wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
African Proverbs... and their meanings
#101 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:25:27 PM

Proverb: The person who goes (to war) is similar to the one who remains behind.

Meaning: Since death is the ultimate end of everyone,
whether you go on a dangerous mission or you seek the safety of home you cannot escape death.
This is an encouragement to people undertaking difficult or dangerous tasks.
On the other hand, someone who is determined to take risks can use this proverb to those who try to dissuade him.
#102 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:29:20 PM

Provide: When helping a cow to stand we do it from behind so that it can stand with its front legs.

Meaning: A cow which cannot stand with its front legs when being supported deserves to be slaughtered. Similarly a person who does not give the slightest worry to his problems when others are striving to help him deserves to be abandoned to his own fate.
#103 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:04:38 PM

Proverb: The person who goes (to war) is similar to the one who remains behind.

Meaning: Since death is the ultimate end of everyone,
whether you go on a dangerous mission or you seek the safety of home you cannot escape death.
This is an encouragement to people undertaking difficult or dangerous tasks.
On the other hand, someone who is determined to take risks can use this proverb to those who try to dissuade him.

This one must be from Somali or Afghan, sindio?d'oh!

#104 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:24:38 PM

Are we now on proverbs or still at African proverbs?
#105 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:51:28 PM

What do you think we are on? Didn't you read the subject? Don't you have your own, somebody asked you this before.

Proverb: You should not be proud of a locust's head.
Meaning: Someone should show humility if they wish to be respected.
#106 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:16:40 PM

“When a child is cutting a tree in the forest, it is the elders who know in what direction it will fall”-- BBC World News, Today's African Proverb.
#107 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:32:39 PM

What do you think we are on? Didn't you read the subject? Don't you have your own, somebody asked you this before.

hahahaha, I can see it's by the any means, hata through the backdoor, sawa lakini!
oltome
#108 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:35:59 PM

This one is self exploratory
'A child can play with its mother’s breasts, but not its father’s testicles'
oltome
#109 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:38:32 PM

So is this one from Ghana
“It requires a lot of carefulness to kill the fly that perches on the scrotum”
oltome
#110 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:41:09 PM

An 'obscene' one from the Igbo brodas
“Unless it dies young, the penis shall surely eat bearded meat” which when translated means that things happen in due course and there is no point in rushing to indulge in sexual activities
oltome
#111 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 5:46:47 PM

This i have 'Web-lifted'
In matters sexual the Kikuyu of Kenya have it all worked out. Pleasure can only be sexual; everything else is imitation, as the proverb suggests: “Mrio koragwa handu hamwe, ko kngi ni cama”, which in English is something along the line of “Pleasure is only at one spot, the rest is just sweet” is it so @Mukiri@njung'e
#112 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 6:05:20 PM

Shame on you This aggression is uncalled for. Atleast if we are to include proverbs from the taliban, its only fair to be told so.

You still haven't answered my questtion?

#113 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 6:13:49 PM

oltome wrote:
This i have 'Web-lifted'
In matters sexual the Kikuyu of Kenya have it all worked out. Pleasure can only be sexual; everything else is imitation, as the proverb suggests: “Mrio koragwa handu hamwe, ko kngi ni cama”, which in English is something along the line of “Pleasure is only at one spot, the rest is just sweet” is it so @Mukiri@njung'e

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Asi! Siyuid'oh! Guka?

#114 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 6:19:54 PM

Shame on you This aggression is uncalled for. Atleast if we are to include proverbs from the taliban, its only fair to be told so.

I didn't even mention his name but dude comes out guns blazing as guilty as they come......is it so difficult explaining the background of the proverbs and how they relate to Africa? NKT Kwani kila mahali lazima iwe militia?

#115 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 6:29:44 PM

@Mc yes what I've posted here is African.
@Mukiri is there anything to answer in your question? Maybe you want to make some fun, but it's misplaced. you never get out of your misconceptions and mistaken beliefs?
#116 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 6:34:34 PM

@Mukiri is there anything to answer in your question? Maybe you want to make some fun, but it's misplaced. you never get out of your misconceptions and mistaken beliefs?

Boss guys are qualifying their proverbs, Kikuyu, Luo, Oga, Ghanean etc....how about yours?
#117 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 9:06:33 PM

Ng'ombe iiragwo yaari iria yakua- People only talk about a cow's milk production after she dies.
#118 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 9:11:15 PM

Ukuru uriaga withi- (loosely) old age eats youthful days....Your decisions in your youthful days determine the kind of life you have in old age
#119 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 9:12:28 PM

Boss guys are qualifying their proverbs, Kikuyu, Luo, Oga, Ghanean etc....how about yours?

If I was to repeat his proverbs to my children, and they asked me from whence they came from and/or how they came about... what will I tell them?

#120 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 9:13:58 PM

Mti mkuu uangukapo ndege wamo mashakani- when the great tree falls all the birds that depend on it are left desolate