whats the place of alcohol in christianity/islam?
washiku wrote:@Alphi, yu have clearly refused to answer my question. Yu decided to ask a different one. Ok. This is my position. This is my faith...
Alcohol, like any other food, when taken in moderation is fine. If abused(drunkadness) it distorts your right thought process and could lead you to sin against God and fellow human being. The Bible cindemns drunkadness. Infact, our faith teaches that gluttonness in whichever form, whether yu partake alcohol or chapos or tea, is a sin. Yu r expected to control your body n its desires, n not be controlled by the things u partake. Thus, whatever it is yu partake, yu must exercise self control..
For the sake of social order, and in the same spirit of self control, a Christian is expected to exercise logical judgement of their environment before they partake whatever food n drinks, alcohol included, so that they dont scandalise the people they r with. Paul taught Romans that all food were fine, but they shud be careful what they partake rest they lead others astray. Eg I am not muslim, n thus am ok with pork, but if I was to invite a muslim in my house I wouldnt cook pork because ir would annoy/scandalise my muslim visitor. If am a parent n I expect my children not to take alcohol until they r of right age to make their choices, I wouldnt be partaking it in their presence rest I lead them astray. If my taking of alcohol affects the health of my wife, I wud sacrifice n leave it for the sake of her welness. In other words, there r times a Christian is expected to sacrifice their pleassure for the sake of general good of the society they are in.
What about other drugs? First a Christian shud not partake any drug that has been banned by the laws of the land. It is our responsibility to participate in n respect the laws. Obedience to the law is not a choice but a must esp those laws that have been taken to protect the general society from social evils. Secondly, the effects of a particular drug to the welness of the society must be checked b4 its taken. That is why those drugs that turns those young peoe in Mombasa n other areas into useless n dependent creatures r a No No. Further, evn if a drug is legal, if it is affecting the normal functionality of your body, from a medical perspective, it shud be stopped. The body is the temple of the Holy Spirit n thus its wellbeing is key to a Christian.
@ Washiku, couldn't have put it better. Mad respect  @Masukuma too
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
@Washiku, when I look at laws and drugs, including alcohol, I see that the laws are mechanisms of increasing the price of taking the drugs, and the powers of those who deal in them.
Add that to the idea that religions are forms of drugs, and the question becomes 'which drug do you prefer, alcohol/Islam/Christianity?'
Or, how do we handle the drug issue, and why that way? It's about human responsibility not 'religious duty'.
When one takes a drug as a duty, then he's either abusing it, or is sick. The same for 'religious duty'.
Dia wrote:washiku wrote:@Alphi, yu have clearly refused to answer my question. Yu decided to ask a different one. Ok. This is my position. This is my faith...
Alcohol, like any other food, when taken in moderation is fine. If abused(drunkadness) it distorts your right thought process and could lead you to sin against God and fellow human being. The Bible cindemns drunkadness. Infact, our faith teaches that gluttonness in whichever form, whether yu partake alcohol or chapos or tea, is a sin. Yu r expected to control your body n its desires, n not be controlled by the things u partake. Thus, whatever it is yu partake, yu must exercise self control..
For the sake of social order, and in the same spirit of self control, a Christian is expected to exercise logical judgement of their environment before they partake whatever food n drinks, alcohol included, so that they dont scandalise the people they r with. Paul taught Romans that all food were fine, but they shud be careful what they partake rest they lead others astray. Eg I am not muslim, n thus am ok with pork, but if I was to invite a muslim in my house I wouldnt cook pork because ir would annoy/scandalise my muslim visitor. If am a parent n I expect my children not to take alcohol until they r of right age to make their choices, I wouldnt be partaking it in their presence rest I lead them astray. If my taking of alcohol affects the health of my wife, I wud sacrifice n leave it for the sake of her welness. In other words, there r times a Christian is expected to sacrifice their pleassure for the sake of general good of the society they are in.
What about other drugs? First a Christian shud not partake any drug that has been banned by the laws of the land. It is our responsibility to participate in n respect the laws. Obedience to the law is not a choice but a must esp those laws that have been taken to protect the general society from social evils. Secondly, the effects of a particular drug to the welness of the society must be checked b4 its taken. That is why those drugs that turns those young peoe in Mombasa n other areas into useless n dependent creatures r a No No. Further, evn if a drug is legal, if it is affecting the normal functionality of your body, from a medical perspective, it shud be stopped. The body is the temple of the Holy Spirit n thus its wellbeing is key to a Christian.
