wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 Pages<1234>»
Health workers transfer to county goverment
#21 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 8:43:17 PM

I cant get over the fact that medical professionals did not make noise about this in 2010. Moi was right! You can't entrust Wanjiku with constitution making...and may I add, even if she's a doctor! Now we are losing lives because doctors, unlike church leaders, were asleep in 2010!
murenj
#22 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 9:22:01 PM

FACT. The governors have proposed to make pay cuts of 20k to 80k on every salary.
FACT some county heads have already stated that only indigenous community members will be employed.
#23 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 9:49:57 PM

murenj wrote:
FACT. The governors have proposed to make pay cuts of 20k to 80k on every salary.
FACT some county heads have already stated that only indigenous community members will be employed.

This is a very serious matter and if not deal with now will be disastrous. What happened to the National Cohesion Commission? The saddest thing though is that our president and Dp have led the way in tribal appointments
#24 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 10:04:43 PM

1. Health Care in a Devolved System.

2. Devolution and the Phillipine Health Care Delivery System.
#25 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 11:57:42 PM

I cant get over the fact that medical professionals did not make noise about this in 2010. Moi was right! You can't entrust Wanjiku with constitution making...and may I add, even if she's a doctor! Now we are losing lives because doctors, unlike church leaders, were asleep in 2010!

I repeat again their issue isnt about devolution they are ok with it...the problem is the manner in which its being done get a copy of the transition to devolved governments act or download it and read about the transition phases....it clearly sets out how it should be done...procedure wasnt followed.
#26 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 2:44:23 AM

Have the other ministries devolved their services? Are those employed in the counties complaining about salaries? Isn't the central gov still handling the salaries of all civil servants?

For me, these docs have no point whatsoever, If you are fired because you are Luo working in Okuyu land the law is clear on what you can do. We are not that jungle country that the civil society likes to protray us to be dint we all sing about having a free and just judiciary?

These docs...if they only knew how easy the have it in Kenya....
kamundu
#27 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 9:13:02 AM

kamundu wrote:
Afya house was asleep when the katiba was being drafted. You see TSC is in the katiba. They should have forseen and formed a HSC to avoid this mess, otherwise devolution is inevitable. I think counties should continue to offer the same perks, and even compete on who pays better to attract personnel, otherwise to entrench a HSC in the katiba we would need a referendum

hii ndio ujinga ya kufuwata watu wholescale... katiba ni 90% mzuri!! kumbe hiyo 10% mbaya ni 100% yako

Kuwa mpole, we are on the same side here...Unless of course kizungu ni ngumu kwako brother.
Peace in our Homeland.
#28 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 9:56:15 AM

#29 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 12:11:48 AM

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=cMNSr5x5f5Y[/YOUTUBE]

http://www.youtube.com/w...edded&v=cMNSr5x5f5Y
Ole Lenku
#30 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 7:19:57 AM

Almost 30 deaths attributed directly or indirectly to health workers staff. Mr. President needs to show leadership.
Ole Lenku
#31 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 7:28:35 AM

Schedule 4. County health services, including, in particular— (It does not mention payment of health workers)
(a) county health facilities and pharmacies;
(b) ambulance services;
(c) promotion of primary health care;
(d) licensing and control of undertakings that sell food to
the public;
(e) veterinary services (excluding regulation of the
profession);
(f) cemeteries, funeral parlours and crematoria; and
(g) refuse removal, refuse dumps and solid waste disposal.
(I still think the strike is punishing the wrong people)
#32 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 8:17:31 AM

I repeat again their issue isnt about devolution they are ok with it...the problem is the manner in which its being done get a copy of the transition to devolved governments act or download it and read about the transition phases....it clearly sets out how it should be done...procedure wasnt followed.

Wewe,wakili hakuna kitu kama 'repeat again'.You just say repeat.
Seems health workers know what they are talking about and infact the HSC can be created by an act of parliament.I think people are throwing in the spin about them not wanting close supervision because they simply do not work -especially doctors-you go to a gova health facility and by 11am,they have left to their private clinics.Hope counties will bring to an end this thuggery.
#33 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 8:34:50 AM

I believe whoever said their fear is about being monitored.Several Docs appear at their work stations twice or thrice in a month to collect payslip and ensure all is well.I dont blame them coz it can be boring hanging around doing nothing since tools of trade hakuna.....however their is something wrong with a Dr posted to Kitui living in Nairobi.

Unfortunate as it is that people have died maybe its the opportune time to set up those structures they are talking about. (Remember people die everyday even when docs are on duty, so lets not assume the deaths are due to the strike).

For me I think if Central government can help in ensuring every county has a proper hospital and support county clinics and ensure Doctors are there and they work then all should be well.We the populace must also be ready to pay for the service just like we do when go to the private clinics or mission hospitals.

