Its Friday.... Siku ya Msikiti
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...1st question, what is your holy book divided into?...
First @Mukiri, I'm not imam, imam is leader position in Islam. I'm just a felow wazua. As regards your 1st question, the Quran is divided into 30 parts, and 114 suras (called chapters), 558 sections, and 6666 verses. The Quran cannot be translated. The result of any translation is not the glorious Quran, that inimitable symphony the very sounds of which move men to tears and ecstacy. Because the translation in general fail to convey the reasl sense, spirit and delicacy of the original. This is because English terms are generally inadequate to express the basic concepts of Quran such as "Abd" and "Rab" or "Rahmaan" and "Raheem" or "Ahad" and "Samad" and others. Im no Pastor neither. A Pastor is a leader position in Christianity, Im just a fellow Wazuan. question 10, Doesn't this issue of translation make you feel that Arabic is a special language superior to any other and hence you can't mix with us? And a way of hiding it from public scrutiny? As regards your question 10, about Quran translation. You can buy yourself a copy of the Quran in English or Kiswahili from 'Quran House' on Mfangano Street. Or at 'Jamia Mosque Bookshop' in town. No one will ask you any question. So for you, you can read the English or Kiswahili translation of Quran. So you are allowed to access the translation which is available in many different langauges today. You are allowed to get copy of Quran if your intentions are good and you reasonably confident that you will not disrespect the copy. Because if you don't touch it how can you find the truth in it? I hope that answers your quesion. Two small contradictions there? Are you sure of the information you are sharing? One time it cannot be translated, another time its available? One time no one will ask you questions, another you are allowed if intention is right? Why should intention even matter? If I have money and want a copy, I should be able to get it, no? Maybe it should be on every hotel bedside, besides the Bible? Why is it shrouded in mystery? But ISOKEI, atleast we are heading somewhere, albeit in baby steps. No, copies of the Quran cannot be put in hotel rooms. The Quran has its proper way of handling, Muslims regard the Quran as the literal word of God, as revealed by the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him. There are special rules that Muslims follow when handling, touching, or reading from the Arabic printed Quran. The Quran itself states that only those who are clean and pure should touch the sacred text: " This is indeed a Holy Qur'an, in a book well-guarded, which none shall touch but those who are clean..." (Chapter 56:77-79). The Arabic word translated here as "clean" is mutahiroon, a word that is also sometimes translated as "purified". But the scolars have saif that the English or Kiswahili translation can be given to those whose intentions are good and you reasonably confident that you will not disrespect the copy. Because if you don't touch it how can you find the truth in it? The intention is for you and God alone, man will not know.
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:Question 11 Quran? Koran? The asnwer your quesiton 11. I checked out the original spelling in Arabic and it is 'Quran' with a 'Q'. I think the origin of "koran" with 'K' is American, who mispronounce "Koran". As far as spelling is concerned, people should use the one that better reflects the original pronunciation i.e. Quran or Qur'an. I checked out and it seems the media and some public American documents like to use Koran. They say it's because of the American audience, what is common to their audience. Whatever you use, I'll be okay with it. Are you a liberal muslim? Why would you go for 'Whichever' as opposed to the right one? The Alphadoti I know is a purist, ama? Which leads me to Question 12, How many types of muslims are there? And which are real, fake, rebels etc And most importantly which do you come from? Don't forget to mention, whic one churns out the terrorists, fighters (hamas, somali fighters, taliban iran, irag etc) PS: Si we go systematically? As opposed to jumping from number to number ie What became of question 3 - 9?
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...1st question, what is your holy book divided into?...
