wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Am tired of paying rent!
Kave
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:01:00 PM

Hi SK guys,

I have been following up discussions here in SK in a passive manner for the last 6 months and i have really learned a lot!
Now,this issue of giving my landlord 18K every month-end is not doing me good.
I work in Nairobi and i can comfortably save some 40K. I cleared campo in 2007 and am not yet married.
I strongly belief that i can get very good advice in SK concerning this issue of paying rent.
Pls ladies and gentlemen,keep the suggestions flowing.
skinny
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:11:00 PM

me too kwanza the pain i felt when calculating the KRA returns,that is when it hit me right where it hurts damn!!!!!!! click
so what do we do?

mtaa do wat?
Kasheshi
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:26:00 PM

Look for a house you can own through a tenant purchase arrangement

R
half_empty
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:28:00 PM

if you have not already,you should join sacco.. in 1 yr you will have 480k... borrow 3times i.e. 1.44m and put this as downpayment for a 2 bed apptmt eg thika.... or mlolongo... live happily ever after
gogeta
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:38:00 PM

talking of Rent ...my land lord is charging me 8000 Bob for repainting the house yet when i got into the house it was noT freshly painTed anD i stayed theRe for 4 MoNths ALONE. whaT riGhts do i have? shoulD i accePt the cheQues miNus the 8k it hurtS.... thaTs just enouGh beeR boTtles

Wisdom brightens a man's face and changes its hard appearance.Eccle 8:1
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
kabwato
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:43:00 PM

stop paying and wait to be thrown out it will only take u about two months
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 2:00:00 PM

IF you are in a secure job,why not try morgage.. read the sentence again..it starts with IF..otherwise..wacha haraka na maisha..lipa rent,save enough and move up with time..no hurry

why keep one fish in a glass aquarium while you can have all the fish in the ocean?
Jalofg
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 2:01:00 PM

A saving of shs.40,000 is more than you need to own a house.

I build a temporary house in year 2000 with a salary of mere shs. 16000,a wife and a child. I put a saving of shs.6000 with a sacco and with time i managed to get a loan of shs 200,000. With this i bought a plot for kshs. 110000 and used the rest plus a litle more to put up a temporary house.

I later got a better job and managed to put up my dream house at a cost of 3.5M

Bro. you are young. If you are determined you can make it.

Jalofg
mtaalam
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 2:23:00 PM

@kibwato... yah right!

You don't pay rent you get locked out of your house with all your stuff in and then what....

ili iwe funzo...
Tusker Baridi
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 5:19:00 PM

Methinks you should be glad you're renting rather than owning. As investors,we need to set emotions of owning a house aside and look at the raw data. So lets do the numbers.

To start with,you pay ridiculous interest on the mortgage,and you pay it upfront. You do not pay interest on rent. So lets say you buy a house for Ksh.6M and had no interest and lets say your monthly payment is 50K per month. It would take you 120 months or 10 years to pay it off. Now lets see what happens when you sign that mortgage for the same amount for 20 yrs at an interest rate of 15%. Now suddenly,your monthly payment has jumped from 50K to 79K and it would take you twice the amount of time to pay it off and also have to pay an extra 13M in interest on top of your 6M principal just to fully own your house after 20 years. At that rate,your house has to more than treble in value just to break even.

Then on top of that you have to pay homeowners insurance each year. Halafu there is the government and city tax. Maintenance expenses. I'm not sure how much these figures would be for a 6M house in Nai but you can imagine you will be paying much more than the 79K per month on your mortgage. So lets just say the expenses are another 3K per month.So over 20 years period with inflation this figure is another 1M.

Now lets compare to the renter,he does not pay any homeowners insurance,tax or maintenance fees. If anything breaks he just calls the landlord to fix it ASAP. So he still pays the 50K per month for the same place.

So lets compare:

20 years of home ownership: 20M

20 years of rental: 12M

The renter saves 8M over 20 years.

Now can you imagine what you could do with 8M savings over 20 years if you were investing this money in stocks? Lets just assume a modest return of 10% per year. Now calculate the compounded ROI of 33K per month(83K mortgage minus 50K rent). Your investment return could be worth 20M after 20 years. Now we know that the true cost is the opportunity cost.

Mortgage proponents argue that,but houses appreciate at a high rate so you get to build equity at the end of the 20 years which you can get by selling your house. To that I say good luck,houses have appreciated so ridiculously that if you bought a house now,forget getting the same appreciation in 20 years similar to what people who bough 20 years ago got in the last few years. Remember for you to break even,your house has to more than treble. And the renter still gets ahead of you by getting 20M after 20 years in form of ROI.

