wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
Samsung or Sony 40 inch LED TV?
kiriita
#41 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 10:29:34 AM

So juzi i discovered a way of linking my galaxy tab to the smart TV. This means i can now watch HD 1080p content accessed on the tab from the web on the telly. It's just amazing to watch 1080p HD documentaries and movies on the telly. The picture quality is like the one you see hapo nakumatt kwa Samsung display. And now my DSTV which transmits at 320p & 480p looks like crap compared to the 1080p HD content.

A like for like comparison would probably be with DStv HD - not sure about the resolution specs but IMO Channel 180's (Discovery HD Showcase) picture and audio quality is right up there.
#42 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 1:42:14 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
mthaka wrote:
spend more time with the lady

the boeing needs an airport and landing rights that he has been denied.

ati no landing rights? I bought her a new fone, I took the old one. Surely that's guaranteed landings till Dec..smile the fone I got is the one causing a few disruption a d'oh!
#43 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 4:53:54 PM

kiriita wrote:
So juzi i discovered a way of linking my galaxy tab to the smart TV. This means i can now watch HD 1080p content accessed on the tab from the web on the telly. It's just amazing to watch 1080p HD documentaries and movies on the telly. The picture quality is like the one you see hapo nakumatt kwa Samsung display. And now my DSTV which transmits at 320p & 480p looks like crap compared to the 1080p HD content.

A like for like comparison would probably be with DStv HD - not sure about the resolution specs but IMO Channel 180's (Discovery HD Showcase) picture and audio quality is right up there.

@Jagger.. What were your discoveries? Did you use the USB cable, wifi, Bluetooth ?
#44 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 5:13:22 PM

mpobiz wrote:
kiriita wrote:

@Jagger.. What were your discoveries? Did you use the USB cable, wifi, Bluetooth ?

Samsung devices can connect directly to each other using 'allshare'. Additionally a smart tv is wifi enabled and thus can access and play content directly from the web. I have wifi which i use to connect to the net.
#45 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 5:15:40 PM

kiriita wrote:

HD tv broadcasts are normally 720p.
#46 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 7:45:14 PM

kiriita wrote:

HD tv broadcasts are normally 720p.

Some are actually in 1080p/i e.g NHK World which is available on FTA, Intelsat 20.
#47 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 7:48:33 PM

mpobiz wrote:
kiriita wrote:

Samsung devices can connect directly to each other using 'allshare'. Additionally a smart tv is wifi enabled and thus can access and play content directly from the web. I have wifi which i use to connect to the net.

Inaitwa DLNA technology.

An alternative rink.
Caramba
#48 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 8:45:16 PM

The price of Smart TV's indicated in this post make me go green with envy. I forked 100k for a 40 inchSony Bravia at Anisuma's back in 2008. A 32 inch Samsung was then going for 90k.

My dilema at that time was whether to stick to my 24 inch JVC and wait a couple of years for the prices to fall. Some good investment had generated windfall profits and so I gave away the JVC and bought the Sony.

I however can't complain about the service the Bravia has given me. 5 years and still pleasant viewing.
#49 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 11:47:17 PM

Caramba wrote:
The price of Smart TV's indicated in this post make me go green with envy. I forked 100k for a 40 inchSony Bravia at Anisuma's back in 2008. A 32 inch Samsung was then going for 90k.

My dilema at that time was whether to stick to my 24 inch JVC and wait a couple of years for the prices to fall. Some good investment had generated windfall profits and so I gave away the JVC and bought the Sony.

I however can't complain about the service the Bravia has given me. 5 years and still pleasant viewing.

Reminds me of the first time I ever saw a DVD player. Twas in a nation newspaper, soon after I had cleared high school, and the price tag was 80k. barely 5yrs later as I finished college, I was able to acquire one for about 8k at the time.
Mpenzi
#50 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 8:07:44 AM

I realise there may be different things each is strong at, but which is better? Sony smart tv or Samsung smart tv?
#51 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 8:58:47 AM

nunua shamba bwana.. js buy a simple 28''

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
bird_man
#52 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 9:57:39 AM

This is the doppest technology.Its called DNLA & the TV doesn't have to be a Samsung,most Tvs above say 50K & with Wifi have this....although its easier to connect & share with a Samsung TV when you have so many Samsung devices.