First @Mukiri, I'm not imam, imam is leader position in Islam. I'm just a felow wazua. As regards your 1st question, the Quran is divided into 30 parts, and 114 suras (called chapters), 558 sections, and 6666 verses. The Quran cannot be translated. The result of any translation is not the glorious Quran, that inimitable symphony the very sounds of which move men to tears and ecstacy. Because the translation in general fail to convey the reasl sense, spirit and delicacy of the original. This is because English terms are generally inadequate to express the basic concepts of Quran such as "Abd" and "Rab" or "Rahmaan" and "Raheem" or "Ahad" and "Samad" and others. Im no Pastor neither. A Pastor is a leader position in Christianity, Im just a fellow Wazuan. question 10, Doesn't this issue of translation make you feel that Arabic is a special language superior to any other and hence you can't mix with us? And a way of hiding it from public scrutiny? As regards your question 10, about Quran translation. You can buy yourself a copy of the Quran in English or Kiswahili from 'Quran House' on Mfangano Street. Or at 'Jamia Mosque Bookshop' in town. No one will ask you any question. So for you, you can read the English or Kiswahili translation of Quran. So you are allowed to access the translation which is available in many different langauges today. You are allowed to get copy of Quran if your intentions are good and you reasonably confident that you will not disrespect the copy. Because if you don't touch it how can you find the truth in it? I hope that answers your quesion. Two small contradictions there? Are you sure of the information you are sharing? One time it cannot be translated, another time its available? One time no one will ask you questions, another you are allowed if intention is right? Why should intention even matter? If I have money and want a copy, I should be able to get it, no? Maybe it should be on every hotel bedside, besides the Bible? Why is it shrouded in mystery? But ISOKEI, atleast we are heading somewhere, albeit in baby steps. No, copies of the Quran cannot be put in hotel rooms. The Quran has its proper way of handling, Muslims regard the Quran as the literal word of God, as revealed by the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him. There are special rules that Muslims follow when handling, touching, or reading from the Arabic printed Quran. The Quran itself states that only those who are clean and pure should touch the sacred text: " This is indeed a Holy Qur'an, in a book well-guarded, which none shall touch but those who are clean..." (Chapter 56:77-79). The Arabic word translated here as "clean" is mutahiroon, a word that is also sometimes translated as "purified". But the scolars have saif that the English or Kiswahili translation can be given to those whose intentions are good and you reasonably confident that you will not disrespect the copy. Because if you don't touch it how can you find the truth in it? The intention is for you and God alone, man will not know. Aha! So one guy writes a whole holy book and to make it sound mysterious and revered he tells people to hide it? Its like writing a country's constitution and not making it widely available, readable anywhere anytime. Muslims must mock the way Christians avail their Bibles?
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated.
Question 13, the Qur'an seems to be a collection of one-sentence instructions?
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated. The WHOLE Qur'an was 'revealed to 'ONE GUY'? And you all believed him? What about the law as handed to Moses? Isn't Moses one of your prophets? The creation story, is that in the Qur'an? How does the Qur'an recognize prophets? Through the revelation? Where was it revealed to him? Who was with him?
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated. The WHOLE Qur'an was 'revealed to 'ONE GUY'? And you all believed him? What about the law as handed to Moses? Isn't Moses one of your prophets? The creation story, is that in the Qur'an? How does the Qur'an recognize prophets? Through the revelation? Where was it revealed to him? Who was with him? My friend @Mukiri, you need to first understand who this man Muhammad was. Please pay attention to the below, it is very important and it is short summary, which you can read in 2 minutes... Muhammad (pbuh) was born in Makkah in the year 570, at a time when Christianity was not yet fully established in Europe. Since his father died before his birth, and his mother shortly afterwards, he was raised by his uncle from the respected tribe of Quraysh. As he grew up, he became known for his truthfulness, generosity and sincerity, so that he was sought after for his ability to arbitrate in disputes. The historians describe him as calm and meditative. Muhammad (pbuh) was of a deeply religious nature, and had long detested corruption, self-indulgence, excess and idolatry of his society (his fellow Arabs at the time). It became his habit to meditate from time to time in the Cave of Hira near a mountain called Jabal Nur, popularly known as the 'Mountain of Light' near Makkah. Now you ask how did he become a prophet and a Messenger of God?At the age of 40, while engaged in a meditative retreat, Muhammad (pbuh) received his first revelation from God through the Angel Gabriel. This revelation continued for 23 years. This revelation is known as the Quran. As soon as he began to recite the words he heard from Gabriel, and to preach the truth which God had revealed to him, he and his small group of followers suffered bitter persecution, which grew so fierce that in the year 622 God gave them the command to emigrate. This event is called Hijirah (in Arabic) i.e. migration. They left Makkah for the city of Madinah some 260 miles from Mekkah.
