wazua Mon, Aug 25, 2025

8 Pages<12345>»
This harrowing experience happens to a friend yesterday!!!!!
#41 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 6:23:25 PM

There was once I wanted to withdraw a sizable amount of cash to buy a plot. The teller asked for sometime, took a while. She didn't need to go looking for the cash because she had it. I could see it.

I sensed something and immediately changed my request to a bankers cheque. What was shocking and most disturbing, was how she took time to try convince me to take cash. Of what concern was it to her?

Was she brown? What was her name again?
Thank you.

@impunity,Pole sana.You suspect she is the one who set you up?

Must be one of the Wanjikus who voted for the katiba.Hawa watu,I dont trust them.

So you get the drift of my question?

#42 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 6:33:11 PM

There was once I wanted to withdraw a sizable amount of cash to buy a plot. The teller asked for sometime, took a while. She didn't need to go looking for the cash because she had it. I could see it.

I sensed something and immediately changed my request to a bankers cheque. What was shocking and most disturbing, was how she took time to try convince me to take cash. Of what concern was it to her?

Thank you.

Must be one of the Wanjikus who voted for the katiba.Hawa watu,I dont trust them.

Yes,most of them are thieves,I cannot eat them even if they are the best or give for free.I value my life.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 8:27:01 PM

Thank you.

Yes,most of them are thieves,I cannot eat them even if they are the best or give for free.I value my life.

Stop there, you will disrupt my long eating weekend!!!

#44 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 10:01:39 PM

Thank you.

I wonder which is worse? Being stolen from or being put for a ka-stick from the dark world? Those people I cannot eat, even if they are the best or give very easily. I value my life.

#45 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 10:25:41 PM

Crime is a market response to demand for wealth meeting insufficient supply. When technology shifts to say digital cash, and holding other factors constant then crime will also advance technologically.

#46 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 12:19:45 AM

Pray Pray Wah...very scaring. What about using online banking? I cant remember the last time I went in a bank to do a transaction. Not esp large amounts of money. I think if the society would move towards a cashless economy, it could cut off these guys by a big percentage because they thrive in emptying someones pockets.

Shida ni when the fellow you're paying insists they wanna be paid in cash. What to do?

@Impunity, pole sana kwa rafiki yako. Reminds me of the stories we shared in the other thread of criminals colluding with bank and SACCO staff.
#47 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 12:25:20 AM

Crime is a market response to demand for wealth meeting insufficient supply. When technology shifts to say digital cash, and holding other factors constant then crime will also advance technologically.

At least through technology the money may be stolen but life n such suffering will be spared.
#48 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 1:22:57 AM

Thank you.

At times I wonder if there is really an admin for this website. Ama sisi "hawa watu" pia ni wezi? Why do wazuans so tolerant of such stereotypes?
lex10
#49 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 7:49:22 AM

2000AD The year that i faced the same kind of robbery.

13 yrs down the line the gang is still operational in the

same style????? CBD???? Daylight????

Poleni wenzangu. If you must do cash always have a

route plan to your destination in such a way to

frustrate anybody following you in a CAR.
#50 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 8:17:40 AM

At least through technology the money may be stolen but life n such suffering will be spared.

i agree. hii mambo ya kuwa mwananchi (flying) squad to chenga some elements who might be following to steal your money but even worse causing personal harm is just too much....
#51 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 8:49:37 AM

lex10 wrote:
2000AD The year that i faced the same kind of robbery.

13 yrs down the line the gang is still operational in the

same style????? CBD???? Daylight????

Poleni wenzangu. If you must do cash always have a

route plan to your destination in such a way to

frustrate anybody following you in a CAR.

