Market
Pennywise
How much does it cost you to go to work?
Ever done a critical analysis of exactly what expenses you incur in order to go to work? Did it a while back but it always amazes me that many people could be sending more than 25% of their net pay just to go to work.
For example,for those that drive to work,one's monthly fuel bill could be in the region of 15K but depends on car,distance traveled and maybe traffic jam. Look at lunch and note that esp. in corporate environments,staff feel compelled to eat in certain areas though there really is nor rule per se.
I am not saying anyone should stay at home unless you have a work-from-home vocation. Just interesting stats.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
Fuel 1k per week,i do 10km per day= 4 k per month Lunch-I carry food from home=zero Parking 120 per day * 20 days which is 2400 per month I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
1 week fuel = 1500/ = 6000 lunch and chapati ya saa inne roughly 100/= = 3000 Parking 0/= we are provided for= 0
Usichoke kutafuta salary
apart from cash money..
What about time? Maybe time is not used in a financially efficient way..
Rank: Member Joined: 8/19/2009 Posts: 173 Location: NAIROBI
Fuel - 10500 pm
Lunch- 3150 pm
Parking- 0
Time- minimum 63 hours of travel pm.
Walk to/from work. Cost 0. No parking.
lunch,150 a day.
total 3000 bob a momth.
time,20 mins to and fro. 7 hours a month.
FuEl: 1k pEr wEeK....18kM To AnD FrO.= 4000 PeR MoNTh tRaVeL TiMe: 2HoUrS pEr DaY= 40 HoUrS PeR MoNtH. fOoD: 150 PeR DaY= 3000k PeR mONTh. pARkInG= 0.
face your fears live your dreams
Fuel - 4k,lunch (subsidized by employer) - 1.2k,time bout 25hrs,entertainment na fuel ya weekend is another story! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Fuel/fare=0(i walk 10min) lunch=0 (provided by employer Think Positive Test Negative
I love the name 'carygoh'!Mmmmmm!!!!! Has it got anything to do with the middle of thighland island?? Just like at creation!!!
Share ideas for a better Kenya!!
Fuel per day (week day)-300*23 days= KShs 6,900
Lunch (average) 120*23 days = KShs 2,760
Parking (week day) 140 * 23 days=KShs 3,220
Breakfast (week day) 50*23 days=KShs 1,150
Total 14,030
Carygoh,think yu r doing well,yua employer provides u with lunch and yu also hav employees who apparently one stole from yu! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@miser thats my maiden name cant change wont change,and it has nothing to do with any body part@mcdoba unajua binadamu hatosheki,and both of stick to the thread,next mbuzi i will be present to clarify any issues with my name especially pronounciation. Think Positive Test Negative
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
Transport,I go with wkmates but take mat to meeting point =10*21=210 Lunch,carry from home =0*21 =0 Total =210 When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
akowally,wat makes you think that when you carry lunch from home then that amounts to zero expenditure???......it only reduces cost!!! Evening after you are dropped to meeting point kwani you walk home????? The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
@ McReggae Evenings I am dropped home,we are in two ends of the same estate therefore jam is worse on my side in the mornings so I take a mat and drop there. Evenings jam is worse on their side so we use mine On the 0,definitely it is not zero,but as I understand from the other replies in the post,people have not been counting the amount of lunch from home ... anyway that varies with the type of food .... When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Fare 0-live next to ma work place,lunch 0,eat at the workplace and sometimes supper! sticks and stones are thrown at fruit bearing trees The way I am
Rank: Member Joined: 9/12/2008 Posts: 436 Location: illobi
@akowally,and you dont feel compelled to contribute some 'fuel' to your friend? Aiii yawa! Fuel per wk - 1500*4 = 6000 Lunch = Most of the days I carry from home Parking (pay monthly) = 2000 Miscellenous = 2000 Total = 10,000/- Randomly insane A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
20bob to work,20bob from work. Lunch,soda + ndazi (35bob). Total 75bob per day! Kshs. 1950 per month (plus or minus 1000bob,depending on how spendthrift I feel.)
But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Walk to and from work 9minutes = cost 0 Lunch = 60x22 = 1320 Total cost = 1320
Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
Market
Pennywise
How much does it cost you to go to work?