wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Third Party Insurance claims
mjuaji wa stocks
#1 Posted: : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 5:31:05 PM

Dear Wazuans;

I have a third party insurance and someone hit my car when packed in a petrol station.

How do you make claims for this kind of nature?

The car that hit mine is also third party and we have a police abstract showing that he is the one on the wrong.

The car damaged my tire completely and i need compensation - kunaendanga aje.

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 5:48:42 PM

Third party takes care of the other party; not you first party, nor your car second party, but the other person or car. In reference to this someone you are the third party, but unfortunately you've have third party insurence which does not cover you. I'm not expert, but I think just go and fix the wheel. Kila mtu ajitengeniezee gari lake.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 6:07:33 PM

You are the 3rd party in this accident if it is the other person who damaged your car (they were on the wrong). therefore they should repair yours through their insurance but they take care of repairs of their car from their own pockets.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:24:24 PM

You are the 3rd party in this accident if it is the other person who damaged your car (they were on the wrong). therefore they should repair yours through their insurance but they take care of repairs of their car from their own pockets.

For this to happen it will take a miracle Sad Sad Sad
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:27:41 PM

It will only happen if the driver has been found guilty by a court of law not those useless police.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:28:26 PM

@ZZE123 I wanted to tell @KG this but I wondered whether he has any experience with insurence or not. You see @King, there must be a diffrerence between Comprehensive and Third Party. What do you think is the difference? The former compensates you & other party while the latter compenates only the other party if the other party has comprehensive... I know I'm talking in cycles but I hope you get the point d'oh! Brick wall
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:40:20 PM

@ZZE123 I wanted to tell @KG this but I wondered whether he has any experience with insurence or not. You see @King, there must be a diffrerence between Comprehensive and Third Party. What do you think is the difference? The former compensates you & other party while the latter compenates only the other party if the other party has comprehensive... I know I'm talking in cycles but I hope you get the point d'oh! Brick wall

I am also a bit confused, forgive my ignorance lakini I have never filed a claim.
so when one has a comprehensive cover and they make a claim - assuming they were not in the wrong, their insurance will pay for the damage and then claim from the other guys insurance.

and what happens when you have comprehensive cover and you are the one at fault in an accident.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:54:44 PM

WACHENI UWONGO.

Third-party insurance is purchased by the insured (first party) from an insurance company (second party) for protection against another party's claims (third party).

Forester
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 9:03:31 AM

@Mjuaji,

To answer your question,this will be determined by the insurance cover you have in place i.e. comprehensive or third party insurance.

i) Comprehensive cover: Will indemnify you (return you to the position you were before the loss) and basically covers you against loss &/or damage to your vehicle including loss of accessories through acts of theft (read radio systems, spare wheel,battery if declared etc) and legal liabilities to third parties (read property damage & bodily injuries).

ii) Third Party only cover - This is the minimum insurance you should have in place as required by law. Basically it covers you against legal liability to third parties (property damage & bodily injuries) and does not cover any form of loss &/or damage to your vehicle.

- In your scenario, if you were covered on comprehensive basis, you may follow due procedure and claim from your insurance company who will then pursue the claim outlay (claim cost) from the third party insurer.

However, your vehicle will need to go through assessment first to determine the extent of damage and if found to be below excess (first part of the loss that the insured is supposed to bear in any accident to reduce the moral hazard i.e. frequent claimants usually 2.5% of the vehicle value) then you will be required to
repair your vehicle at your own cost. The insurance company will on the other hand assist you in recovering your cost at best from the negligent third party.

If your vehicle is covered on Third Party Only basis, then your insurer can only assist in recovering the cost incurred in repairing your vehicle ONLY.

The process is loooong and tedious, you'll get frustrated if your insurer is complacent but take your chances ama if all else fails, pursue the third party and ask for @Mawinder's help to poke him kiasi, a few threats hapa kule and viola!

All the best! smile
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
jerry
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 18, 2013 9:59:01 AM

I am also a bit confused, forgive my ignorance lakini I have never filed a claim.
so when one has a comprehensive cover and they make a claim - assuming they were not in the wrong, their insurance will pay for the damage and then claim from the other guys insurance.

and what happens when you have comprehensive cover and you are the one at fault in an accident.

You can be at fault in unavoidable situation! If there is an apparent danger and instead of trying to control the vehicle you jump out as the driver ... you can't get compensation. That's suicide!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
kangi
#11 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 7:43:30 PM

Even with the comprehensive cover, there are no guarantees that you will be compensated.
My vehicle was hit two years ago with extensive damage, I was made to pay for the excess charge (mind you I the other party was to blame) and later inquired why am being made to pay.
It was explained that when the insurer of the other party agrees to compensate my insurer, then the excess will be refunded.

Am still waiting to date...even after complaining to IRA, who have never acknowledged my letter.

Moral of the lesson, next time am involved in an accident, ambia jamaa aende kwa insurance yake na wewe make your repairs.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 8:03:08 PM

@ZZE123 :)

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45