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated. The WHOLE Qur'an was 'revealed to 'ONE GUY'? And you all believed him? What about the law as handed to Moses? Isn't Moses one of your prophets? The creation story, is that in the Qur'an? How does the Qur'an recognize prophets? Through the revelation? Where was it revealed to him? Who was with him? My friend @Mukiri, you need to first understand who this man Muhammad was. Please pay attention to the below, it is very important and it is short summary, which you can read in 2 minutes... Muhammad (pbuh) was born in Makkah in the year 570, at a time when Christianity was not yet fully established in Europe. Since his father died before his birth, and his mother shortly afterwards, he was raised by his uncle from the respected tribe of Quraysh. As he grew up, he became known for his truthfulness, generosity and sincerity, so that he was sought after for his ability to arbitrate in disputes. The historians describe him as calm and meditative. Muhammad (pbuh) was of a deeply religious nature, and had long detested corruption, self-indulgence, excess and idolatry of his society (his fellow Arabs at the time). It became his habit to meditate from time to time in the Cave of Hira near a mountain called Jabal Nur, popularly known as the 'Mountain of Light' near Makkah. Now you ask how did he become a prophet and a Messenger of God?At the age of 40, while engaged in a meditative retreat, Muhammad (pbuh) received his first revelation from God through the Angel Gabriel. This revelation continued for 23 years. This revelation is known as the Quran. As soon as he began to recite the words he heard from Gabriel, and to preach the truth which God had revealed to him, he and his small group of followers suffered bitter persecution, which grew so fierce that in the year 622 God gave them the command to emigrate. This event is called Hijirah (in Arabic) i.e. migration. They left Makkah for the city of Madinah some 260 miles from Mekkah. Sawa sawa boss, I have read it. Infact I read it twice and was NOT impressed. How bad were the people around where this fellow lived, such that he was noticeable for 'truthfulness, generosity, sincerity' Si that's a kawaida person? Unless its your everyday kawaida person in the midst of uncouth fellows, so as to be noticeable. Revelations and all, na si kwa ubaya, I'd place him as a .... If you think about it deeply, you guys must have been conned.
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated. The WHOLE Qur'an was 'revealed to 'ONE GUY'? And you all believed him? What about the law as handed to Moses? Isn't Moses one of your prophets? The creation story, is that in the Qur'an? How does the Qur'an recognize prophets? Through the revelation? Where was it revealed to him? Who was with him? My friend @Mukiri, you need to first understand who this man Muhammad was. Please pay attention to the below, it is very important and it is short summary, which you can read in 2 minutes... Muhammad (pbuh) was born in Makkah in the year 570, at a time when Christianity was not yet fully established in Europe. Since his father died before his birth, and his mother shortly afterwards, he was raised by his uncle from the respected tribe of Quraysh. As he grew up, he became known for his truthfulness, generosity and sincerity, so that he was sought after for his ability to arbitrate in disputes. The historians describe him as calm and meditative. Muhammad (pbuh) was of a deeply religious nature, and had long detested corruption, self-indulgence, excess and idolatry of his society (his fellow Arabs at the time). It became his habit to meditate from time to time in the Cave of Hira near a mountain called Jabal Nur, popularly known as the 'Mountain of Light' near Makkah. Now you ask how did he become a prophet and a Messenger of God?At the age of 40, while engaged in a meditative retreat, Muhammad (pbuh) received his first revelation from God through the Angel Gabriel. This revelation continued for 23 years. This revelation is known as the Quran. As soon as he began to recite the words he heard from Gabriel, and to preach the truth which God had revealed to him, he and his small group of followers suffered bitter persecution, which grew so fierce that in the year 622 God gave them the command to emigrate. This event is called Hijirah (in Arabic) i.e. migration. They left Makkah for the city of Madinah some 260 miles from Mekkah. How can that be authenticated! Yaani a guy goes out alone, then when he returns he comes with claims of god told me bla blah bla... then hapless fellows believe him! Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote: ...2nd question, what is its genesis? Was it all written by one man, he of peace be upon him?
