wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

3 Pages<123
Best Shuttle to & fro South Coast
#41 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 4:14:56 PM

Modern COast responds

the power of Social media

http://whatifkenya.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/modern-coast-express-responds-is-this-enough/
chevapravatdumrong
#42 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 5:05:53 PM

winston wrote:
Have had two nasty experiences with modern coast. Thot i was the only one. First we booked the whole bus as a company for a trip to mombasa. The 'aircon' bus had no 'aircon' and the windows werent designed to let in fresh air. It was one hell of a stuffy ride. We complained and were given an aircon one on our way back.

Second incident...I was travelling solo to mombasa...the bus I was given was so worn-out I wondered whether it had been retrieved from the salvage heap.

Vowed never ever again.

Seems tuko wengi. Those buses may look impressively flashy and shiny from outside, but once you get inside, you start wondering why it costs 1700/- for the cheapest seat (Oxygen). The interior is so stuffy, with insufficient air vents for natural air flow. The seats are not even that comfortable. The air conditioning (when it works) consists of passengers getting blasted by jets of stinging cold air.

A Google search for Modern Coast complaints led me here -->mteja.org and I was hardly surprised at all the rants targeted at Modern Coast.

Enyewe, all that glitters is not gold.
You find me offensive? I find you offensive for finding me offensive
Prime
#43 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 5:52:07 PM

Theu wrote:
Siringi wrote:
@simonkabz and @ leona could be most resourceful here

the only bus i used to know of that crosses to Ukunda is 2mk na ni mkebe

most buses terminate @island then you take a taxi to south coast or cross ferry halafu south coast matatus (not recommended the Likoni termini both sides is a small Nyamakima / Machakos
Pollmans and tourist shuttles yes.

How come nobody is mentioning my favourite bus MASHsmile solid reliable and have the best / safest receptions / waiting areas especially for newbies and those with cargo and kids

Trouble with buses is you dont know which one shall be allocated unless you are a keen traveller and you grill the booking guys mzuri

Took a ride on Modern coast having admired some on the road . . . Bill ya chiropractor nayoSad Sad Sad they do have some very only buses chunga sana.

Those mboyz talking ill of Chania siyui Channia Shame on you Shame on you wacha one of these days you find all the others full booked for 1 week. Utajua 2NK pia huenda pwani

Simba pia iko plying cross-country. Keep your options open and book in time

Also try the train and report backsmile smile

you could also carpool and drive you get to enjoy better

Shame on you Shame on you MASH hapana iko wadudu! (bedbugs)

I stopped using mash some 6 months ago. the bus was brand new, laxadonta, but the seats!!! woi!! The neck support was horrible. One had to place a jumper behind the neck. Got to mombasa feeling so kwishad!! I informed them on their facebook page. Not sure whether anything was done.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:20:14 PM

radio wrote:
The most annoying bit is the fact that she is the ONLY one among the rest of pax who dared to bring this out.

What does that say about kenyans? We accept mediocre service,accept to be conned and keep mum because we've got other things to do.
How else will services be improved if we don't complain?

Kudos Brave lady and shame to that CARBON-MONOXIDE BUS.

Very true we (me included at times) dont like standing up for what is right and what we deserve thats why you get someone being treated unfairly and everyone is just watching...no one utters a word.If you are entitled to get a certain service make sure you are sorted out,thats the only way the concerned party will change,thats the only way service providers will up their game...

I agree with you guys.

We need to insist on good service for ourselves and others.

For example, I noticed this supermarket teller asking a lady to stand there and wait since she was insisting on getting her coins. An bitter exchange resulted when the lady rejected sweets for change. You know how they start serving the next customer while you wait. Unlucky for the teller, I was next. I said I am not ready/ can wait to be served till she gets change for her. I have never seen a more pissed off. If we all as customers supported each other change won't be far away!

#hatuchezismile
#45 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:36:50 PM

Ouch, inaonekana ni tabia mbaya wanazo kweli.
#46 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:24:59 PM

carygoh wrote:
[quote=jguru]Try Modern Coast.

They have some buses they call Oxygen.

They are online here: http://www.moderncoastexpress.com/

You can book a ticket online here: http://www.modern.co.ke/[/quote]

Thanks jguru. I like the Oxygen bus vybe.

Guys, would anyone know between Coast Air and Modern Air, why one and not the other?

Modern coast have got first and biz class,if you get seat no. 11 you pay biz class price but the comfort ni ya first class

Thanks Carygoh. How do you compare your experience with the many accusations against Modern Coast?
#47 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:31:13 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
You may wanna have a look at this and this one too as you plan and decide.

That is bad...I have noticed there is a lot of misselling going on in this country...from banks to telecos...that lady did the right thing atleast she stood up and was counted.

Very bad indeed. My experience with coast bus back in the day left a very bitter taste in my mouth too, hapo karibu na ofisi yao ya mwembe tayari.

Major thanks for this. By these experiences I guess Spanish for a bus ride is a safer bet?..
#48 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 10:40:29 PM

carygoh wrote:
jguru wrote:
Try Modern Coast. They have some buses they call Oxygen.

Guys, would anyone know between Coast Air and Modern Air, why one and not the other?

Modern coast have got first and biz class,if you get seat no. 11 you pay biz class price but the comfort ni ya first class

Thanks Carygoh. How do you compare your experience with the many accusations against Modern Coast?

Let me talk about my experience: I traveled with Modern about 3 years ago. They had just started out, so the trip was really good. I am shocked to read about their issues!

I've used Mash to go to Malindi. Can't complain too.

Though I prefer to travel at night so that I can sleep and I'm fresh and active the next day. I might have missed a lot of the unpleasantness in my slumber. I only wake up to pee at Mtito (I have a prostate the size of a golf ball, but that's a story for another day). smile
Prime
#49 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 1:07:58 PM

deleted
Prime
#50 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 1:10:23 PM

deleted
#51 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 1:30:27 PM

jguru wrote:
carygoh wrote:
jguru wrote:
Try Modern Coast. They have some buses they call Oxygen.

Let me talk about my experience: I traveled with Modern about 3 years ago. They had just started out, so the trip was really good. I am shocked to read about their issues!

I've used Mash to go to Malindi. Can't complain too.

Though I prefer to travel at night so that I can sleep and I'm fresh and active the next day. I might have missed a lot of the unpleasantness in my slumber. I only wake up to pee at Mtito (I have a prostate the size of a golf ball, but that's a story for another day). smile

And some were calling you a socket, in the 'Postponing nature' thread?d'oh!

#52 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 2:04:42 PM

JESUS!!! Pray Pray Pray
#53 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 4:13:05 PM

So Spanish bus last week won the best bus service for NRB-MSA route. The La Face AIRCON bus VIP seats look spacious, with Galaxy tabs etc
#54 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 12:10:48 AM

Trouble in paradise.....

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/t1ft7i/-/index.html

The family of slain Mombasa tycoon Shahid Pervez Butt who owned Modern Coast bus service company has taken the battle for control of his Sh5 billion estate to court. Mrs Regine Butt, the deceased’s wife and her mother, Roselinde Gudrun Ostertag, have petitioned the court to grant them letters of administration to the tycoon’s estate until a long-term administrator is found.

Mrs Regine Butt is also seeking to be paid Sh1.5 million monthly from bank accounts, incomes and profits of Modern Coast Express Limited and Vantage Road Transporters Limited for upkeep and maintenance.

The demise of MCBC is nigh!