Scary stuff these. Still shows where we are as a country. Useless, contaminated cops and clueless government, leaders too selfish to give a shit.
#52 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 9:08:21 AM

Also avoid isolated ATM machines especially on Sundays and late hours! And when you withdraw from any ATM, avoid parked cars with people inside. There are some criminals who simply park near ATM machines and attack you immediately after you withdraw. As you walk past the car, one of them steps out with a concealed gun - mostly hidden with a newspaper - shows you the gun and orders you into the car. This brand of criminals don't like attracting attention. If you spot them in advance and do something that might make the process longer - like crossing the road, they don't bother with you! Some times you might even have to avoid the pedestrian walk ways and walk next to the road. This gives you more room to escape or attract attention.

When this fellows get a hold of you, they will rob you off your money and other valuables and force you to reveal your ATM pin number all the time making you believe they will only release you after they withdraw more money and will not hesitate to shoot you if the pin number turns out to be false. Sometimes they will ask you the pin numbers, cram or write them down, hustle you and ask other numerous questions and the ask you the pin numbers again. If they are different from the ones you have earlier, utajua malenge ni mboga!!! This has happened to someone I know.

I guess in this country of ours - and Nairobbery especially - you have to be very scared! Be suspicious of everyone and everything. My friend was RANDOMLY kidnapped in buruburu in broad daylight. The fellow gets a call that his kid is not feeling well and gets into a random matatu to go home and pick him up because he had left the car at home. He alights the matatu in buruburu and as he's trying to cross the road, he see's a white Toyota approaching. He decides to let it pass first. The car stops next to him as if they are dropping someone. The fellow is not bothered at all. It is around midday after all! One fellow steps out shows him a gun and before he knows what is happening he is forced into the car. They drive towards Kariobangi/dandora - his face down - they rob him and force him to reveal all his ATM pin numbers. Hours later he is released unharmed.
#53 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 9:27:04 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Pray Pray Wah...very scaring. What about using online banking? I cant remember the last time I went in a bank to do a transaction. Not esp large amounts of money. I think if the society would move towards a cashless economy, it could cut off these guys by a big percentage because they thrive in emptying someones pockets.

Shida ni when the fellow you're paying insists they wanna be paid in cash. What to do?

@Impunity, pole sana kwa rafiki yako. Reminds me of the stories we shared in the other thread of criminals colluding with bank and SACCO staff.

For those who insist on Cash, the best thing ni you gi with them to your bank.Count the cash and hand it over to them in the bank.Transfer the risk.

Otherwise let us encourage cashless transactions though am told if you are their target and they catch you with nothing.......they beat you for wasting their time.
#54 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 10:26:48 AM

in such a situation, you must run full flight towards the nearest bank.. the security in form of cameras, armed guards, public; should dissuade the thugs

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 684,200 ABP 6.72; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#55 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 11:09:17 AM

in such a situation, you must run full flight towards the nearest bank.. the security in form of cameras, armed guards, public; should dissuade the thugs

Only works if you notice seconds before the attack begins. If it has started you will not get the space nor the time to execute your escape. They love the element of suprise!

But I agree with you. If you can, run towards a crowd or a building that might have security cameras! But only if you in a crowded area. If you in an isolated area and they know you have good money, they will not hesitate to shoot you. Calculate your risk. Do it accurately. Do it fast!
#56 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 1:47:19 PM

Seven robbed after bank withdrawals

"Police suspect gang members collude with bank staff to target customers"

At least seven bank customers have lost Sh600,000 to a gang of four in three days. Police, unable to track down the gang, now urge the public to be more vigilant. Central police officer Patrick Oduma yesterday said they had profiled the Nairobi gang, which includes rogue police officers.

β€œWe even have information that they are looking for money to bail out their colleagues who are in prison remands over other serious offences,” said Mr Oduma.

The gang members are armed and have handcuffs and a police radio. Yesterday, a businessman was robbed Sh400,000 when the gang confronted him at the parking yard. He had just left a bank on Kenyatta Avenue where he withdrew the cash.

β€œI had just put the money in the car when I was confronted by three men, one in police uniform. One of them just went for the rear seat and picked up the bag containing the cash,” said the victim.

