5 Pages<1234>»
India sends spacecraft to Mars
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 8:30:15 PM

@Masukuma have you seen the kind of poverty at some parts of this country???your ok with that???

nope... I am not ok with that but I believe subsistence thinking is what is holding us back!! empower people to help themselves but a country has to learn to chew gum and skate the stairs at the same time! Wewe ulinunua gari wakati kila mtu kwenu alishiba na kuwenda shule?

Yes thats the kind of family I come from...

Applause Applause

@masukuma, i respect your opinion but do not agree with it.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 8:55:51 PM

@Masukuma have you seen the kind of poverty at some parts of this country???your ok with that???

nope... I am not ok with that but I believe subsistence thinking is what is holding us back!! empower people to help themselves but a country has to learn to chew gum and skate the stairs at the same time! Wewe ulinunua gari wakati kila mtu kwenu alishiba na kuwenda shule?

Applause Applause

many don't but it makes sense this delaying the masses until everyone catches up results in everyone doing nothing.
For those who think Space Exploration is a waste of money check this out
http://www.nasa.gov/site...loration-2013-TAGGED.pdf
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:01:14 PM

Applause Applause

many don't but it makes sense this delaying the masses until everyone catches up results in everyone doing nothing.
For those who think Space Exploration is a waste of money check this out.http://www.nasa.gov/sites/default/files/files/Benefits-Stemming-from-Space-Exploration-2013-TAGGED.pdf

has to be an acceptable level. not 60% poverty! you cant even earn respect as a county no matter what you discover out there.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:08:23 PM

Applause Applause

For those who think Space Exploration is a waste of money check this out.http://www.nasa.gov/sites/default/files/files/Benefits-Stemming-from-Space-Exploration-2013-TAGGED.pdf

has to be an acceptable level. not 60% poverty! you cant even earn respect as a county no matter what you discover out there.

here in lies the problem... people don't do stuff to be respected by others! you do stuff to benefit your people today or tomorrow. Focus on building a country for your citizens and not pleasing others so that you can get 'attaboy!' remarks.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:20:26 PM

A group of white folk were busy advising SA to 'feed its people' instead of bothering with hosting the Worldcup in 2010. Same group thinking is rife in brazil on its hosting of the worldcup and the olympics! I am sure that many white folk were not happy when China hosted the olympics as it did.

My take is similar to Fernando Duarte's - DEAL WITH IT!

http://espnfc.com/blog/_...bolbrasil/id/317?cc=3888
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:21:55 PM

main reason for space exploration is a show of might nothing else.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:41:55 PM

i guess nukes, nuclear power, hosting world events e.t.c. fall into that group right? has anyone ever studied China? they don't seek to impress or get attaboys from the white boys - they just do stuff that they want to do! Can we do that? hmm? can we just decide to do something without looking for approval from other people? they are just people who while seated in the loo defecate the same smelly stuff that we do and not steamy vanilla cakes! can we do that??
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 9:44:15 PM

communications satellites
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 10:27:51 PM

communications satellites

Yes @nakujua. Did you know that Nigeria has a very active space program and currently has 3 satellites in space?

http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn24025-how-nigeria-has-been-using-its-satellites.html#.UnlBOVOBYyI

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-21954395

Yes, Nigeria has a space programme. Since 2003 the West African country has been operating its own satellites, three of which are currently collecting data from Earth orbit. But this week Nigeria's space agency came under fire after UK newspaper the Daily Mail reported on British politicians questioning why Nigeria is spending money on satellites while accepting foreign aid for the large proportion of its citizens who live in poverty.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 10:36:40 PM

[quote=masukuma]A group of white folk were busy advising SA to 'feed its people' instead of bothering with hosting the Worldcup in 2010. Same group thinking is rife in brazil on its hosting of the worldcup and the olympics! I am sure that many white folk were not happy when China hosted the olympics as it did.

http://espnfc.com/blog/_...olbrasil/id/317?cc=3888[/quote]

