wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

7 Pages«<23456>»
Safaricom at 10 Bob ?
stocksmaster
#61 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 11:02:56 AM

the deal wrote:
This is an interesting story on SCOM...if its true then its not good news at all http://www.businessdaily...0/-/wp471e/-/index.html

The dynamics will change the moment SCOM starts sharing its mobile money platform with other players.

I doubt their will be any shairing of mobile money platform. Its like forcing dstv to share premier league rights with Zuku or forcing Brookside to share some of its milk suppliers with KCC. Remember mpesa is not even owned by safaricom but by vodafone.

Happy hunting.
Metasploit
#62 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 11:05:18 AM

stocksmaster wrote:
the deal wrote:
This is an interesting story on SCOM...if its true then its not good news at all http://www.businessdaily...0/-/wp471e/-/index.html

The dynamics will change the moment SCOM starts sharing its mobile money platform with other players.

I doubt their will be any shairing of mobile money platform. Its like forcing dstv to share premier league rights with Zuku or forcing Brookside to share some of its milk suppliers with KCC. Remember mpesa is not even owned by safaricom but by vodafone.

Happy hunting.

My sentiments exactly!I send and receive money anywhere in Uganda and Tanzania via Mpesa.

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
mibbz
#63 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 12:09:58 PM

Finally exiting this elephant,6 years after IPO at 100% returns. This company has really tried and tested the patience of many investors;am glad i stood firm.
streetwise
#64 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 12:33:07 PM

Congrats it good to know when to quit and more so have the guts to do so...
#65 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 2:27:56 PM

Those who got in at sub 3.00 are smiling each day after reaping 300% capital gains
#66 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 2:38:05 PM

Sober wrote:
Those who got in at sub 3.00 are smiling each day after reaping 300% capital gains

Had bought a good junk at 2.8 bob way back. Dec last year sold half of holdings at 5.35 bob but i dont regret because i jumped into CFC Stanbic. Life continues
Aguytrying
#67 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 3:31:19 PM

Sober wrote:

Had bought a good junk at 2.8 bob way back. Dec last year sold half of holdings at 5.35 bob but i dont regret because i jumped into CFC Stanbic. Life continues

Obiero should read this.
I also bought some REA at 16.05 last year and sold at 19's. And now a takeover at 40.00. Life goes on
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mwekez@ji
#68 Posted : Thursday, November 21, 2013 4:18:10 PM

young
#69 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:49:57 AM

This no longer news, it has come to stay.
It will be prety difficult to get the superbrand
less than 10 bob .

The 3 stars are still attractive for 2014 with the minimum
price targets

Safaricom. 15 bob
HFCK. 45 bob
Panafric. 120 bob

My entry prices for the 3 early July this year are
Safaricom entry 6.20
HFCK entry 24.50
Panafric entry 57.50

For a long termer like me , my eye is on dividend yield
primarily with long term capital gains as the icing
on the cake.

It makes me remember my ride a few years back
with EABL at 180, NMG at 160, JUB at 150
sometimes there is turbulence or stagnation(like
EABL which to me signify a buy opportunity ), KCB at 18, but with blue chips the
patient dog will always eat the fattest bone.

I am not against speculation ie jumping here and
there for capital gains, but it does not pay me.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#70 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:18:40 PM

young wrote:
hisah wrote:
10/- will likely be tested tomorrow. But maintaining that level will need impressive PBT as well as a div pay hike to 40cts or more as well as rosy mgmt guideline outlook esp on cashflow.

My PBT expectation is 15 - 20% growth (H1 10% and H2 20%) as well as EPS for full year. For H1 I'll be scanning revenues and mpesa growth plus its spinned product mshwari. Mbenki by kcb will be captured in H2. Btw H2 is usually stronger than H1.

I know you are a witty guy @hisah but you
will get it wrong when the results are out.
Safaricom is now a super brand, the most
highly capitalized stock with much leg room
for growth, the toast of foreigners. While
locals are selling foreigners including my tiny
self are taking positions for long term benefits.
You will see Mpesa at 10 this year, 15 in
2014 and even more growth a few years after.
It is a counter you can buy and go to sleep
at least in the next 3 years whether in terms of
income for long termers or capital gain for
speculators.
My advise to speculators is do not
jump ship fast, realise the full potentials
before taking profits, a bountiful one.
It will be interesting within 2 years to go
from say 5 bob in early 2013 to 15 bob in
late 2014 than to jump now from 5 to 9.7
You guys are always in a hurry to take
profits , the typical wananchi way to jump
to another counter.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#71 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:29:25 PM

I just needed to cheer this performance,
on the back of an focussed, tested, proven method,
you would make any long term investor proud...
young wrote:
This no longer news, it has come to stay.
It will be prety difficult to get the superbrand
less than 10 bob .