@ Washiku, couldn't have put it better. Mad respect  @Masukuma too Sisemi kitu
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
@washiku I think I answered your question in my post #7@Zanze show me where I've said all muslims follow everything Quran says. You see @Wilyam asked " what is the place of alcohol in Islam and CHristianity". I'm just answering as per the subject. I'm saying in Islam, alcohol is haraam, it is forbidden. I gave verses in the Quran to this effect. Of course some Muslims indulge in alcohol consumption, yet they know it is forbidden. But what I said the "BIGGEST", Islam has created the biggest society of teetollers in the world. They are the majority of those who don't indulge in alcohol. If some Muslims do not follow this, does not mean is allowed. This is their choice. They know it is wrong. This is between them and God. The Quran clearly states the lawful and unlawful actions and all humans must follow this Law of God which is known as the 'Shariah' or Islamic Law. But if they don't, no one can force them. It only means they don't believe as the verse says: Quran Chapter 5 verse 90: " O Ye who believe! Intoxicants and Gambling, Sacrificing to Stones, and (divination by) Arrows, are an abomination, of Satan's handiwork; Keep away from such, that Ye may prosper." @Masukuma, remember in every community there are black sheep but on the basis of these black sheep we can't say that the whole community is wrong. @Lolest! Bible condemns wine. If you believe in it, then you should follow. But if you don't then you disobey. Romans 14:21 -> It is good not to eat meat or drink wine or do anything that causes your brother to stumble.Proverbs 31:6-7 -> Give strong drink to the one who is perishing, and wine to those in bitter distress; let them drink and forget their poverty and remember their misery no moreProverbs 20:1 -> Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.1 Peter 5:8 -> Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.And for @Masukuma, @washiku and @dia you are arguing that drunkedness is not drinking wine. Up to you how you interpret it. To me drunkardness is as a result of drinking something with alcohol in it. @Mukiri do you believe? You don't really believe that the Bible is the word of God. It is just there for adornment, for beautification. Things that God said in the old testament and the thing Jesus (pbuh) said, no you are not prepared to do that. God set out the commandments in the old testament, that is why you still quote the ten commandments. And Jesus didn't come to change that law, Matt 5:17 he says: " Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets; I am not come to destroy but to fullfil. For verilly, I tell you, till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no way pass from the law, till all is fullfilled. Whosoever, therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven" Has the world ended? Where are the Christians who follow the law and the commandments? Universally, they reject the laws and the commandments. And now you @Mukiri you say you are not bound by the law, that you are living in the grace, as Paul taught you. According to Jesus, you're worthless rubbish, even if you break one of these least commandments, you're not his follower. In conclusionI'm not speaking on behalf of anybody. I'm speaking on behalf of myself. I follow the teachings of the books of God: - Torah given to Moses (pbuh) - Zabur given to David (pbuh) - Injeel given to Jesus (pbuh) - Quran given to Muhammad (pbuh) So I rest my case.
tough being a Blackman. What's our forefathers opinions regarding alcohol ? work to prosper
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Tokyo wrote: tough being a Blackman. What's our forefathers opinions regarding alcohol ?
When did Man discover alcohol?
AlphDoti wrote:@washiku I think I answered your question in my post #7@Zanze show me where I've said all muslims follow everything Quran says. You see @Wilyam asked " what is the place of alcohol in Islam and CHristianity". I'm just answering as per the subject. I'm saying in Islam, alcohol is haraam, it is forbidden. I gave verses in the Quran to this effect. Of course some Muslims indulge in alcohol consumption, yet they know it is forbidden. But what I said the "BIGGEST", Islam has created the biggest society of teetollers in the world. They are the majority of those who don't indulge in alcohol. If some Muslims do not follow this, does not mean is allowed. This is their choice. They know it is wrong. This is between them and God. The Quran clearly states the lawful and unlawful actions and all humans must follow this Law of God which is known as the 'Shariah' or Islamic Law. But if they don't, no one can force them. It only means they don't believe as the verse says: Quran Chapter 5 verse 90: " O Ye who believe! Intoxicants and Gambling, Sacrificing to Stones, and (divination by) Arrows, are an abomination, of Satan's handiwork; Keep away from such, that Ye may prosper." @Masukuma, remember in every community there are black sheep but on the basis of these black sheep we can't say that the whole community is wrong. @Lolest! Bible condemns wine. If you believe in it, then you should follow. But if you don't then you disobey. Romans 14:21 -> It is good not to eat meat or drink wine or do anything that causes your brother to stumble.Proverbs 31:6-7 -> Give strong drink to the one who is perishing, and wine to those in bitter distress; let them drink and forget their poverty and remember their misery no moreProverbs 20:1 -> Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.1 Peter 5:8 -> Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.And for @Masukuma, @washiku and @dia you are arguing that drunkedness is not drinking wine. Up to you how you interpret it. To me drunkardness is as a result of drinking something with alcohol in it. @Mukiri do you believe? You don't really believe that the Bible is the word of God. It is just there for adornment, for beautification. Things that God said in the old testament and the thing Jesus (pbuh) said, no you are not prepared to do that. God set out the commandments in the old testament, that is why you still quote the ten commandments. And Jesus didn't come to change that law, Matt 5:17 he says: " Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets; I am not come to destroy but to fullfil. For verilly, I tell you, till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no way pass from the law, till all is fullfilled. Whosoever, therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven" Has the world ended? Where are the Christians who follow the law and the commandments? Universally, they reject the laws and the commandments. And now you @Mukiri you say you are not bound by the law, that you are living in the grace, as Paul taught you. According to Jesus, you're worthless rubbish, even if you break one of these least commandments, you're not his follower. In conclusionI'm not speaking on behalf of anybody. I'm speaking on behalf of myself. I follow the teachings of the books of God: - Torah given to Moses (pbuh) - Zabur given to David (pbuh) - Injeel given to Jesus (pbuh) - Quran given to Muhammad (pbuh) So I rest my case. Enda osha reverse yako boss. Remember left hand. Then do your people the same favors you do us, by reciting the Bible, in your mosque.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Kila mwamba ngoma, ngozi huivutia kwake; Most interpret their holy books to suit their present comforts, otherwise following those books would mean we go back to living in the deserts 2000 or 1400 years back.