I personally want a Media Box instead. This allows me to use my old Bravia LCD & I'm sort of future proofed.RINK HAPA

All these makes you wonder where we are headed to!A TV was just a TV...now u have QaudCore phones....Quadcore Tablets....DualCore Tvs....damn!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#53 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 1:04:57 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
I realise there may be different things each is strong at, but which is better? Sony smart tv or Samsung smart tv?

A simple test will help you determine this. Take a flash disk and copy into it different video & audio formats e.g .flv, .mp4, .mkv, .mp3, .FLAC, .AAC, .wmv, .avi, .divx, etc.

Armed with this, go and test out which tv will be able to play most or all of these video formats. If you have one or two external HDD to spare, carry them along. Have them split into 2 or 3 partitions each with one formatted in NTFS and the other in FAT32. Again, whichever tv is able to 'see' all the partitions regardless of formatting 'language' should be your tv of choice.

For me, last time I carried out these tests (early last year), Samsung won hands down. Sony (both tv & home theatre) wouldn't even play a simple .avi file on USB yet this is the format most commonly used in movie files. It, too, wouldn't play .mkv files, the format most commonly used in HD videos and BRRip movies. For that reason, I gave Sony a wide berth. Try it, may be they have since upped their game.
Mpenzi
#54 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 2:50:31 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

A simple test will help you determine this. Take a flash disk and copy into it different video & audio formats e.g .flv, .mp4, .mkv, .mp3, .FLAC, .AAC, .wmv, .avi, .divx, etc.

Armed with this, go and test out which tv will be able to play most or all of these video formats. If you have one or two external HDD to spare, carry them along. Have them split into 2 or 3 partitions each with one formatted in NTFS and the other in FAT32. Again, whichever tv is able to 'see' all the partitions regardless of formatting 'language' should be your tv of choice.

For me, last time I carried out these tests (early last year), Samsung won hands down. Sony (both tv & home theatre) wouldn't even play a simple .avi file on USB yet this is the format most commonly used in movie files. It, too, wouldn't play .mkv files, the format most commonly used in HD videos and BRRip movies. For that reason, I gave Sony a wide berth. Try it, may be they have since upped their game.

Thanks but can you please break it down for some of us who who have little knowledge of computer programming.
MistaDoms
#55 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 10:48:52 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

Thanks but can you please break it down for some of us who who have little knowledge of computer programming.

Haha, #nerdtalk
XSK
#56 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 1:50:49 PM

@jaggernaut

Your Samsung smart TV is wifi enabled. It should access the web directly. You can search on you tube for clips and enjoy it directly on the big screen. As for the connection to a smart phone, you can use that to access content on your phone e.g some wedding recording you need to enjoy on a big screen.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#57 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 7:29:17 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Mpenzi wrote:

Uh oh, sorry I missed this. Ok, here goes:

If you have n external HDD and you format or partition it using windows pc, it'll have been formatted in NTFS format which is the default for Windows OS. If you wanna do it in FAT32, you'll have to use an external software such as partition magic or the software that comes with the original Transcend external HDD, etc. By default, flash disks are in FAT format too.

DexLegend
#58 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 11:26:07 PM

Smart TV?Shame on you Shame on you Don't buy into those gimmicks...Just buy a good TV that supports the DLNA standard, after that you can access even more content through your devices. The Bravia W-series line doesn't look too bad in my opinion. If i were TV hunting at the moment, here's what i would look for:

1.) Contrast ratio
2.) Viewing angles
3.) Playable file formats
4.) Screen refresh rate (200hz+)
5.) Overall design Drool

Cheers!
Listen Grasshopper...
omhangla
#59 Posted : Thursday, May 01, 2014 7:35:37 PM

recently bought the samsung 40 inch lED 1080 HD TV but am not satisified with it. the picture looks just blurry sometimes its grainy, even when using the HDMI option to view a movie. the problem is witnessed both on DSTV, analog and when watching a movie. is it me who has not put the correct settings or what? please help
#60 Posted : Thursday, May 01, 2014 9:30:35 PM

omhangla wrote:
recently bought the samsung 40 inch lED 1080 HD TV but am not satisified with it. the picture looks just blurry sometimes its grainy, even when using the HDMI option to view a movie. the problem is witnessed both on DSTV, analog and when watching a movie. is it me who has not put the correct settings or what? please help

Visit the website http://lcdtvbuyingguide.com/ for a guide on how to properly calibrate your screen for optimal viewing.