There is no Genesis in the Quran. And for your information God never sent down a book called Genesis. Instead, God sent down a book called Torah or Taurati, which was given to Moses. It was the Romans, under the leadership of Constantine the great, who came up with these ideas when they changed the Bible several years after Jesus went to heaven. They split the Torah into 5 books, where all stories of creation were put under one title Genesis. Basically, the Jews divided this book into many parts. Also, during the Council of Nicaea, they votted for many other ideas, which were not there before. Then they destroyed all original Scrolls. No traces of them now!! That's when people protested and this gve rise to Protestants. Haiyah, Imam!! You are getting lost!  Very lost, this thread is purely about Koran. Your issues with the Bible, which has been translated to a language you can understand, unlike your Koran, wachana nayo... for now. What is the GENESIS OF THE KORAN. Yaani, Koran ilitoka wapi? Do you recognize the law handed down to Moses too? As regards how the Quran came about. The Quran is a record of the exact words revealed by God through the Angel Gabriel to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). It was memorized by him (Muhammad pbuh) and then he dictated it to his companions. It was handwritten down by scribes and he crosschecked it during his lifetime. Not one word of its 114 chapters/suras has been changed over the centuries, as is preseverd in Arabic. In that case the Quran is in every detail still the same unique text, as was revealed to Muhammad (pbuh) 14 centuries ago. This is a miracle. So you may ask what is the Quran all about. The Quran revealed Word of God, is the main source of every Muslim’s faith & practice. It is the solution to all the matters that concern us human beings. It also provides guidelines for justice in society, proper conduct and economic system. There are other sacred sources to. This is called the sunnah, the life style of the Prophet. This is the second authority for Muslims. It is also referred to as hadith, which means report of what the prophet (pbuh) said, did, or approved narrated and transmitted reliably/authenticated. The WHOLE Qur'an was 'revealed to 'ONE GUY'? And you all believed him? What about the law as handed to Moses? Isn't Moses one of your prophets? The creation story, is that in the Qur'an? How does the Qur'an recognize prophets? Through the revelation? Where was it revealed to him? Who was with him? My friend @Mukiri, you need to first understand who this man Muhammad was. Please pay attention to the below, it is very important and it is short summary, which you can read in 2 minutes... Muhammad (pbuh) was born in Makkah in the year 570, at a time when Christianity was not yet fully established in Europe. Since his father died before his birth, and his mother shortly afterwards, he was raised by his uncle from the respected tribe of Quraysh. As he grew up, he became known for his truthfulness, generosity and sincerity, so that he was sought after for his ability to arbitrate in disputes. The historians describe him as calm and meditative. Muhammad (pbuh) was of a deeply religious nature, and had long detested corruption, self-indulgence, excess and idolatry of his society (his fellow Arabs at the time). It became his habit to meditate from time to time in the Cave of Hira near a mountain called Jabal Nur, popularly known as the 'Mountain of Light' near Makkah. Now you ask how did he become a prophet and a Messenger of God?At the age of 40, while engaged in a meditative retreat, Muhammad (pbuh) received his first revelation from God through the Angel Gabriel. This revelation continued for 23 years. This revelation is known as the Quran. As soon as he began to recite the words he heard from Gabriel, and to preach the truth which God had revealed to him, he and his small group of followers suffered bitter persecution, which grew so fierce that in the year 622 God gave them the command to emigrate. This event is called Hijirah (in Arabic) i.e. migration. They left Makkah for the city of Madinah some 260 miles from Mekkah. Sawa sawa boss, I have read it. Infact I read it twice and was NOT impressed. How bad were the people around where this fellow lived, such that he was noticeable for 'truthfulness, generosity, sincerity' Si that's a kawaida person? Unless its your everyday kawaida person in the midst of uncouth fellows, so as to be noticeable. Revelations and all, na si kwa ubaya, I'd place him as a .... If you think about it deeply, you guys must have been conned. No @Mukiri, we were not conned. I can prove this to you (after this post, first read the below) In summary, you shoud know the following about the Quran:The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that certifies its Author to be Allah, the Almighty. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that claims that it is inspiration from Allah, the Almighty. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that begins with the Name of Allah, the Almighty. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that has challenged all mankind to check its correctness and for errors. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that is errorless. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that has not been revised in the last 1,400 years. Of course, if a book is completely correct, there will be no need of revision. Revision is only required where errors have been discovered. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that has been memorized cover to cover in all parts of the world, whether they understand Arabic or not. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth whose Author (God) has promised to protect it from corruption till the last day. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that gives accurate information of the past, the present, and the future events. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK that has laid down scientific facts that only became understood in the 19th and 20th century, 1,200 years after the Book was written. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that was completed by its presenter, the Prophet Muhammad, may Allah bless him, and memorized during his life time by many of his disciples. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth whose presenter, the Prophet Muhammad, may Allah bless him, did not know how to read or write. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth whose presenter, the Prophet Muhammad, may Allah bless him, does not lay claim to its authorship. The Author is ALLAH, and ALLAH says so in the Quran. The Quran is the ONLY BOOK on earth that does not follow the beginning and ending rules by which all other books go. The first verses of the Quran are part of chapter 96, and the last verse of the Quran is part of chapter 5. This means that Quran is a sealed book, written long before it was presented to mankind. Verses from the Quran were revealed as and when situations arose that needed to be addressed over a period of 23 years. Some verses were revealed in Makkah and others in Madinah.
Its Friday.... Siku ya Msikiti