They should go back to work as the issues are sorted out but devolution ni lazima.
#34 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 8:54:11 AM

I believe whoever said their fear is about being monitored.Several Docs appear at their work stations twice or thrice in a month to collect payslip and ensure all is well.I dont blame them coz it can be boring hanging around doing nothing since tools of trade hakuna.....however their is something wrong with a Dr posted to Kitui living in Nairobi.

Unfortunate as it is that people have died maybe its the opportune time to set up those structures they are talking about. (Remember people die everyday even when docs are on duty, so lets not assume the deaths are due to the strike).

For me I think if Central government can help in ensuring every county has a proper hospital and support county clinics and ensure Doctors are there and they work then all should be well.We the populace must also be ready to pay for the service just like we do when go to the private clinics or mission hospitals.

They should go back to work as the issues are sorted out but devolution ni lazima.

@bigchick,i differ kidogo.A dr has many roles including providing information and building networks.what kind of steward says that sitaenda job because hakuna tools of trade.Go there,see patients(sio kila mtu ni mgonjwa mahututi)write them a prascription and let them go buy medicine or tell them where help can be found.So for me,hiyo ni excuse,these guys think they are gods,so no one should ask a swali.Sasa watu manaofanya kazi are nurses and COs,God bless them indeed as the Drs chase the coin because they feel entitled.The general hospital has no doctors past noon,they all go to their private clinics and they have non practice allowance.
#35 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 8:56:03 AM

@bigchick,i differ kidogo.A dr has many roles including providing information and building networks.what kind of steward says that sitaenda job because hakuna tools of trade.Go there,see patients(sio kila mtu ni mgonjwa mahututi)write them a prescription and let them go buy medicine or tell them where help can be found.So for me,hiyo ni excuse,these guys think they are gods,so no one should ask a swali.Sasa watu manaofanya kazi are nurses and COs,God bless them indeed as the Drs chase the coin because they feel entitled.The general hospital has no doctors past noon,they all go to their private clinics and they have non practice allowance.
#36 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 9:07:32 AM

Amores wrote:

@bigchick,i differ kidogo.A dr has many roles including providing information and building networks.what kind of steward says that sitaenda job because hakuna tools of trade.Go there,see patients(sio kila mtu ni mgonjwa mahututi)write them a prascription and let them go buy medicine or tell them where help can be found.So for me,hiyo ni excuse,these guys think they are gods,so no one should ask a swali.Sasa watu manaofanya kazi are nurses and COs,God bless them indeed as the Drs chase the coin because they feel entitled.The general hospital has no doctors past noon,they all go to their private clinics and they have non practice allowance.

@Amores.....I agree with you 100% and thats why I qualified my sentence with a Kitui Dr living in Nairobi meaning he cannot be available on short notice.

Actually general hospitals have Drs on specific days and not past noon.

Ole Lenku
#37 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 1:29:31 PM

Amores wrote:

@Amores.....I agree with you 100% and thats why I qualified my sentence with a Kitui Dr living in Nairobi meaning he cannot be available on short notice.

Actually general hospitals have Drs on specific days and not past noon.

Please get your facts right. It is not doctors striking but health workers including nurses, lab techs, public health officers and nutritionist. Health cannot be handled by politicians in a hurriedly manner.
A few days ago, Isaac Rutto of Bomet replaces a doctor with a masters degree and 14 years experience who happened to be Kamba with a doctor that finished internship 6 months ago who is his relative(Kale). If governors are left to manage health we expect such stories to happen more often.
In the last 3 months the IDSR(Integrated Disease Surveillance and Response system) has shown diseases are on the rise. This is probably related to the fact that governors have been managing aspects of health in counties. If there is evidence that diseases are on the rise since the governors took over, shouldn't we at least make these changes now?
murenj
#38 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 4:59:57 PM

capable
Have the other ministries devolved their services? Are those employed in the counties complaining about salaries? Isn't the central gov still handling the salaries of all civil servants?

For me, these docs have no point whatsoever, If you are fired because you are Luo working in Okuyu land the law is clear on what you can do. We are not that jungle country that the civil society likes to protray us to be dint we all sing about having a free and just judiciary?

These docs...if they only knew how easy the have it in Kenya....

with a supreme court that is capable of throwing out 200 pages of evidence......a high court that stops demolition of temporal structures along the railway line ........
Teller1
#39 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 7:18:42 PM

Formation of a hsc will resolve this stalemate. Why don't these governors take over the education functions as well, or even security? The poor in our society are suffering dying as we pass the buck. Or they don't matter? It's sad when fellow countrymen lose their lives, children orphaned as we fight over issues that are solvable.
#40 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2013 12:37:14 AM

The Central Government under the devolved system cannot determine the priorities of the counties. Since health has been devolved, Governors can determine what they want to pay and for what service! They can even choose to fire all the medical personnel in their county and replace them based on their priority. We choose devolution and lets live with it.