#41 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:17:01 PM

surprised that the names of these pastors are from one part of our beloved country....

EXACTLY!! let me teach you guys what to do... just look at the billboard of the church you want to attend - if it has a man of God on it... usiende huko hiyo ni biashara!! last week nikitafuta abstract ya gari yangu iliyo ibiwa I intercepted a very revealing conversation. I was at Nyayo stadium police station when Pastor Muriethi of House of Grace was brought in... sijui ilikuwa ameshikiwa nini but that is not important atakuwa Kortini kesho... its how the police talked about him that was shocking... One policeman was introducing him as saying - unajua huyo mtu? yeye ndio mwenye kanisa ya "house of grace"! the second policeman was like "Kanisa ni yake ama ni ya Mungu?" to which the first policeman answered - "Kanisa ni ya mwenye ANACHUKUWA SADAKA!"

I don't quite understand the highlighted statement. Please fafanua

its a simple test really... who is the "face" of the church? is it an individual? if you remove that individual does the church die? ukiona kibao iko na "Apostle XYZ" usiende huko.... u will just be fired up in readiness for harvest!

Makes sense.

If I may ask, what happens to a charismatic pastor who falls out with a mainstream church? What should his fate read?

Like Mureithi of "House of Grace"...well, he went to open a church, first at Lang'ata shopping centre next to standard chartered, and now on Lang'ata road...I'm informed that the demand on your salary in that church is astonishing...i'm yet to confirm.... "everyone has a plan for your money"

ask yourself... where was he before? what was the circumstance of his leaving? its always 1 or more of 3 things
1. women
2. wealth
3. fame/glory

Actually, I forget why he left...back at NPC, I would actually sit to listen to him. Then there is that one who moved and opened a church at Karen (opposite KCB), lives very lavish..also has his picture and wife kwa church entrance. His case as believe was about some lost cash at NPC...
The Clown
#42 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:17:48 PM

I have to defend my Christian faith here. This feature by Dennis Okari was clearly made with a contemptuous attitude towards Christians and their beliefs.

One, Dennis dresses up in a collar and makes mention of how easy it is to acquire one. He also does a lot of his monologues with a cross in the background. What purpose does this serve other than to pour scorn upon these symbols of Christianity?

Two, they take a practicing atheist and get her to learn all about 'preaching like a christian' before letting her loose on an unsuspecting congregation. How better to mock the faith than getting an atheist to pretend to minister to a few people and watch how quickly they get deceived?

Three, there was a total lack of objectivity in this feature. Why didn't Dennis interview a genuine man or woman of God to ask them for their views about the fake preachers? There are many who are passionate about God's work and are not in it for money but to serve God.

Lastly, Dennis is himself practicing the same deception he goes out to condemn. Did he bother to tell the poor men and women who attended his meetings that it was all a phony show? Among those poor people there may have been some who were genuinely thirsting for God's word. How do they feel now that they have been portrayed as being gullible on national TV? What will become of their spiritual need?
Mtu Biz
#43 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:18:11 PM

Christianity is under attack @Mukiri?? SMH!

Let me stop there.

Allow me to repeat this.

Anyone.. pastor, reverend, bishop, pope or whatever title he or she is addressed by (Paul said even if an ANGEL).

Preaches any other Gospel, apart from what is revealed in scripture. Is a fraud.

The Gospel is not about health, wealth, success protection from curses mathabahu or any of the things the carnal mind seeks and craves for.. It is not even about healing.

The Gospel is God Dealing with SIN Period.

This expose dwelt on 'downtown' churches... but a less brazen version of the same deception exists in much classier settings in Nairobi... seed sowing disguised in 'partnering with god to unlock or tap into a new dimension' 'partnering in ministry' complete with hierarchical levels of partnership etc

Let me not even talk about tithing-(addressed in an older thread)

Let the media now perform the role True Christians are supposed to perform but have not. Why? because correction, rebuke and training in righteousness have been drowned out by "Judge Not".

I say expose them, hata wale wa uptown.

Sola Scriptura

#44 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:24:57 PM

surprised that the names of these pastors are from one part of our beloved country....

EXACTLY!! let me teach you guys what to do... just look at the billboard of the church you want to attend - if it has a man of God on it... usiende huko hiyo ni biashara!! last week nikitafuta abstract ya gari yangu iliyo ibiwa I intercepted a very revealing conversation. I was at Nyayo stadium police station when Pastor Muriethi of House of Grace was brought in... sijui ilikuwa ameshikiwa nini but that is not important atakuwa Kortini kesho... its how the police talked about him that was shocking... One policeman was introducing him as saying - unajua huyo mtu? yeye ndio mwenye kanisa ya "house of grace"! the second policeman was like "Kanisa ni yake ama ni ya Mungu?" to which the first policeman answered - "Kanisa ni ya mwenye ANACHUKUWA SADAKA!"

its a simple test really... who is the "face" of the church? is it an individual? if you remove that individual does the church die? ukiona kibao iko na "Apostle XYZ" usiende huko.... u will just be fired up in readiness for harvest!

Makes sense.

If I may ask, what happens to a charismatic pastor who falls out with a mainstream church? What should his fate read?

the fall out in rarely about doctrine! its most certainly about 3 things that plague pastors.
1. Wealth (Money)
2. Fame (Glory)
3. Women
When a young pastor thinks that they are being used to bring 1,2 to an elderly MOG they will pull out! instead ya kufanyia huyo jamaa kazi! this comes because after serving under the pastor the youngman or woman realize that this guy is human! he has struggles and is possibly struggling with 1 or more of the 3 things that plague MOGs. most of the times MOGs agree to scratch each of their backs. I made a decision along time ago never to attend a church founded on disobedience and dissent!

