wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

Congrats, you have won a holiday
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 12:35:10 PM

So some time back at the shopping mall a guy convinced me to fill some form, and a week later i was called and congratulated for winning a holiday at some coastal hotel (minus the transport cost). I was then asked to go to westlands on a certain date for the voucher presentation and it was mandatory that i was to be accompanied by my wife. I was out of town and thus couldn't attend on that particular day. Since then they have been calling/texting daily pestering me to go for the voucher presentation. Hii ni maneno gani? Why are they so desperate that I go? What's cooking here?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 12:39:33 PM

utaenda kuuziwa kitu inaitwa time share

A timeshare is a property with a particular form of ownership or use rights. These properties are typically resort condominium units, in which multiple parties hold rights to use the property, and each sharer is allotted a period of time (typically one week and almost always the same time every year) in which they may use the property. Units may be on a partial ownership, lease, or "right to use" basis, in which the sharer holds no claim to ownership of the property.
sky5
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 1:05:44 PM

So some time back at the shopping mall a guy convinced me to fill some form, and a week later i was called and congratulated for winning a holiday at some coastal hotel (minus the transport cost). I was then asked to go to westlands on a certain date for the voucher presentation and it was mandatory that i was to be accompanied by my wife. I was out of town and thus couldn't attend on that particular day. Since then they have been calling/texting daily pestering me to go for the voucher presentation. Hii ni maneno gani? Why are they so desperate that I go? What's cooking here?

You haven't yet won until you pay for the time share. They require you to be accompanied so that the pressure on you to buy time share increases.
Murira Ikihia
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 1:21:28 PM

I thought they changed tactics all these years. They had invited me there sometime in 1998. I showed up with my clan and in it was in the evening. They kept us busy charting and I suppose trying to assess our net-worth or the ability to pay. At the time they had a young and inexperienced sales team who were under considerable pressure to sell the time share. Once I read the game plan, I politely asked to leave. In your shoes, I would not show up. Its honestly annoying, time wasting and they should explore other channels to market their products.
kamundu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 1:25:52 PM

Either ni time share or worse. Ive heard of guys being jacked or mugged with the same story
Peace in our Homeland.
tonicasert
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 2:25:48 PM

Some 10 years ago won an all-expenses paid trip for 2 to South Africa with a time-share company based in Westlands at the time. But I guess at that time it was a "real" marketing promotion.

Enjoyed the trip!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 2:59:04 PM

sky5 wrote:

You haven't yet won until you pay for the time share. They require you to be accompanied so that the pressure on you to buy time share increases.

Unless they've changed their policy; I've "won" these holidays many times and I didn't have to buy anything!

All they wanted was for me to sit through a 3-hr presentation [they tell you it will be 45min, but it lasts at least 3hr]. I've always gone knowing that I will not buy no matter what because they annual "maintenance payments" are always higher than what I spend on my holiday accommodation.

Time-share works for those who stay in hotels while on holidays..... If you're a budget traveller staying in campsites, bandas, and self-catering cottages, then these time-share things are simply too expensive.

You buy it for something like 500k then every year you pay another 100k for maintenace. Simply doesn't add up for me....again, unless the policies have changed. the last time I attended the presentation was 3 years ago at Leading Resorts of the World, a.k.a. Africa vacation Club, sclaters House Westlands.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 4:43:32 PM

high pressure marketing by Hemingway's....search here on waZua and run very fast..if you must attend leave credit cards wallet phone etc at home Laughing out loudly
Buster
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 5:04:17 PM

Happened to me in 2001. I was called and informed that I had won after filling the form but had to go with my wife for the docs. The evening we were to go for them in westlands my wife had a matanga meeting. I pulled her out of it early so as not to miss this freebie. When we got there we saw like 50 couples sitting in what looked like they were being given a lecture. We asked the lady at the door how long it would take and she said 45 mins. We needed to be elsewhere within that time and asked if we could just sign for our vouchers. (Trip to Jinja) They said no that we had to sit through. We decided wacha ikae. Later on we got to hear stories from others and ofcourse she was not amused I had pulled her out of the matanga. It was of an Aunt whom she loved and was the funeral committee treasurer.
Muheani
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 5:10:44 PM

digitek1 wrote:
high pressure marketing by Hemingway's....search here on waZua and run very fast..if you must attend leave credit cards wallet phone etc at home Laughing out loudly

Me attended their presentation 2010. Was so impressed and next day decided to pay up.

Unfortunately had left the flier with contacts in the car. Decided to google n called the number on net. It was picked in malindi...hotel. the girl said they dont have a promo but gave me their reps no in nai.

So i call and tell the lady i want them come for my payment at the office...

Then the bomb..."you said your name is....i hope that you did nt give those cons any cash...bla bla...we even have sued them".. kusahau is good at times...