wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Dairy goats.
#21 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2009 11:07:00 AM

I have researched as much as I can but can't seem to get any contacts for any dairy goats sellers.

Can anyone be kind enough to post them. .............I am especially interested on a source for the pure Toggenburgs.....any contact is fine so please be kind.
maia
#22 Posted : Sunday, April 26, 2009 12:25:00 PM

@ alma

Val Corr, Lake Breeze Farm & Toggenburg
Dairy Goats,Naivasha. If you wish
to contact her,please
call her on Tel. 0734 913 049.
All the best.
#23 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 12:23:00 AM

thanks a lot. will be doing so very soon.

regards
wairegi
#24 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 4:23:00 AM

Baraka College in Molo. Talk to the farm manager. A doe goes for 4500 and is sold immediately it is weaned.

Did visit the farm and learnt a lot. If you are interested on biogas these guys are resourceful.

Farm Manager is Charlse 0720113908

Your Moment-by-Moment Choices Create the Big Picture
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2009 6:46:00 AM

@all...............Where can one get this milk from,in Nairobi area??????

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 7:00:10 PM

@Njung'e, the nanny goats are still there?How is the market for these products n price?
#27 Posted : Friday, May 28, 2010 9:28:57 AM

Njung'e, uko wapi babu?
KNjonjo
#28 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 2:14:30 PM

I have 4 Alpine cross does that I am currently milking in Karen, Nairobi. I have excess milk and I am looking for a market so if anyone is interested or can point me in the right direction, please let me know on kimani.njonjo@gmail.com
#29 Posted : Sunday, December 01, 2013 2:33:15 PM

My kind of goat-Dorper.

The breed is well adapted to survive in the arid extensive regions.
It has high fertility and maternal instinct, combined with high growth rates and hardiness.

@ guka which is the best/cheap way to house a goat?
mabati/wooden structure? and aprx how much will it cost for each? say 3 goats to start with.

oltome
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 10:36:39 AM

My kind of goat-Dorper.

It has high fertility and maternal instinct, combined with high growth rates and hardiness.

mabati/wooden structure? and aprx how much will it cost for each? say 3 goats to start with.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smileooh! my ribs Laughing out loudly the dorper is a sheep breed not a goat, dairy goat breeds include the saanen, anglo-nubian, toggenburg, alpine click on the link below to know more
http://www.infonet-biovi.../ct/270/livestockSpecies
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 12:06:56 PM

oltome wrote:
[quote=kysse]My kind of goat-Dorper.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smileooh! my ribs Laughing out loudly the dorper is a sheep breed not a goat, dairy goat breeds include the saanen, anglo-nubian, toggenburg, alpine click on the link below to know more
http://www.infonet-biovi...ct/270/livestockSpecies[/quote]

You cant blame Kysse, Some people just know that anything white is a goat and anything white and black is a goat
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 9:46:42 PM

Woi!smile

#33 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 12:31:45 AM

oltome wrote:
My kind of goat-Dorper.

http://www.infonet-biovi...ct/270/livestockSpecies

You cant blame Kysse, Some people just know that anything white is a goat and anything white and black is a goat

#34 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 3:11:23 PM

@ oltome
I bought kids instead of dorper thanks to you.smile
But I had few dorpers (which I bought believing they were a cross btwn sheep/goat) kitambo-gave them away cz I wasn't able to look after them.
Now I am ready and will hire a moran to take care of them back in the farm.

oltome
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 5:17:34 PM

@ oltome
But I had few dorpers (which I bought believing they were a cross btwn sheep/goat) kitambo-gave them away cz I wasn't able to look after them.

Applause Glad to have been of help. So which breed did you get?? and how many?? you know animals like humans tend to do well in pairs
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 10:12:12 PM

oltome wrote:
@ oltome

Applause Glad to have been of help. So which breed did you get?? and how many?? you know animals like humans tend to do well in pairs

I didn't have the time to shop around so I just bought goat.As long as it can reproduce and give milk I am good.
Went for the 3 months old,the ones that have just finished suckling.

Do well in pairs? even while still belching from mummy's breast milk?
I once accompanied my grandma on a journey to the neighbour's to have the she-goat whatevered.

Goodness!that goat almost brought the house down with it's kicking and restlessness.
When it was handed over to the Billy-goat? it took like 3 sec only!! My grandma wasn't pleased, saying that the billy-goat failed to do a perfect job! Honestly I was also pissed off after all the drama it had caused.
We tried to force the billy goat to repeat the act, but it was also thick headed and the she-goat was getting fed up.