Seems mzungu wants the rest of the world to just sit back, eat and sleep, while weighty space and other complex matters are left to him. Isn't this the kind of thinking that was there in pre-independent Kenya where the natives weren't supposed to even drive or drink bottled beer...they were supposed to be content in the native reserves/villages while undertaking menial jobs in the white farms.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 12:02:36 AM

A group of white folk were busy advising SA to 'feed its people' instead of bothering with hosting the Worldcup in 2010. Same group thinking is rife in brazil on its hosting of the worldcup and the olympics! I am sure that many white folk were not happy when China hosted the olympics as it did.

http://espnfc.com/blog/_...olbrasil/id/317?cc=3888

Seems mzungu wants the rest of the world to just sit back, eat and sleep, while weighty space and other complex matters are left to him. Isn't this the kind of thinking that was there in pre-independent Kenya where the natives weren't supposed to even drive or drink bottled beer...they were supposed to be content in the native reserves/villages while undertaking menial jobs in the white farms.

yes... kuosha watoto, kukamua ngombe, kupika chakula e.t.c. We should be appearing in Town with placards on our necks!
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 12:17:28 AM

Recall the face of the poorest and weakest man you have seen, and ask yourself if this step you contemplate is going to be any use to him.

Mahatma Gandhi
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 12:49:20 AM

#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:06:49 AM

[quote=harrydre]

http://www.telegraph.co....st-says-World-Bank.html

http://www.worldbank.org..._poor_paper_April17.pdf[/quote]

Why are you happy to splash photos of India's poor while you complain when mzungu posts photos of kibera, with flying toilets and all, as the face of Kenya? Have you ever asked yourself why mzungu never publishes photos of the homeless people in his country....those who live on the streets, and under bridges?

#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:24:16 AM

Where do people rush to? Gaining the whole world and losing your soul in the process... Doesn't India need the human resource to complement its projects? Tax, labor etc Shouldn't then its primary beneficiary in terms of revenue allocation be poverty alleviation.

Reminds me of people too busy to eat.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:40:06 AM

It's all got to do with Maslow's hierarchy of needs.......India is up there at self actualization while we are at the very bottom of the pyramid thinking about food and shelter.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 2:19:44 AM

Where do people rush to? Gaining the whole world and losing your soul in the process... Doesn't India need the human resource to complement its projects? Tax, labor etc Shouldn't then its primary beneficiary in terms of revenue allocation be poverty alleviation.

Do you know that India has the highest number of unemployed/underemployed PhDs in the world? That human resource has the potential to take India to unbelievable heights.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 5:35:02 AM

Poverty can't be alleviated by resource allocation. People are poor because they don't use the resources they already possess.

If the government has a role to play, then it's that of setting standards high by expressing the highest ideals possible for her people so that more citizens can raise their own standards. In that case, India has done and has been doing well.

The cultural and spiritual heritage of India can't be compared to Kenya's, and that's where we are losing it.

Like of late, I have come to see that young people in Kenya are getting more disenchanted with life and their pursuits tend to be harmful to their health and humanity's welfare. That is, Kenya is rapidly increasing it's population of the poor.

But I also realize that Kenya can change overnight and become an international power house. The ingredient that's needed is a suitable cultural and philosophical framework that can utilize advances in information and communication technology.

And that needs only a private initiative, and in a few years we can raise the civilization level by tapping most of the solar energy that goes unused.

We are fast asleep, and we really need to wake up.

#39 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 5:49:21 AM

Good for India, poverty is a state of mind and sometimes its really hard to change the mind of one who feels others should pay for his existence. The rocket will take 300+ days to get there, mmh...it will be there next year.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 7:31:57 AM

Do you know that India has the highest number of unemployed/underemployed PhDs in the world? That human resource has the potential to take India to unbelievable heights.

If the potential is there, what is lacking...? Capital?

But either way Kenya needs to learn from Indians. It beats me why Safcom makes billions in and calling costs are in shillings, should be cents! Education should be so affordable that we should attract foreign students, medical care should be top class we should attract people from all over, we should find other ways to fight inflation as opposed to interest rates, money should be available and affordable... banks making billions is not right! Our taxation... I won't even go there.

Even the duvets the Indian street dwellers are rocking are way better that what alot of Wazuans have.