Culture
Scenic routes
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Mukiri wrote:First I'm hearing of it.. I admire miros. Maybe its their dare-devil attitude that makes their skin white. In South Sudan there is a couple that would tour the country. An old couple. And they'd do it just by themselves in a land-rover laden with all their camping gear. And this is amidst all the fighting, unrest etc, while the rest of us were fearful of leaving the camp for a drink 500metres away! Death wish? Someone once told me(please don't quote me), if you find yourself in an unsafe area, walk bodly... like you own the place I dunno if it works with wild animals/poachers.. they might think ' Huyu amefuluta kitu iko na mbegu and therefore, he's not fit for consumption ' Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool. Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers. The road is there and is the one tour vehicles (esp the ubiquitous nissan vans) use from Malindi. It is motorable in the dry season but a hot and dusty drive
For the Narobi lazy bums who cannot handle the real thing –country outdoors -try this halafu come back and thank me:Road test...Take Mombasa Rd A109 Till Cabanas; Take the left - Panda Gorofa ya Juu Airport North Rd aka Eastern Bypass ... Kanyaga mafuta kabisa As you approach the Thika highway A2 you have 2 choices: (1) – take the left panda gorofa ya juu cruise on the Thika Highway A2 till hapo New Muthaiga Hospital –sijasema Mathare, take extreme left so as to use the flyover to Muthaiga (Ngojea hapo ESSO Plaza- sorry Mobil – eh Oillibya Plaza..) Option 2 (2) Drive straight ahead along the easten bypass wacha A2 Thika highway ikipita juu ... Join Ruiru Kamiti Rd ..endelea and wander into Tatu City kumangamanga tu.. enjoy the coffee/tea farms and floriculture Back to the Ruiru –Kamiti Rd drive into Kiambu Town wachana na hiyo ya Kamiti Rd. Take the left along Kiambu back to Thika Highway ( Ribshack bado iko? Succulent Nyama Choma ...) figure out and come to Muthaiga Plaza... Scenes... Drive along muthaiga road gawk at the beautifully kept lawns and ambassadors residencies and other the creme de la creme houses... salimia Ubaks.. :d/ dont take the left to Limuru road at that kaconfusing roundabout Hapo mbele take the right turn (United Nation Avenue) and rub shoulders with Diplomats – you cab drive into Runda and have a cold one on my account hapo Lord Errols say hi to the one-man guitarist... Check out the palaces marked for demolitions hapo Northern ByPass na iwe funzo so that when buying a plot do proper due diligence... Sirkal in mkono mrefu... Do a detour to Village Market buy madam a gift hapo check out the water slides... utalete watoto baadaye.. Wachana na Limuru rd hiyo sijui ya Ruaka... Take the right turn at the junction and follow Red Hill Rd. Dont miss the left turn to Ngecha Road and the next left turn to Peponi Rd otherwise you will end up huko Gichagi Wangige Mwimuto or Limuru Gachie Ndumberi sijui Githunguri ... You have the option of driving through Nyari Thigiri get lost kidogo but still end up on Peponi Road... Drive through to Spring valley –Lower Kabete Road and Westlands We shall do the other side of town State House Arboretum , Chiromo , Riverside, Ring Road Kileleshwa and test the Japanese Road back to Hurlingham Ngong Road and join the Karen Langata Circuit Next time ... Nairobi has Mbutiful places.. "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Mukiri wrote:leona wrote:KulaRaha wrote:There was this amazing book written many years that had like 20 scenic routes to drive.
I have it somewhere, it also has maps. Let me look for it.
@Kularaha, Could that be 40 circuits in Kenya by Philip Obeille(sp)? the dude who went on a gallivanting spree in Kenya with his family in a Pajero... I have the book, BEST investment ever especially for those of us who're more often than not on the road. The maps were also pretty accurate,and the distance estimates. I think he made the trips about 20 or 25years ago,but still very relevant @Leona, a book like that.. I want! Where did you buy it? I was actually given as a present.. Never seen it in any bookstore in Kenya :( But you could try look around,unaweza bahatika Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
majimaji wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool. Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers. The road is there and is the one tour vehicles (esp the ubiquitous nissan vans) use from Malindi. It is motorable in the dry season but a hot and dusty drive @Rankaz13 True, very beautiful area indeed! Next time venture into the Ngang'ao forest,near Wundanyi.. it's amazing! And if you have more time,leave the car and do a hike up Vuria hill.. Utakatalia Taitaland :) For those going on this route and want to maximize the scenery, Once you're done with Wundanyi-Ngang'ao and Vuria.. then head back to Mwatate and drive towards Taveta 1. Take a detour to the amazing taita hills sanctuary,and stay overnight at the Sarova salt lick(kwanza if you're with Mrs and want to impress). It's awesome! There are lots of wildlife at the sanctuary,so you can do gamedrives or watch elephants as they hover around(or is it beneath the rooms which are set up on stilts). From the sanctuary,you get a panoramic view of the Taita hills,albeit from a distance..still awe-striking 2. If you don't want to go into the sanctuary,or spend the night at the sanctuary,drive down as if towards Taveta,but branch off at Maktau and into the Southernmost part of Tsavo West,48km later... you'll find yourself at Lake Jipe. One of the most scenic lakes in Kenya,with Pare mountains at its backdrop(Pare forms part of the picturesque Usambara ranges) 3. From Jipe,you can go to Lake Chala(around 20km away) which is one of the deepest crater Lakes in the World,with very clear jade blue waters and surrounded by views to die for(including Kilimanjaro) 4. You can venture further into Tanzania,and follow the Pare mountains,to Usambara,Udzugwa.. hadi pahali macho itachoka....:) 5. If you don't do 4(above),then from Taveta..drive towards Rombo to Loitoktok,and back via the Loitoktok-emali route na ukiweza get into Amboseli & spend a night or enjoy the wildlife+sceneries Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rankaz13 wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool. Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers. Ai... ati disused? People use it all the time. Ni vile tu it's murram(considering it's ndani ya park) and you're supposed to drive at not more than 40km/ph(park rules). Unaingilia Voi gate(Tsavo East) you exit at Sala gate. You'll meet a lot of tour vehicles kwanza between now and October when it's peak season Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
leona wrote:majimaji wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool. Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers. The road is there and is the one tour vehicles (esp the ubiquitous nissan vans) use from Malindi. It is motorable in the dry season but a hot and dusty drive @Rankaz13 True, very beautiful area indeed! Next time venture into the Ngang'ao forest,near Wundanyi.. it's amazing! And if you have more time,leave the car and do a hike up Vuria hill.. Utakatalia Taitaland :) For those going on this route and want to maximize the scenery, Once you're done with Wundanyi-Ngang'ao and Vuria.. then head back to Mwatate and drive towards Taveta 1. Take a detour to the amazing taita hills sanctuary,and stay overnight at the Sarova salt lick(kwanza if you're with Mrs and want to impress). It's awesome! There are lots of wildlife at the sanctuary,so you can do gamedrives or watch elephants as they hover around(or is it beneath the rooms which are set up on stilts). From the sanctuary,you get a panoramic view of the Taita hills,albeit from a distance..still awe-striking 2. If you don't want to go into the sanctuary,or spend the night at the sanctuary,drive down as if towards Taveta,but branch off at Maktau and into the Southernmost part of Tsavo West,48km later... you'll find yourself at Lake Jipe. One of the most scenic lakes in Kenya,with Pare mountains at its backdrop(Pare forms part of the picturesque Usambara ranges) 3. From Jipe,you can go to Lake Chala(around 20km away) which is one of the deepest crater Lakes in the World,with very clear jade blue waters and surrounded by views to die for(including Kilimanjaro) 4. You can venture further into Tanzania,and follow the Pare mountains,to Usambara,Udzugwa.. hadi pahali macho itachoka....:) 5. If you don't do 4(above),then from Taveta..drive towards Rombo to Loitoktok,and back via the Loitoktok-emali route na ukiweza get into Amboseli & spend a night or enjoy the wildlife+sceneries Daughter of the world. Keep it up Leona. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
leona wrote:majimaji wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool. Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers. The road is there and is the one tour vehicles (esp the ubiquitous nissan vans) use from Malindi. It is motorable in the dry season but a hot and dusty drive @Rankaz13 True, very beautiful area indeed! Next time venture into the Ngang'ao forest,near Wundanyi.. it's amazing! And if you have more time,leave the car and do a hike up Vuria hill.. Utakatalia Taitaland :) For those going on this route and want to maximize the scenery, Once you're done with Wundanyi-Ngang'ao and Vuria.. then head back to Mwatate and drive towards Taveta 1. Take a detour to the amazing taita hills sanctuary,and stay overnight at the Sarova salt lick(kwanza if you're with Mrs and want to impress). It's awesome! There are lots of wildlife at the sanctuary,so you can do gamedrives or watch elephants as they hover around(or is it beneath the rooms which are set up on stilts). From the sanctuary,you get a panoramic view of the Taita hills,albeit from a distance..still awe-striking 2. If you don't want to go into the sanctuary,or spend the night at the sanctuary,drive down as if towards Taveta,but branch off at Maktau and into the Southernmost part of Tsavo West,48km later... you'll find yourself at Lake Jipe. One of the most scenic lakes in Kenya,with Pare mountains at its backdrop(Pare forms part of the picturesque Usambara ranges) 3. From Jipe,you can go to Lake Chala(around 20km away) which is one of the deepest crater Lakes in the World,with very clear jade blue waters and surrounded by views to die for(including Kilimanjaro) 4. You can venture further into Tanzania,and follow the Pare mountains,to Usambara,Udzugwa.. hadi pahali macho itachoka....:) 5. If you don't do 4(above),then from Taveta..drive towards Rombo to Loitoktok,and back via the Loitoktok-emali route na ukiweza get into Amboseli & spend a night or enjoy the wildlife+sceneries Kweli umetembea dada! Keep it up
Did Thika-Gatukuyu-Kamwangi-Gakoe-Flyover....BEAUTIFUL
Angalia the road on Google maps, it's there.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:Did Thika-Gatukuyu-Kamwangi-Gakoe-Flyover....BEAUTIFUL @Lolest! Next time after Gakoe branch of to mataara, kiarutara and Gatura. Please make sure you have a powerful car coz of the terrain and the bends. I bet you will be a happy one!! You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
@famooz... have you tried the chogoria-kiangua-marimba-kionyo-githongo-katheri-meru town road? any one new on that road should not do more than 60kmh When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Culture
Scenic routes