She didn't even conceive,yet it's a paid for job, what a waste.

While at that, is it fair to pay the he-goat owner if your she-goat fails to conceive?
How can one ensure that a complete job is done cz some he-goats are a joke.
I want mine to conceive twins chap chap.smile

oltome
#37 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 1:57:56 PM

oltome wrote:
@ oltome

I didn't have the time to shop around so I just bought goat.As long as it can reproduce and give milk I am good.
Went for the 3 months old,the ones that have just finished suckling.

Do well in pairs? even while still belching from mummy's breast milk?
I once accompanied my grandma on a journey to the neighbour's to have the she-goat whatevered.

Goodness!that goat almost brought the house down with it's kicking and restlessness.
When it was handed over to the Billy-goat? it took like 3 sec only!! My grandma wasn't pleased, saying that the billy-goat failed to do a perfect job! Honestly I was also pissed off after all the drama it had caused.
We tried to force the billy goat to repeat the act, but it was also thick headed and the she-goat was getting fed up.

She didn't even conceive,yet it's a paid for job, what a waste.

While at that, is it fair to pay the he-goat owner if your she-goat fails to conceive?
How can one ensure that a complete job is done cz some he-goats are a joke.
I want mine to conceive twins chap chap.smile

The pair thing is for companionship and to spread the cost, as long as you got 2,3,etc you are good you wouldn't want to end up with one lonely kid Pray .You did well to get them after they are weaned since hakuna hustle ya kunyonyesha smile , you should now administer some dewormers to ensure that the kids don't carry with them parasites from whence they came, for 3month old kids, the dosage should be from 1-3mm orally, you can buy Nilzan plus (approx Kes. 250 for 125mm bottle)or Norbrook (kuna mingi but i prefer the two)Dewormers are administered monthly but if your shamba is relatively clean (basicaly bora you have a pit latrine na hakuna watu wa 'kudeposit' kwa bush)you can do it bi/tri monthly or when you spot worms in feaces.
hmmmm now for the she goatsmile Laughing out loudly you should see how they act when in a herd of say 100, the incessant bleating and kupandana would make a naive stranger say you are conductingn an animal orgy Laughing out loudly smile lakini huyo billy goat ni useless sana, you should thank God your goat didn't conceive as it probably has bad genes..i mean 3sec and no further interest lolLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you should ask for a refund and tell the owner to castrate his billy. Where i come from, we borrow the he-goat for a day or two (for free) so that he can service the ewes at his pleasure smile maybe you should try that next time, get the billy to your shamba ooh! and btw it's very rare to get twins just like humans smile
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 2:00:09 PM

oltome wrote:
My kind of goat-Dorper.

http://www.infonet-biovi...ct/270/livestockSpecies

Ata hiyo shape ni ya Kondoro my goodness...how blonde can some beauties be?

#39 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 8:49:39 PM

@Oltome you are brilliant.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2013 9:00:52 PM

oltome wrote:

The pair thing is for companionship and to spread the cost, as long as you got 2,3,etc you are good you wouldn't want to end up with one lonely kid Pray .You did well to get them after they are weaned since hakuna hustle ya kunyonyesha smile , you should now administer some dewormers to ensure that the kids don't carry with them parasites from whence they came, for 3month old kids, the dosage should be from 1-3mm orally, you can buy Nilzan plus (approx Kes. 250 for 125mm bottle)or Norbrook (kuna mingi but i prefer the two)Dewormers are administered monthly but if your shamba is relatively clean (basicaly bora you have a pit latrine na hakuna watu wa 'kudeposit' kwa bush)you can do it bi/tri monthly or when you spot worms in feaces.
hmmmm now for the she goatsmile Laughing out loudly you should see how they act when in a herd of say 100, the incessant bleating and kupandana would make a naive stranger say you are conductingn an animal orgy Laughing out loudly smile lakini huyo billy goat ni useless sana, you should thank God your goat didn't conceive as it probably has bad genes..i mean 3sec and no further interest lolLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you should ask for a refund and tell the owner to castrate his billy. Heeehe he is the champion Billy Goat,the main server in that neighbourood.
I think he was overworked. poor goat.

Where i come from, we borrow the he-goat for a day or two (for free) so that he can service the ewes at his pleasure smile maybe you should try that next time, get the billy to your shamba ooh! and btw it's very rare to get twins just like humans smile
ok.There is some type of grass which is harmful to goats-causes them diarrhoea, not sure how true this is, but I will keep mine enclosed in the farm.