Market
Pennywise
SAFARICON SLAVERY
9 years after the liberasation of the mobile phone indurstry we are still paying 8-20 bob per minute while the average in asian countries is 1bob.impotent Zain failed to save us but now we have the saviors in Orange and YU at 1bob and 50cts pm and yet we dont want to let go of this monster thats eating into our meagre resources called safaricon. A 250 bob card cant even last a day is anyone seething with anger like me. Lets start from family level everyone buy a YU or O range phone and keep the green card for Mpesa only then lets c how they make the 17billion as kenyans starve to death. i HAVE ONE YU LINE NOW
It is not all about the cost,you see the marketing geniuses at safaricom have made it more than a mobile services provider,they have made it a lifestyle kenyans can't do without!
Mpesa,bonga points,please call me,3G,okoa jahazi,etc etc. Nobody has been able to compete with that so far...
Be the change you want to see in the world...
some people are ignorant,others loyal,patriotic or sufficiently philanthropic. I used to call my lady every every evening,zain to zain @3bob. Everytime i would spend between 140/ - 180/. After two weeks i surrendered,and bought her a simple phone worth ksh 1500/ hooked up with a yu line. I hardly spend 50/ on yu to yu on any evening. Those who want to continue paying through the nose to safaricom,its their choice. I NEVER make any safaricom to safaricom calls. I only use it for mpesa. If i need to call someone on safaricom,i use my yu line and the conversation is usually very brief
'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2008 Posts: 851 Location: nairobi
The safari con network is weak in my rural home. I could hardly communicate with my mum so i hooked her on yu. For 20 bob a day i can afford to catch up on the village gossip not to mention the very good reception.
Muthonwa a Agikuyu
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
forgive my ignorance.... kwani how much does YU charge...? i am still suffering.... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
7.50/min to any network,7.50/min on yu to yu for two minutes (cumulative),then 0.50cents/min from 61st sec till 12am
'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,222 Location: Nairobi
Dont forget the unlimited free sms on YU-YU... Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
The only way to beat safcon is to match their innovation in products and services,not irrational tariffs. Zain learnt this the hard way...
Be the change you want to see in the world...
Rank: Member Joined: 9/12/2009 Posts: 236 Location: Nairobi
I would really like to move from this slavery,but i risk losing my contacts! bcoz i have had my safcom line for 9yrs now. Better put your money where your mouth is...
@josey,activate the 'imoved' service from yu....http://yu.co.ke/templates/corporate/images/imoved/imoved.html
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
I have tried going to Yu but safaricom has better services which u can not get in other networks.Safaricom has a very good R&D department that keeps me hooked to them. you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ) '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
@Selah - you talk of R&D yet they are matched toe to toe on every product if you investigate,stop being rigid and take a chance you might just be suprised
Hate me or love me I rule!!
Rumour has it that number portability is finally on the way probably by March 2010 despite stiff opposition from Safcon. This will allow one to move from one network to another with the same number. E.g. If your Safcon number is 0722-123456,you can move with it to Zain,Orange or Yu.
All the same,the other networks desparately need to introduce innovative products and market them aggresively if they are to dent Safcon's dominance.
reithi
@ Akowally Are you sure Kencel came before Safcon? WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
This namba portability thing does not interest me much,yu will be aware of da network yu r calling hence no idea how much yu r being charged! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
As a caller,tariff transparency may be a concern but fear of being out-of-reach is the main reason that keeps us 'locked-in' Safcon.
Number portability will definitely turn up the heat on Safcon.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
everytime you want to migrate you think of a person who is trying calling you.. and the fear of being mteja hold you back.. When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,222 Location: Nairobi
I am curious... say i call a (former) safcon line from safcon... not knowing that jamaa has ported to Zain/Yu/Orange... how do I ensure I am not whacked for calling out-of-network? Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
This number portability wont help much,plus the startup charges will be prohibitive for the customer. The best solution is for cck to lower the interconnectivity charges from the current 4.42/ to the lowest possible amount,and also put a cap on cross network calls to less than 10/.
Market
Pennywise
SAFARICON SLAVERY