The 3 stars are still attractive for 2014 with the minimum
price targets

Safaricom. 15 bob
HFCK. 45 bob
Panafric. 120 bob

My entry prices for the 3 early July this year are
Safaricom entry 6.20
HFCK entry 24.50
Panafric entry 57.50

For a long termer like me , my eye is on dividend yield
primarily with long term capital gains as the icing
on the cake.

It makes me remember my ride a few years back
with EABL at 180, NMG at 160, JUB at 150
sometimes there is turbulence or stagnation(like
EABL which to me signify a buy opportunity ), KCB at 18, but with blue chips the
patient dog will always eat the fattest bone.

I am not against speculation ie jumping here and
there for capital gains, but it does not pay me.

hisah
#72 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 7:52:03 PM

young wrote:
hisah wrote:
10/- will likely be tested tomorrow. But maintaining that level will need impressive PBT as well as a div pay hike to 40cts or more as well as rosy mgmt guideline outlook esp on cashflow.

My PBT expectation is 15 - 20% growth (H1 10% and H2 20%) as well as EPS for full year. For H1 I'll be scanning revenues and mpesa growth plus its spinned product mshwari. Mbenki by kcb will be captured in H2. Btw H2 is usually stronger than H1.

I know you are a witty guy @hisah but you
will get it wrong when the results are out.
Safaricom is now a super brand, the most
highly capitalized stock with much leg room
for growth, the toast of foreigners. While
locals are selling foreigners including my tiny
self are taking positions for long term benefits.
You will see Mpesa at 10 this year, 15 in
2014 and even more growth a few years after.
It is a counter you can buy and go to sleep
at least in the next 3 years whether in terms of
income for long termers or capital gain for
speculators.
My advise to speculators is do not
jump ship fast, realise the full potentials
before taking profits, a bountiful one.
It will be interesting within 2 years to go
from say 5 bob in early 2013 to 15 bob in
late 2014 than to jump now from 5 to 9.7
You guys are always in a hurry to take
profits , the typical wananchi way to jump
to another counter.

Yes @mzee young smile

The results beat my forecasts and I admitted that the cashflow bazooka would keep the bid pressure on mpesa bank. As a trader I don't stick with counters for too long as I'm always looking for the next big move. Same market different investment goals. And I've been stuck in this mpesa bank bus for a long while for a trader game. Will be offloading the remaining 40% holding next year as we approach FY. The only long term play I have is CFC.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Metasploit
#73 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 8:23:42 PM

Safaricom has posted a very muscular price performance this week and cut through 10.00 like a hot knife through butter and this is certainly testament to the fact that international investors have liked what they have heard from CEO Bob Collymore who is currently on an investor relations road show - See more at: http://the-star.co.ke/ne...350#sthash.fyCsOHdR.dpuf

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
young
#74 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:56:25 PM

Greetings @hisah the great.
Hakuna matata
#75 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:26:03 PM

great.patience pays.
#76 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 6:02:06 AM

Closed at 11.00/- yesterday, this will be one interesting week
hisah
#77 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 6:26:22 AM

young wrote:
Greetings @hisah the great.
Hakuna matata

Hisah not great, just experienced.

Btw 14 is a realistic target assuming the current PER is maintained by bid pressure with an EPS growth of 30%. That means EPS comes in at KES 0.56 which sees the price extension towards 14 - 14.50 level.

After blowing off 10, I don't expect wanjikus to chase it and it'll be evident in the financial booklet stock holder section with holdings reducing. Bluechips normally have few wanjikus holding their stock as they see it to be expensive.

Breaking 7.50 (multi year resistance/IPO sell deluge zone) was very significant as it triggered a bullish trend shift.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#78 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 6:58:00 AM

Closed at 11.00/- yesterday, this will be one interesting week

Closed @10.95 with a high of 11.05. Solid bid pressure...
#79 Posted : Sunday, December 01, 2013 1:13:13 PM

thanks for the good advice.I will hold on to them.

#80 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 4:14:23 AM