Not those are just the raw figures,how about other issues related to home ownership. What if you want to move because you have been IDPed,or your are moving on up,or you hate Nai,or for whatever reason. The renter can just up and leave,the only cost is the deposit. The homeowner has to list the property,pay commision to listing agents,incur closing costs. And then if you want to buy,you go through the same hastle with closing costs again.

Bottom line,paying rent is not throwing money away. The money the renster saves is enough for him to buy a house cash,or rent an extra 10 years for less money without extra costs. The renter can move at will without incuring closing costs etc. The homeowner and the renters are both renters,the former rents from the bank at a higher cost,the later rents from the landlord at a cheaper cost. And at the end of the 20 years,the renter has more money saved than the homeonewer.

Sorry for the long post,but I feel that mortgage is the biggest investment one can ever make so sober minds need to prevail. I invite homeonership proponents to shoot holes through my arguments using facts,not emotions.

When in doubt,follow the money.
LimuruBoy
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 9:53:00 PM

Okay kave here is the deal. Most people who ask for advice are not willing to act on it,coz they wanna have their cake and eat it too.

If I were you,I'd never pay that 18k. If u do the math,that's a whopping 216,000 bob a year going to waste! This is what I would do. I'd buy a ka-small plot in the outskirts of town...rongai,kiambu,ruai etc. A really tiny plot would be cheap enough for you to afford or take a loan for. Alafu,just build a temporary one room or 2-room house on it....I'd even live in a mbao house. Afterall,all u need is a place to swatch at night since u have no famo. U can live in this shack,get the same good sleep at night...while you invest all ur money to future millions.

But if u (like most people our age) want to show ur buddies ati ata wewe uko...if u want to show the girls that boi is now an adult with a jobo...then 18K monthly is the price to pay. Making ur landlord richer and yourself poorer.

Personally,I'd rather the chiks not penda me today coz i live in a shack...and I become rich. once u become rich man,u'll get all the chiks u want...even the ones who dissed u...and I'm not just talking,I'm practicing what I preach...even here in stato. Sichezi..!!

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.' - Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge
Mainat
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 11:25:00 PM

TB-the differential on your comparison is no more than 4m because rent probably doubles every 5yrs in Nai.
The difference is even less when you factor in lifestyle changes. Once a dude gets married,lets assume in 10yrs time,he'll hama and rent out the joint. Finally,the capital appreciation over 20yrs is huge and I'd say no less than 5 times the buying price.

But the most basic thing you've ignored is that in Nai,its perfectly possible to buy plot and build your place within 5 or so yrs of aggressive saving and investing.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Tusker Baridi
#13 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 3:44:00 AM

Mainat- You raise very valid issues and I have to admit my perspective is not anywhere near exhaustive about the nuances of Nai real estate market. I agree with you that building(and thus cutting the middleman/mortgage out) is the best option. For simplicity sake,I disregarded renters inflation(which I assumed to be at par with inflation rate,which is ofset by income appreciation making it a wash,too siplistic of course) My perspective is that instead of the individual buying a mortgage right now,she is better off renting and saving the money,then using her savings to build her own house.

Regarding the real estate appreciation,I think buying Nai housing back in the 80s and 90s made a lot of economic sense. Not now. There is no way middleclass Nai apartments with poor infrastructures and inconsistent services should cost $118,000 to $166,000 per http://findarticles.com/...27/is_347/ai_n31039102/),which is more than similar houses in US and UK,where per capita income 50 times those of Kenya. That is why I think buying a house in Nai now would be the worst investment one could make because you would be buying at the peak of a very over-valued market. People need to realise that houses do lose value,the japanese know this,the english know this,the dubaians know this,the americans know this and I bet you Kenyans will know this sooner rather than later.

If I had to buy a house in Nai,I would just sit back and rent while saving,this gives one several advantages. First,you wait for the market to cool down. Secondly,you get to save some money which you could use to buy a house cash or build it from scratch. Thirdly,with time there will be more and better housing options at more competitive prices.