Yawn!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
AlphDoti wrote:@washiku I think I answered your question in my post #7@Zanze show me where I've said all muslims follow everything Quran says. You see @Wilyam asked " what is the place of alcohol in Islam and CHristianity". I'm just answering as per the subject. I'm saying in Islam, alcohol is haraam, it is forbidden. I gave verses in the Quran to this effect. Of course some Muslims indulge in alcohol consumption, yet they know it is forbidden. But what I said the "BIGGEST", Islam has created the biggest society of teetollers in the world. They are the majority of those who don't indulge in alcohol. If some Muslims do not follow this, does not mean is allowed. This is their choice. They know it is wrong. This is between them and God. The Quran clearly states the lawful and unlawful actions and all humans must follow this Law of God which is known as the 'Shariah' or Islamic Law. But if they don't, no one can force them. It only means they don't believe as the verse says: Quran Chapter 5 verse 90: " O Ye who believe! Intoxicants and Gambling, Sacrificing to Stones, and (divination by) Arrows, are an abomination, of Satan's handiwork; Keep away from such, that Ye may prosper." @Masukuma, remember in every community there are black sheep but on the basis of these black sheep we can't say that the whole community is wrong. @Lolest! Bible condemns wine. If you believe in it, then you should follow. But if you don't then you disobey. Romans 14:21 -> It is good not to eat meat or drink wine or do anything that causes your brother to stumble.Proverbs 31:6-7 -> Give strong drink to the one who is perishing, and wine to those in bitter distress; let them drink and forget their poverty and remember their misery no moreProverbs 20:1 -> Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.1 Peter 5:8 -> Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.And for @Masukuma, @washiku and @dia you are arguing that drunkedness is not drinking wine. Up to you how you interpret it. To me drunkardness is as a result of drinking something with alcohol in it. @Mukiri do you believe? You don't really believe that the Bible is the word of God. It is just there for adornment, for beautification. Things that God said in the old testament and the thing Jesus (pbuh) said, no you are not prepared to do that. God set out the commandments in the old testament, that is why you still quote the ten commandments. And Jesus didn't come to change that law, Matt 5:17 he says: " Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets; I am not come to destroy but to fullfil. For verilly, I tell you, till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no way pass from the law, till all is fullfilled. Whosoever, therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven" Has the world ended? Where are the Christians who follow the law and the commandments? Universally, they reject the laws and the commandments. And now you @Mukiri you say you are not bound by the law, that you are living in the grace, as Paul taught you. According to Jesus, you're worthless rubbish, even if you break one of these least commandments, you're not his follower. In conclusionI'm not speaking on behalf of anybody. I'm speaking on behalf of myself. I follow the teachings of the books of God: - Torah given to Moses (pbuh) - Zabur given to David (pbuh) - Injeel given to Jesus (pbuh) - Quran given to Muhammad (pbuh) So I rest my case. drunkenness is the state of being intoxicated; intoxication. Jesus drunk!! its recorded in scripture. Matthew in Chapter 11 wrote: 16 “To what can I compare this generation? They are like children sitting in the marketplaces and calling out to others:
17 “‘We played the pipe for you, and you did not dance; we sang a dirge, and you did not mourn.’ 18 For John came neither eating nor drinking, and they say, ‘He has a demon.’ 19 The Son of Man came eating and drinking, and they say, ‘Here is a glutton and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners.’ But wisdom is proved right by her deeds.”
As I said - I personally don't drink! but I have studied the gospel enough to know that the abstention of alcohol is something you opt in but is not dedicated to by scripture. if you dig deep enough you will realize that good ol' religion evangelists such as Charles Haddon Spurgeon partook of the fruit of the vine. Heck even during the Lord's supper Jesus told his disciples that he will not take it until they meet in God's kingdom Quote: I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father's kingdom.
so.... Who are you to argue with Jesus on Christianity but kwa sababu sio lazima - mimi sinywi coz I have seen the bad effect of alcohol in society. Muhammad must have seen the same. it adds nothing and takes away a lot. perhaps the reason people in palestine used to drink wine was because the water was not safe to drink. but hey Jesus asked the samaritan woman for 'water' not wine... so let's just agree to disagree that the bible does not ban the use of alcohol. Even paul asks Timothy to use it for his ailment (ama he meant for Timothy to apply it like ointment?) All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
whats the place of alcohol in christianity/islam?