wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 Pages123>»
Health workers transfer to county goverment
sorovi
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 11:48:34 AM

I am not in the health sector but the way they are insisting on this is adding suspicion that all is not well..Sad Sad

link

To a worker does it really matter who pays the salary if both employers offer the same terms and all that changes is who processes you salo..Shame on you Shame on you

What is the fear with the medics?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 12:30:42 PM

sorovi wrote:
I am not in the health sector but the way they are insisting on this is adding suspicion that all is not well..Sad Sad

link

To a worker does it really matter who pays the salary if both employers offer the same terms and all that changes is who processes you salo..Shame on you Shame on you

Now the terms being offered arent the same...
kamundu
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 12:36:08 PM

The real truth is that medical workers will be monitored more closely, and that... Hawataki. The rest is propaganda. Your salary is protected by the katiba.
Peace in our Homeland.
sorovi
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 1:32:44 PM

sorovi wrote:

link

Now the terms being offered arent the same...

I also think the terms are the same.. the only issue could be probably been monitored as @kamundu says.. Also some have been probably been benefiting from the ghost workersShame on you Shame on you .. so will be difficult now.. I tend to think their demands are not justified..
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 2:24:49 PM

kamundu wrote:
The real truth is that medical workers will be monitored more closely, and that... Hawataki. The rest is propaganda. Your salary is protected by the katiba.

I worked on this case extensively I know what I am talking about...and since you are in the field we should be in the same page...From earlier strikes i used to be hard on doctors but on this one they really do have a case...
kamundu
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 2:42:07 PM

Afya house was asleep when the katiba was being drafted. You see TSC is in the katiba. They should have forseen and formed a HSC to avoid this mess, otherwise devolution is inevitable. I think counties should continue to offer the same perks, and even compete on who pays better to attract personnel, otherwise to entrench a HSC in the katiba we would need a referendum
Peace in our Homeland.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 2:48:41 PM

kamundu wrote:

I worked on this case extensively I know what I am talking about...and since you are in the field we should be in the same page...From earlier strikes i used to be hard on doctors but on this one they really do have a case...

@Maka, from a proffesional viewpoint, how do you suggest that this shud be handled?

1. Constitution dictates that the sector be devolved. So its just a matter of when and how.

2. County govts shall eventually have to manage their own services now that health guys never asked for a Health Commission.

What is the way forward?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 3:05:53 PM

kamundu wrote:

@Maka, from a proffesional viewpoint, how do you suggest that this shud be handled?

1. Constitution dictates that the sector be devolved. So its just a matter of when and how.

2. County govts shall eventually have to manage their own services now that health guys never asked for a Health Commission.

What is the way forward?

As I said in the earlier thread devolution is a must not an option....and I posted the prayers that we seek...

(i) Order of Certiorari to quash legal notices no.137-182....this will give the parties involved time to iron out the issues lets be real in regards to this matter some county governments do not have the capacity to run health services...rem the constitution under article 175 requires that county govts have reliable sources of revenue to enable them to govern and deliver devolved services effectively uv heard the governors crying left,right and centre the money they were given waznt enough...health is an essential service lets take a huge portion of the 36 months set aside for devolving all services to make sure both sides are comfy....I wish you guys were around when Lucy Kambuni was making her submissions she agreed that the process has not been smooth but bottlenecks are always there...I tend to disagree let the Central govt handle the medics as we work on the structures,bottlenecks in regards to such sensitive matters should never be there...we are treading on very dangerous grounds....

#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 3:16:15 PM

kamundu wrote:

What is the way forward?

As I said in the earlier thread devolution is a must not an option....and I posted the prayers that we seek...

(i) Order of Certiorari to quash legal notices no.137-182....this will give the parties involved time to iron out the issues lets be real in regards to this matter some county governments do not have the capacity to run health services...rem the constitution under article 175 requires that county govts have reliable sources of revenue to enable them to govern and deliver devolved services effectively uv heard the governors crying left,right and centre the money they were given waznt enough...health is an essential service lets take a huge portion of the 36 months set aside for devolving all services to make sure both sides are comfy....I wish you guys were around when Lucy Kambuni was making her submissions she agreed that the process has not been smooth but bottlenecks are always there...I tend to disagree let the Central govt handle the medics as we work on the structures,bottlenecks in regards to such sensitive matters should never be there...we are treading on very dangerous grounds....

Aha...I get you. Let them sit and agree then. I thought that was what they were supposed to do when UK called them to state house. This idea of doctors and nurses on strike is not good at all...

#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 11:27:53 PM

sorovi wrote:

link

The terms being offered are different. Kakamega & Kitui counties have already circulated lists clearly showing they'll not pay some of the allowances currently enjoyed by HCWs, in effect forcing them to take a pay cut.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 11:49:34 PM

kamundu wrote:

What is the way forward?

Aha...I get you. Let them sit and agree then. I thought that was what they were supposed to do when UK called them to state house. This idea of doctors and nurses on strike is not good at all...

Ummmh UK said wapende wasipende this matter cannot be reversed...lets wait for the 3 judge bench but no hope kabisa what @Rankaz has put across is real and is happening....very sad state of affairs.
#12 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:00:44 PM

The governor of Uasin Gishu county has banned health workers from operating private clinics. I thought they get non-practice allowance
InnovateGuy
#13 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:19:28 PM

Shak wrote:
The governor of Uasin Gishu county has banned health workers from operating private clinics. I thought they get non-practice allowance

Chest thumping begins right now.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#14 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:21:33 PM

And why have they disobeyed a court order to return to work?
#15 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:30:03 PM

This is a catch 22.

If the katiba says they will be devolved, then only a referendum will save them.

On the other hand, its true that if there are no structures in place for this, oh lordie lord.

Negotiate and come up with a workable way forward. I don't blame the gov't on this one. I blame the governors who aren't prepared but had better take the money. I also can't blame a nurse who was being paid 10k last month, then being told she'd be paid 8k kwa sababu ya devolution.

#16 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:46:56 PM

kamundu wrote:
Afya house was asleep when the katiba was being drafted. You see TSC is in the katiba. They should have forseen and formed a HSC to avoid this mess, otherwise devolution is inevitable. I think counties should continue to offer the same perks, and even compete on who pays better to attract personnel, otherwise to entrench a HSC in the katiba we would need a referendum

hii ndio ujinga ya kufuwata watu wholescale... katiba ni 90% mzuri!! kumbe hiyo 10% mbaya ni 100% yako
#17 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 2:55:48 PM

kamundu wrote:

hii ndio ujinga ya kufuwata watu wholescale... katiba ni 90% mzuri!! kumbe hiyo 10% mbaya ni 100% yako

#18 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 4:48:37 PM

kamundu wrote:

kollabo
#19 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 5:08:15 PM

kamundu wrote:

Deafening silence from the man who propagated this line of thinking.
#20 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2013 6:11:53 PM

This is a catch 22.

If the katiba says they will be devolved, then only a referendum will save them.

On the other hand, its true that if there are no structures in place for this, oh lordie lord.

Negotiate and come up with a workable way forward. I don't blame the gov't on this one. I blame the governors who aren't prepared but had better take the money. I also can't blame a nurse who was being paid 10k last month, then being told she'd be paid 8k kwa sababu ya devolution.

The govt doesnt want to negotiate the governors believe they are sent from heaven...kichwa ngumu sana hawa watu...