Maybe I didn't quite put across my question well. I'll give an example... We both belong to CITAM. In CITAM we have moving pastors. God forbid that one of them should have a falling out, what is the cards for such a Man of God after he's repented?

Mtu Biz
#45 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:25:38 PM

I don't think there's anything like a church that doesn't fleece and enslave her members.

Only that some use sophisticated methods and institutions.

Depends on your definition of 'Church'.

The church in scripture is the fellowship those who have trusted in Jesus Christ and are born again, born not of natural descent or a husbands will, but born of God.(John 1:13 soma yote)

The Church in Scripture had no requirements on its members as far as money of goods or even time.
Everything was offered freely without compulsion.

No Indulgencies to pay
No seeds to plant
No tithes to pay
No firstfruits to pay
No love offerings etc
No arcs to move :)
No holidays to pay for
No Ministry to partner with
No standing orders to fill out
No pledge forms to commit to

Everything that was ever given was given freely without compulsion.

There is a story in scripture where Christians were sharing everything they had so that they would be more or less equal..and that the needy would not lack. One couple Ananias and Saphira after selling their land did not disclose the whole amount to the apostles and was asked,

Acts 5:1-11

"4 Didn’t it belong to you before it was sold? And after it was sold, wasn’t the money at your disposal? What made you think of doing such a thing? You have not lied just to human beings but to God.”

Meaning? He didnt even have to give it in the first place!
The issue the apostles has with this is not that it was not the full amount but that they chose to lie about the amount.
There would have been zero problems if they just kept everything to themselves.

But because he wanted to conform to the prevailing mood of giving everything albeit deceptively and kept something back for themselves, they both died.

This scripture has of course been mutilated to scare people who do not examine scripture for themselves into thinking that Almighty God would kill you for your money.

Who on earth, in heaven or under the earth can ever give anything to God ?

Even your 'righteousness' does not benefit him in any way.. or your wickedness diminish him.

Job 35

5 Look up at the heavens and see;
gaze at the clouds so high above you.
6 If you sin, how does that affect him?
If your sins are many, what does that do to him?
7 If you are righteous, what do you give to him,
or what does he receive from your hand?
8 Your wickedness only affects humans like yourself,
and your righteousness only other people.

Sola Scriptura

#46 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:27:39 PM

#47 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:34:10 PM

The Clown wrote:
I have to defend my Christian faith here. This feature by Dennis Okari was clearly made with a contemptuous attitude towards Christians and their beliefs.

One, Dennis dresses up in a collar and makes mention of how easy it is to acquire one. He also does a lot of his monologues with a cross in the background. What purpose does this serve other than to pour scorn upon these symbols of Christianity?

Two, they take a practicing atheist and get her to learn all about 'preaching like a christian' before letting her loose on an unsuspecting congregation. How better to mock the faith than getting an atheist to pretend to minister to a few people and watch how quickly they get deceived?

Three, there was a total lack of objectivity in this feature. Why didn't Dennis interview a genuine man or woman of God to ask them for their views about the fake preachers? There are many who are passionate about God's work and are not in it for money but to serve God.

Lastly, Dennis is himself practicing the same deception he goes out to condemn. Did he bother to tell the poor men and women who attended his meetings that it was all a phony show? Among those poor people there may have been some who were genuinely thirsting for God's word. How do they feel now that they have been portrayed as being gullible on national TV? What will become of their spiritual need?

Applause Applause Applause Someone asking hard questions and looking at things objectively.

#48 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:38:15 PM

Revelation 22:18-19 says, "For I testify unto everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book, if anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book; And if anyone takes away from the words of this book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part from the Book of Life, and from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book."

The bible is very clear, I think D. Okari has taken local investigative journalism to another level. That was brilliant. As for those saying Christianity is under attack, I have a question, Who is attacking it? Reporters exposing the rot in these Gospel Inc so called churches, or those who are exploiting the poor innocent people out to seek redemption and hope?

#49 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:38:37 PM

I have helped build where I no longer worship cz after you have built the church breaks off from the mainstream (mother ),so you have to move to a rented building and start building or contributing to buy the place all over again.

I stopped going to church deliberately and stayed home to sober up and normalize.

Been invited severally to attend House of Grace by one of the pastors...I thought the guy had substance kumbe he will be in court tomorrow. argh.

But I like one Pastor Mwalili,the teacher and less dramatic one.

in the meantime am mkorino.
#50 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 11:41:29 PM

Makes sense.

the fall out in rarely about doctrine! its most certainly about 3 things that plague pastors.
1. Wealth (Money)
2. Fame (Glory)
3. Women
When a young pastor thinks that they are being used to bring 1,2 to an elderly MOG they will pull out! instead ya kufanyia huyo jamaa kazi! this comes because after serving under the pastor the youngman or woman realize that this guy is human! he has struggles and is possibly struggling with 1 or more of the 3 things that plague MOGs. most of the times MOGs agree to scratch each of their backs. I made a decision along time ago never to attend a church founded on disobedience and dissent!

Maybe I didn't quite put across my question well. I'll give an example... We both belong to CITAM. In CITAM we have moving pastors. God forbid that one of them should have a falling out, what is the cards for such a Man of God after he's repented?

he needs to come back to the ministry bwana...
17 Pages«<34567>»