wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Shootout at Lavington...
sitaki.kujulikana
#21 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 9:22:12 PM

and the dreaded CCTV cameras? are we about to see what exactly went on.we are just reaping the fruits of corruption.

D+ Police recruits bribing their way into the force then accepting bribes to protect criminals. rotten failed state.

kudos recce squad though.

kwani recce si polisi jeshi.
#22 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 9:31:53 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
and the dreaded CCTV cameras? are we about to see what exactly went on.we are just reaping the fruits of corruption.

D+ Police recruits bribing their way into the force then accepting bribes to protect criminals. rotten failed state.

kudos recce squad though.

kwani recce si polisi jeshi.

they say ni special highly trained squad.that sets them apart from the D+ & below material whose job is to take bribes and grow potbellies.

Apologies to the few sharp honest policemen out there.

nzi moja huozesha kidonda.
Tokyo
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 1:59:09 AM

Kenya is becoming a very dangerous place.
work to prosper
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 8:01:11 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Cops took over 2 hrs trying in vain to take down the 3 thugs who had holed themselves in a Lavi house severely injuring the OCS and another officer; they took down one thug.

Recce guys were called in, stormed the hse and WITHIN A FEW MINUTES had killed the 2 remaining thugs thus ending the siege.

Applause Applause Applause still confuses me why they were ushered out of westgate...

The RECCE guys walk in and out of the battle zone as if its an hotel.

It is unfair for people to demonise the Police for doing their job by the book.

There are four levels of forces in the country. Lowest level are the administration police who used to report to chiefs and were rarely armed. Their training focussed on dealing with chicken thieves and village rapists. Next level is the police force, who are trained to maintain law and order, and protect lives and property. The third level are the special forces who deal with special situations and lastly there is the army who deal with transgressions against the country.

Each of these levels are trained differently and have a completely different mindset. For instance, the army has no regard for human life, and the enemy must be subdued, the special forces are a cross breed between the army and police.

Our four level system was altered when Mbugua tried to move the administration police from the first level to the third level through political patronage and better funding. But we either need to go back, or recreate this level with metropolitan police, now that we have county governments.

The situation at Mzima Springs was handled according to the book by the police, who called in the Recce when the situation became special.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:00:56 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
Cops took over 2 hrs trying in vain to take down the 3 thugs who had holed themselves in a Lavi house severely injuring the OCS and another officer; they took down one thug.

Recce guys were called in, stormed the hse and WITHIN A FEW MINUTES had killed the 2 remaining thugs thus ending the siege.

Applause Applause Applause still confuses me why they were ushered out of westgate...

There are four levels of forces in the country. Lowest level are the administration police who used to report to chiefs and were rarely armed. Their training focussed on dealing with chicken thieves and village rapists. Next level is the police force, who are trained to maintain law and order, and protect lives and property. The third level are the special forces who deal with special situations and lastly there is the army who deal with transgressions against the country.

Each of these levels are trained differently and have a completely different mindset. For instance, the army has no regard for human life, and the enemy must be subdued, the special forces are a cross breed between the army and police.

Our four level system was altered when Mbugua tried to move the administration police from the first level to the third level through political patronage and better funding. But we either need to go back, or recreate this level with metropolitan police, now that we have county governments.

The situation at Mzima Springs was handled according to the book by the police, who called in the Recce when the situation became special.

good point, guess its like complaining when you take a patient to a hospital and the duty nurse fails to operate on the brain to ease pressure, you then start blaming the nurse for incompetence and and lower grades scored at form 4.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:19:12 AM

Muthangari Police Station cops have simple skills: eat from matatus, eat from civilians and eat.

Surely you dont expect them to be able to stop crime.
Pedes
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:34:58 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

good point, guess its like complaining when you take a patient to a hospital and the duty nurse fails to operate on the brain to ease pressure, you then start blaming the nurse for incompetence and and lower grades scored at form 4.

Cops need more training more so in crime scene handling, crime analysis and crowd control.
The cops who responded at Westgate thought it was a robbery. I thought to myself when I first heard that those robbers are very daring to rob a place with limited exit routes.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 11:08:00 AM

Kwani these RECCE guys dont fear death. What do they smoke?

Nitafute.
avec
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 11:09:29 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

@gordon,you are a wise person.
CLK
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 1:21:55 PM

5 Pages<12345>