wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

8 Pages<1234>»
Bolt or Tyson Gay
bebeto
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 5:14:00 AM

@ fidel

yes,no one expected that about kapsabet express. as for bolt,yeah...but Gay has to be at his best ever,not just the best of the season. Bolt outshone the whole field recently and taking into account he was 80-85% fit should send a strong warning.

nway,may the best win...my bet being on the 'nuggets and more nuggets'

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 6:09:00 AM

This is no rocket science. Bolt will win - and in record time!!! When you watch Bolt running,he does it with alot of ease. He doesn't push himself to the limit. Well,this sunday he might just do it! And he has alot to loose if he doesn't win and will finally prove a point to the doubters if he does. This is a race of his life. But don't be suprised if one of them gets a funny 'injury' and pulls out.

On the other hand,I wonder what the other athletes are feeling. Listening to discussions everywhere,one might be forgiven to imagine there will only be two competitors on the track!!! The race might just be won by one Obafeni olagaden fufu - my broda from Nigeria!!!
Kausha
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 9:48:00 AM

Obviously Bolt will win unless he pulls a muscle or falls or doesn't start the race. The guy is reliably rumored to be able to run 100m at 9.32 in training. My conspiracy theory is that the chap is doing a sergei bubka or yelena isinbayeva on the 100m. You make sure you break the record in key events by kidogo. This means they keep inviting you for key events and pay a fortune for your appearance and at times for you to break the record. He will definately break the record on Sunday,because its important to the Usain Bolt brand building plan. I would also do the same,why run 9.3 in one day when mortals are running at 9.7...just work with them and appear as part of them but better than them and get paid a fortune.
Findel
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 10:25:00 AM

Kausha,

9.32s is not for the current generation - that&rsquo;s vision 2030. Remember that the world record has been improved upon twelve times since the introduction of electronic timing and has never being surpassed by more than 0.05 s at a time. Did you know that the fastest recorded time for the distance,although excluded from the records because of wind assistance,was 9.68 s by Tyson Gay in 2008 during the 2008 U.S. Olympic trials in Oregon where the tail wind speed was 4.1 m/s,more than double the IAAF legal limit. All in all you have to give it up to Bolt who ran 9.69s in Beijing under still wind conditions (0.0m/s).

Whether we are staring at a new world record will also depend on Berlin&rsquo;s attitude as sprint athletes perform better at high altitudes because of the thinner air,which provides less air resistance although it makes breathing slightly more difficult.
Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
Kausha
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 11:17:00 AM

Findel,what you think is vision 2030 is already being done,he is not a kenyan remember. Either way prepare for a below 9.65sec record on Sunday. What you say about altitude is wrong,you need sea level altitude for good performance not high altitude,air is thinner at lower altitude (yaani more oxygen) it gets thicker when you climb mountains. As a principle IAAF and most other sports federations where athletism is muhimu like 7's rugby demand that global events be held at sea level. You will also notice berlin is sea level that's why combined with the very flat course,marathon records are always being broken there. Kwani are you suggesting that Bolt can't sprint through the tape,that easing off is deliberate,watch this guy break many records and forget about gay,owesmake it!
bebeto
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 11:20:00 AM

@maich black

good observation. we r forgetting the other dudes. i honestly like OLUSONJI FASUBA..not sure about the spelling...he came fourth/fifth in beijing.

and @all,9.32 is tooooo ambitious,ask Ben Johnson...even with madawa + wind assist never came close to it.

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Kausha
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 12:27:00 PM

If you watch transworld,in 2002,these guys covered the story of Usain Bolt and even said one day soon he would be world champion and would break the world record,he was running at 9.97 secs then. He did it last year and trans world had their ' we told you so' moment. If you watched the guy running 200m where he was not sure he was within the record you will notice he pumped the last 50 meters to end. In 100m he seems to ease off the gas at 80m. He is obviously being a smart sports proffessional,he can actually do better than that..
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 2:31:00 PM

Kausha hapo umedinya point,there's no 100M race I've seen Bolt struggle - NONE! He might be a slow starter but please mention any race where you've seen Bolt stretch his neck for a photo finish.

@bebeto,I meant 100m when I was talking abou sprint,most of the american sprinters (except Gay who seems to have some level of humility - probably coz he hasn't beaten Bolt) have some macho bulls*** that I can't stand,remember Maurice Greene and that 4 x 4 posse of 96 olympics?

MJ was sheer class. Jones was the last person I expected to be doping (maybe it's that sexy smile that used to fool me) but after that I've always been suspicious of american sprinters,especially when it was found out they were using that enhancer called THX or somes*** which was undetectable even in doping tests - did you know even the great Carl Lewis was later on found to have used banned substances,only that they couldn't detect them at the time. Correct me if I'm wrong on that one.

And on Ben Johnson,what time did he make with his steroids? I thought it was 9.45sec? Anyway,I believe even Jackie Joyner Cassie with her wind assisted 10.45sec that no female athlete has ever come close to (even Jones with her doping) was also using banned substances - too bad she died without the world ever knowing for sure.

bebeto
#19 Posted : Sunday, August 16, 2009 7:45:00 PM

bolt does it n lowers the record,WOW!

be happy!
bebeto
#20 Posted : Sunday, August 16, 2009 7:53:00 PM

Bolt it is,9.58 new WR.

be happy!
8 Pages<1234>»