria that savings either in Kenya or anywhere in the world does not come that easily. You have to be very disciplined especially if you are in employment. Furthermore have not been here for long. I have also invested in real estate in one of the fast growing towns in Kenya and was in the process of looking for something in Nairobi when all these happened.

Have set aside some KShs 200k to cater for my monthly budget as I hustle up and down looking for something. Its a tough situation but I believe that with determination I will make it in the end.

I will put together all the ideas that you guys have provided as I struggle to make the ends meet. Any other ideas,guys please let me have.

Thanks and God bless.
Musso
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 12:23:00 PM

If you have exhausted all that you can and realise America does not work. Then u need to make a decision and make sure you can live with it.

But exhaust all avenues,no room for i should have done this or that. I can do it and no room for failure.

I hope you have been going home and not those people,that have goen and have no idea of what is happening at home. If you are one of them,than you must work very very hard,get a ticket and go home for atleast a month and then make this life changing decision with what you can see yourself.

There is alot in Kenya,it seems its only non Kenyan's that see this opportunities.Infact this mpesa thing pains me,why did we not see this idea??????????????????????????????///////////

Car business is a very good business but you must be in Kenya to ran it. People tend to take advantage,since you are far.(You will make btw 30-40k per month,then must sale the car after 2 yrs,coz of the value)

Someone mentioned,if you can avoid renting you are half way there.

You also mentioned you were in the process of looking for another property. This time maybe go for a cheaper one. If you can buy cash you will never go wrong with estate business.

Keep in mind,housing prices in Kenya are not realistic( Get the real value of the house,before you buy).We are yet to realise that the market is no longer there,as we speak the prices are still too high.

Its still high because we have a few panic buyers,from those who are looking to go back,should things continue the way they are. This should not be happening,because it will really affect the housing market in Kenya,soon.

Am not sure about the economic situation in America but predictation in Britain,is things will look up sometime in Dec. If you have the time,find out if the situation is changing in the near future.

If its in the near future,WHERE THERE IS A WILL,THERE IS A WAY. DONT MOVE WITH THE CROWD.

Good luck and you can do it. You have a purpose.

M
wote
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 12:42:00 PM

@ Tamuyeyo,i hear you loud and clear and yes its tough at the moment here in the States but atleast things work,back home things are at standstill. Just like Waria has said there are no second chances in any fields unless you are willing to sin by paying bribes.

800k is very little money in Kenya that would not start you any meaningful business and live on it.There is the city hall people ready to extort from you if you plan a business in Nairobi,the police to collect bribes and ofcourse 'mungiki' with their taxes too.

I do not know your field of competance,however,you might want try out in Europe or Asia.

wote
Mtu Biz
#15 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 7:10:00 AM

@ Wote: '800k is very little money in Kenya that would not start you any meaningful business and live on it.There is the city hall people ready to extort from you if you plan a business in Nairobi,the police to collect bribes and ofcourse 'mungiki' with their taxes too.'

I detest these kinds of comments from diasporians...DETEST them! You are not even here,and you dare say this!? Have YOU started any MEANINGFUL business yourself?! @#$%$#@$#3 !! Ugh!

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

kogum
#16 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 8:23:00 AM

@ wote,

Yaani how can u say that 800k is kidogo in kenya?

I know a lady who started a food koisk.She is renting out 3 rooms @ 4k each,has 3staff paying them about 3k each,her food expenses +rent+staff come to about 62k monthly,yet she grosses about 80-90k in sales.Her start up Income should not come up to more than 150k.

Water biz right now if you can get a source for water @ 10bob per mutungi and sell at btwn 20 to 40bob and you sell just 2trips per day with a mukoko teni of 20mutungis you have between 800bob to 1600bob per day @30days=bwtn 24k to 48k per month!!!!!

You only need 20k for 2 mikoko teni plus 8k for 40 mitungis thats 30k only

With only 200k and serious intentions to succeed,you can gross up 50-60k per month nad its being done here in the jua kali sector...tax free...

just go to burma market right now water is being sold at 100bob per mutungi...

those jua kali dudes have chums u cant imagine

So that diaspora thinking isnt helping nobody...

@ tema...make up your mind to stay in the states and survive there! or come home and still survive and might i add(you have 800k) THRIVE HERE !

Musso
#17 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 5:01:00 PM

@Wote mmmmmmmmh.......... when were you last home,you are those very confused Kenyan's. You speak out of ignorance and bitterness( I know for a fact those people who talk like you have no way of going back home-so you thrash it).

Things do not work everywhere in America either,i have been there.Look at where the global economy is,thanks to things working in America.......... Do the floods ring a bell sometime back.....................mmmmmmmmmmmm fast world and it took days.

If you have nothing good to say about your 'mother country' dont speak. It reflects on your ignorant self.

For your information you are only American if you were born in America,not some paper saying you are American(Thats if you dont spend your life hiding from the authorities) .I will pray for you that you remember your roots,because without roots you head no where,you head where? no WHERE.

Am so out of you,i have goen for a stiff drink.

Where do you come off..................................urrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

M
#18 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 7:31:00 PM

Tamuyeyo : If you have a 'twang',come home. You will get a job in one of the mushrooming FM radio stations. Better still if you are good looking + the twang KTN will hire you to read the news. They hire anything that has looks. You dont have to have any papers!!! Come home brother....
Tamuyeyo
#19 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 2:28:00 AM

Well guys I must say I have received a mixture of responses here,some very encouraging while others scaring but challenging. I wish to thank all of you for taking time to write and advise a brother.

At first I think the ideas varies because of the differentials in the sizes of businesses that one can go for. In that respect,I think @Wote would want to go for a big business but everyone else seems to advise for one to start small and grow your business. I belong to the latter group and I would not mind starting small and going for the stars.

Guys I know its tough situation out there but Kenya will always be my country. I will keep my options open here and back home in terms of employment and I know that if I get it right in terms of investment (even small),I can still make it in life. I like being positive and realistic at the same time.

I have learnt a lot from this forum and the opinions have been as varied as our various backgrounds which is good thing in terms of diversity. What I will NOT do guys is to waste away in a foreign land if there is an opportunity in my own country. Patience pays and therefore with the guidance of God,things will hopefully work.

Someone talked about the 'twang' but unfortunately have not been out here for long to sustain the 'twang'. But should a media house want to employ me,it will most probably be in the accounting and finance field as that is what I have specialised in these few years. Make no mistake ....I will definately give them the 'twang' of that profession if that is all it takes to earn a salary and give my family a decent living!

People,I appreciate your time and therefore if there is anyone else out there with an idea please shoot - you never know,it will be me today and someone else tomorrow......Ni kusaidiana.

Cheers!
fgakuru
#20 Posted : Sunday, July 19, 2009 6:15:00 PM

Come home my brother,East,West,Home is best! Buy a plot @300k (there are many places in Nairobi) jenga 5 singles,each can give you approx 2k per month (talking from experience),live in one of them as you look for a job,(image is nothing,meet your need); before your tenants pay you the second month,with your experience from a developed country like America you will have gotten a job.

Mukundi Gakuru