Police also report that on Saturday at around 10am, Mr Francis Mutiti withdrew a total of Sh180,000 from two different banks to buy some items along River Road. While walking along Tom Mboya Street, he was confronted by four armed men who handcuffed him and forced him into the vehicle. He was later dumped along Kiambu Road after being robbed of the cash, mobile phone, cheques, and other valuables.

An hour later, Mr Charles Kyalo withdrew Sh70,000 from a bank at the junction of Moi and Haileselasie avenues. As he was crossing Moi Avenue, he was confronted by three men, one in police uniform. They asked him for his ID card but before he could produce it, he was forced into an awaiting vehicle. They handcuffed him and later abandoned him within Muthaiga after robbing him of the cash and other valuables.

On the same Saturday afternoon, a University of Nairobi student, Mr Joshua Muli was robbed of Sh352,000 which he had withdrawn from a bank on Moi Avenue. As he was crossing the road, he was confronted by a gang, believed to be the same one that attacked Mr Kyalo, who forced him into an awaiting car. He was later dumped at Kamiti corner.

Police suspect the gang members have informers inside the bank who alert them of customers who withdraw large amounts of money. In other cases, they pretend to be customers in the bank and would usually stand in the queue.

-Daily Nation, 17-12-2013, Page 11
#57 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 2:32:25 PM

That is too much in paper form to deal with, I would not transact in cash for any amount above 30k
theman192000
#58 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 2:35:28 PM

jguru wrote:
Seven robbed after bank withdrawals

"Police suspect gang members collude with bank staff to target customers"

At least seven bank customers have lost Sh600,000 to a gang of four in three days. Police, unable to track down the gang, now urge the public to be more vigilant. Central police officer Patrick Oduma yesterday said they had profiled the Nairobi gang, which includes rogue police officers.

β€œWe even have information that they are looking for money to bail out their colleagues who are in prison remands over other serious offences,” said Mr Oduma.

The gang members are armed and have handcuffs and a police radio. Yesterday, a businessman was robbed Sh400,000 when the gang confronted him at the parking yard. He had just left a bank on Kenyatta Avenue where he withdrew the cash.

β€œI had just put the money in the car when I was confronted by three men, one in police uniform. One of them just went for the rear seat and picked up the bag containing the cash,” said the victim.

Police also report that on Saturday at around 10am, Mr Francis Mutiti withdrew a total of Sh180,000 from two different banks to buy some items along River Road. While walking along Tom Mboya Street, he was confronted by four armed men who handcuffed him and forced him into the vehicle. He was later dumped along Kiambu Road after being robbed of the cash, mobile phone, cheques, and other valuables.

An hour later, Mr Charles Kyalo withdrew Sh70,000 from a bank at the junction of Moi and Haileselasie avenues. As he was crossing Moi Avenue, he was confronted by three men, one in police uniform. They asked him for his ID card but before he could produce it, he was forced into an awaiting vehicle. They handcuffed him and later abandoned him within Muthaiga after robbing him of the cash and other valuables.

On the same Saturday afternoon, a University of Nairobi student, Mr Joshua Muli was robbed of Sh352,000 which he had withdrawn from a bank on Moi Avenue. As he was crossing the road, he was confronted by a gang, believed to be the same one that attacked Mr Kyalo, who forced him into an awaiting car. He was later dumped at Kamiti corner.

Police suspect the gang members have informers inside the bank who alert them of customers who withdraw large amounts of money. In other cases, they pretend to be customers in the bank and would usually stand in the queue.

-Daily Nation, 17-12-2013, Page 11

My oh my, things have really changed since I was studying at the University.
CLK
#59 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 2:37:00 PM

Oh God, this is so scary.
enough times i have calculated the amount of money i would lose if i used the bank rate to change forex and transfer everything online, but the figures are always crazy so i opt to withdraw and walk across to a forex bureau in the name of saving a few thousands, lesson learnt. And Co-op bank is being mentioned way to many times in these incidences, na mimi ni member...
marex
#60 Posted : Tuesday, December 17, 2013 4:17:52 PM

Also be careful when meeting people who have advertised stuff like cars on OLX and insist to be paid in cash.
The way I am