Culture
School fees 1.1m per term
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Is most expensive necessarily best quality? How do you define quality education? I think the aim of the high fees charged is to maintain exclusivity and thus attract a certain clientele. So do we have exclusive universities that admit these kids or they go to normal universities in the UK, USA and SA where they have to mix with the hollo polloi from those countries? maybe quality means exposure to different cultures, world citizen, trip sio uhuru park, they do Egypt..they play violin and have serious co-curricular activities. Someone told me that his kids will go to a top notch school so as to get into the right networks! If you are the ceo of a blue chip company earning millions, living in a 100m home in runda and driving a 20m range Rover from CMC you don't take your kids to some funny school where you pay 20k a term. Also you need to get your kids into the right networks since this will be very useful in their future. I watched some documentary where Russian, chinese and arab parents are paying millions to get their kids into top private schools in the UK eg Eton coz they know that those schools will produce the future leaders in politics ( including the UK PM), business etc. Sometimes it is a very wise move to have your kid as a desk mate to the future British prime minister, future king, head of BP etc. That investment will pay alot of dividends in future. Well spoken...Just like where we have our beers...If you usually have your beer at Njoguioni mbaa and lestolant, the people you meet there are hawkers, muggers, addicts etc . compare that to people you meet at Kempiaski. Which category of people are more useful?
I get it @jagger, but I wouldn't care much for kindergaten and 'primary' levels. Maybe from 'secondary'...
Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Is most expensive necessarily best quality? How do you define quality education? I think the aim of the high fees charged is to maintain exclusivity and thus attract a certain clientele. So do we have exclusive universities that admit these kids or they go to normal universities in the UK, USA and SA where they have to mix with the hollo polloi from those countries? maybe quality means exposure to different cultures, world citizen, trip sio uhuru park, they do Egypt..they play violin and have serious co-curricular activities. Someone told me that his kids will go to a top notch school so as to get into the right networks! If you are the ceo of a blue chip company earning millions, living in a 100m home in runda and driving a 20m range Rover from CMC you don't take your kids to some funny school where you pay 20k a term. Also you need to get your kids into the right networks since this will be very useful in their future. I watched some documentary where Russian, chinese and arab parents are paying millions to get their kids into top private schools in the UK eg Eton coz they know that those schools will produce the future leaders in politics ( including the UK PM), business etc. Sometimes it is a very wise move to have your kid as a desk mate to the future British prime minister, future king, head of BP etc. That investment will pay alot of dividends in future. Well spoken...Just like where we have our beers...If you usually have your beer at Njoguioni mbaa and lestolant, the people you meet there are hawkers, muggers, addicts etc . compare that to people you meet at Kempiaski. Which category of people are more useful? I read somewhere that when a son is born into any of the British aristocratic families, he's guaranteed a place at Eton and Oxford, whether they pass the exam or not, coz those institutions were created by King Edward in 1200 AD specifically to educate the sons of the monarchy and aristocracy. Later the son is required to inherit his father's estate and dukedom, and also his seat in the house of lords, the upper house of British Parliament. In other words you are born to rule.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Is most expensive necessarily best quality? How do you define quality education? I think the aim of the high fees charged is to maintain exclusivity and thus attract a certain clientele. So do we have exclusive universities that admit these kids or they go to normal universities in the UK, USA and SA where they have to mix with the hollo polloi from those countries? maybe quality means exposure to different cultures, world citizen, trip sio uhuru park, they do Egypt..they play violin and have serious co-curricular activities. Someone told me that his kids will go to a top notch school so as to get into the right networks! If you are the ceo of a blue chip company earning millions, living in a 100m home in runda and driving a 20m range Rover from CMC you don't take your kids to some funny school where you pay 20k a term. Also you need to get your kids into the right networks since this will be very useful in their future. I watched some documentary where Russian, chinese and arab parents are paying millions to get their kids into top private schools in the UK eg Eton coz they know that those schools will produce the future leaders in politics ( including the UK PM), business etc. Sometimes it is a very wise move to have your kid as a desk mate to the future British prime minister, future king, head of BP etc. That investment will pay alot of dividends in future. Well spoken...Just like where we have our beers...If you usually have your beer at Njoguioni mbaa and lestolant, the people you meet there are hawkers, muggers, addicts etc . compare that to people you meet at Kempiaski. Which category of people are more useful? imagine you are a major supplier of umbrellas and or miraa or mogoka ... where would you rather be?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
nakujua wrote:Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Is most expensive necessarily best quality? How do you define quality education? I think the aim of the high fees charged is to maintain exclusivity and thus attract a certain clientele. So do we have exclusive universities that admit these kids or they go to normal universities in the UK, USA and SA where they have to mix with the hollo polloi from those countries? maybe quality means exposure to different cultures, world citizen, trip sio uhuru park, they do Egypt..they play violin and have serious co-curricular activities. Someone told me that his kids will go to a top notch school so as to get into the right networks! If you are the ceo of a blue chip company earning millions, living in a 100m home in runda and driving a 20m range Rover from CMC you don't take your kids to some funny school where you pay 20k a term. Also you need to get your kids into the right networks since this will be very useful in their future. I watched some documentary where Russian, chinese and arab parents are paying millions to get their kids into top private schools in the UK eg Eton coz they know that those schools will produce the future leaders in politics ( including the UK PM), business etc. Sometimes it is a very wise move to have your kid as a desk mate to the future British prime minister, future king, head of BP etc. That investment will pay alot of dividends in future. Well spoken...Just like where we have our beers...If you usually have your beer at Njoguioni mbaa and lestolant, the people you meet there are hawkers, muggers, addicts etc . compare that to people you meet at Kempiaski. Which category of people are more useful? imagine you are a major supplier of umbrellas and or miraa or mogoka ... where would you rather be? ...Let money work for you ( I wish i had it to do it for me) ...As you play golf at Karen, the watu wa mkono wanakufanyia kazi. Do matatu owners drive those things?
Its been there since the 80s,
where are the alumni ? are they living life worth Kes 1.1M per month compared to the rest of us ?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Gathige wrote:That's the place KRA should be scouting to increase the tax revenue. They just need to look at the school register for details of who is who and then reconcile with their tax records. That would be easier than chasing landlords in Eastlands! kweli kabisa punda amecheka
Culture
School fees 1.1m per term