#14 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 4:36:00 AM

@TB,your argument misses a fundamental point. In Management Accounting we are taught to isolate irrelevant costs when making decisions. Rent is an irrelevant cost as you will pay it whether you rent or buy as you must live somewhere. Therefore your 79K mortgage payment is effectively 79K - 50K = 29K.
My personal experience,I took out one for a 2.2M house in 1999 when the repayment was 28K and the market rent for the area was 12K. Effectively my mortgage was 16K. Five years later,my repayment was still 28K,but the market rent had risen to 19K,making my effective mortgage 9K. Today the market rent is 23K,but I have since cleared the mortgage,so I have a free cash flow.
Skerians,don't fear mortgages,just make sure (like I did) you pay more than the agreed rate. The difference goes straight to the principal payment.
I also urge you to join a pension scheme. With the changes in the budget,you will be able to use your pension savings as security. This theoretically means you don't have to come up with the upfront cash payment required to get started - and this is significant as this can be as high as 1M for a modest house.
Marty
#15 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 4:45:00 AM

@kave,@TB,@Mainat and others,

This is an interesting discussion,but I guess there are many ways of killing a cat. My advice to @kave would be to move to a relatively cheaper rented house,in the region of 8-10k which for a one BDR house u'd probably get in a decent place. He can then use the savings of upto 50k per month to buy cheap plots in the outskirts of Nai. In 2 yrs u'll have invested a total of 1.2M. By the end of the 2 yrs the total value of investment will be 2M or thereabout due to appreciations. In 4yrs time,if u continue buying the plots at the same rate,u'll have invested a total of 2.4M and am sure the value of the plots will be 5-6M. Now,this amount will be more than enough to do a descent house I guess on one of the plots... Nowadays there are real estate companies that will allow u to buy land in monthly instalments going upto 2 yrs. My take..

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Kave
#16 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 6:30:00 AM

Thanks guys for your encouraging contributions. I Like sk guys!

Last night i was discussing the same issue with a friend,the following were the possible realistic options;

1. Buy a 2 bedroomed hse in a flat by Jan 2011 somewhere close to town at a cost of roughly 3M ( i don't know whether i can get one at that price). Make a down payment of around 1.8M ( i will have saved close to 800k and hopely,get 1M from stocks,my input into stocks as of now is 900k).
Then capitalise on the 18K + 40 K to clear the 1.2 M + interest within 2 years.

Going by this option,i would thereafter marry,continue to save and after 5 yrs,build (or buy ) and live in my dream house as i enjoy getting rent from my 2 bedroomed hse.

2. Buy a number of plots for say,3 yrs,and then sell some and built a house on one of them as some of you have suggested.The issue of concern here was the fact that i can easily be conned when buying plots.

Note that these were just suggestion,no conclusion has been made.

Marty
#17 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:20:00 AM

@kave,

Your concerns of getting conned when buying plots can be mitigated by ensuring that you deal with credible guys.

I have been in the business for quite some time and I can assist you on that. I do clean deals. njengasg@yahoo.com

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Tutu
#18 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:21:00 AM

What i learnt from one of my uncles is similar to what Limuruboy has stated. Since you are still single,move to a cheaper house,that way you will be able to save more,after like 2-3 years you can buy a plot and start developing it to your dream house. As a kid i saw my uncle do this and cudn't understand why he could go that low as he was earning pretty well. Now i understand,he has a house in every town he has ever worked in. coz everytime he get's transferred he rents the house he is leaving behind as he moves to his new town of work,get's a small rental house as he looks for a plot to buy and develop and within no time he puts up his.

Jesus Loves me this I know,for the bible tells me so!
Tusker Baridi
#19 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 8:57:00 AM

Gecko,you have to admit that this market is way different from the 1999 market before the bubble. To show you how ridiculous the prices have gotten away from the fundamentals,just look at the equivalent P/E ratio of real estate vs the current rate,you will discover how out of whack it is. The RE P/E ratio is calculated by taking the price of your home and dividing it by what it would rent for. Of cource the home here is the monthly mortgage plus related homeownership expenses. If this ratio is less than 1,then the homeowner has positive cashflow and vise versa.

Now how many Nai homeowners who are receiving less rental income than their monthly mortgage expenses. And for those who live in their houses,you will find that the mortgage they pay is way more than what they would be paying in rent for an equivalent house in the same neighborhood. Now Im not saying that this is such a bad thing,it is just that the ratios have gotten worse during the housing bubble and there are less homeowners in the positive cashflow territory.

Regarding the irrelevant cost,notice that I bring up the rental cost to draw attention to the opportunity cost of homeownership. That is why I use the difference(83K-50K) to calculate forgone ROI.

I think potential homeowners should remember that old investment adage about past performance not being a predictor of future performance. People are using the sckewed data during the bubble years to make projections. Big mistake. Use historical figures( several decades) .

#20 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 9:32:00 AM

@Tusker Baridi; I feel compelled to ask you this,what is your current situation? Do you own the house you live in or are you renting? Do you live in Kenya?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)