Market
Technical
Manual vs Automatic
@djinn....in an automatic,you will not jump to 120kph in 5 secs - you will creep to 120 in abt 15 secs. In a manual you need only drop down one gear and floor #
Kwani which ride is this that does that in 15 sec :).
Generally speaking for an automatic if you want to gain speed,you floor the accelerator (as little or as hard as you'd want depending on the gain you intend) - this will shift gear(s) down. If you really floor it,it is possible to go to the lowest possible one.
I can't test drive a manual of the corona premio I have since it was only produced with a automatic gear box - but 100-120 kph would possibly take less than 5 sec :) - without using the O/D or the ECT power.
> 490k sounds like a deal for that.
> as for manual vs auto - kila mtu na dawa yake. Looking at specs from a few websites,there's a slight benefit in fuel economy (and 0-60mph time). But keep in mind that when manufacturers come up with the specs of cars,the conditions are ideal > (the cars (I'm told) driven electronically,the road has no potholes etc etc ). So in practice,you'd need some serious experience to be able to come close to the specs.
@ mburu As said earlier,people are different. If you want to 'drive' go for the manual,if you want to 'move' the car,go for automatic. And it is a fact that on average,in similar conditions,a manual car is more economical on fuel that an auto car. I prefer a manual car any day. I love being in control of a moti not having it second guess my mind....  I Think Therefore I Am
@Tuvok, Flooring the gas peddle is equally effective.Infact if you want a roar,pinch the O/D while flooring. @Mburu, In a rut or muddy condition,the more you 'rave' (rev),the more you get stuck.In most situations you only need a small nudge and the car moves on.You need to feel a car whether manual or auto once you are stuck.Am surprised too coz it seems the auto cars you've handled are short of many things.Ever seen or used L drive?..... Yombo dhier....!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@mjinn .. u got that totally spot on ... I had an auto rav 4 company car for about 1 year and recently bought an manual x-trail .. the difference is amazing!! the manual gives u so much control and power,especially when overtaking in rural and also urban drive .. Even with the overdrive on the auto,the change in acceleration at high speed is barely noticeable .The manual also gives a driving thrill that is unmatched ... the auto consumes much more fuel and interestingly for the same engine takes longer to accelerate ... check www.parker.co.uk /car/reviews for more detail ..... Knowledge is power but action gets things done... Knowledge is power , but action gets things done ...
Get the automatic most importantly for resale value.
ili iwe funzo...
Today and cars ..wow ..... kumbe guys know that much... will save this discussion print it and carry it in my next car shopping..... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Manual car is the king,the altimate car....hiyo ingine ni mfano,made for the lazy....na huo ni ukweli kabisa!! If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
And what happens when the battery dies and it is an automatic transmission car? Woooiii!
AKS
Rank: Member Joined: 7/28/2007 Posts: 290 Location: Nairobi
@mburu: I have both an Auto and a manual,and i prefer using the automatic anytime. There isnt much difference btw the two cars in terms of fuel consumption. To overtake or speed up,just press the thumb knob and press the pendle and voila,the bus is behind you. Remember to reverse this mode as the car will tend to consumes more fuel like a manual car.
When stuck in the mud,place the gear lever at L and the vehicle will just glide through the mud without digging itself deeper.
Automatic any time: smooth drive,less strain/stress on driver,no clutches to be changes,less ware and tare on the machine.
The choice is yours.
All the best
Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
For overtaking - if u remove overdrive (O/D) then floor,you get the same effect as changing down a gear. So points gone to manual on that - lost!
For getting stuck - use 'L' drive on toyos,nissans and a couple others- on most recent models,you can lock it at any gear 1,2 mpaka 3. So points gone to manual on that - lost!
For ku-stua,here manual comes clean. But guys,if you can afford a car,you sure can afford a 5K Chloride battery - which will not mess you up.
So you decide.
Bidii yangu
Love the manual especially when driving out of town. City driving can be irritating when you consider the endless traffic jams. What with shifting between gears,clutch,hand brake,foot brake,balancing the accelerator and clutch on and incline etc. My next car will be auto. But I am glad that the experience means I can drive both manual and auto comfortably. You know what they say about driving a manual. Like riding a bicycle,you never forget.
Time and chance happen to all.
@Alphdoti When the battery dies you buy another. Just like any other car. Ama you're the guys who stua a car every journey?
ili iwe funzo...
Has anyone ever tried shifting from 'D' to '2' in an auto when attempting to overtake that bus? u wont even need to floor! and a manual will be no match.
@Mburu
I will open by stating categorically that for me,it is automatic any day! I have been driving a premio automatic for the last 8 months and I just cannot imagine driving a manual car ever again!!
The deal you have at hand is good according to me (premio is one of the sturdiest,best features mid size toyota sedans; the AE91 and AE100 of today) but note that the condition of the car is very critical. Have your mechanic check it out. You may also be able to tell a lot by assessing the general condition of the car: paint job,shocks,etc are they worn out? beware if the car has been repainted....it may be an attempt to hide previous abuse. has the car been used as a taxi? be careful there.
Let me also say that it is unbelievable the ignorance of several people who have replied to this post. There is this myth (maybe a macho thing) about having control over a car if it has manual transmission. Nothing can be farther from the truth. I guess the myth came about due to the design of early ATs. Good people,ATs have come of age and unless you are a rally driver,you will not gain one ounce of advantage in terms of performance by driving a manual!! Only strain and arthritis in your left limbs!!! hehe. Remember all the myths about EFI??? This current myth is also dying out albeit too slowly. Anyone still proselytizing about manual is just exhibiting the common flaw in human character called 'resistance to change'.
I would also like to correct one very common misconception about the feature in ATs called O/D or overdrive in full. The confusion is not unexpected. The term 'overdrive' is a serious misnomer,at least to the lay mind!! To put it very simply,O/D is the highest gear in an AT,equivalent to gear 5 in manual. It does not and cannot give you more power! maybe more speed. You should engage it all the time (to save fuel) unless climbing a v. steep hill,towing or stuck in mud (in which cases you should engage 2 or L,anyway). Those claiming that the car 'vrrooms' when the O/D is engaged either have nil experience with AT or are extremely confused. If you floor an AT car,there is no difference at all whether O/D is engaged or not....the car automatically shifts to low gears and never to O/D. O/D only engages when you are cruising on the highway at a steady speed,not when accelerating.
Now there is even newer technology in transmissions;Just google 'continuous variable transmission'. this is my next frontier. i recently test drove the 2002 model premio which has this feature and immediately regreted buying the 2001 model.
Jaflog,the engine computer system is linked to the auto gear box and the integration of the two ensures fuel effeciency.when u replace the gear box,u disconnect the integration and the system ir 'confused'.it cannot recognise the gearbox .
hey
Market
Technical
Manual vs Automatic