wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

28 Pages«<262728
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
#541 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 12:09:20 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
hisah wrote:
Safaricom raises cost of calls to EA countries - http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/duyb0z/-/index.html

Safaricom has increased the cost of making calls to neighbouring countries, becoming the first telecom to react to harsher taxation regimes within East Africa.

β€œβ€¦some of the East African Community countries, namely Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi, have imposed new taxes and levies on all international calls from Kenya.This necessitates the upward revision of both our international calling and roaming rates,” said Safaricom.

This is sad indeed for EAC. Telco is now a necessity not a luxury for these economies... Bure kabisa.

They need to learn from the EU on how it harmonized roaming tariff across the eurozone.

Soo sad this roaming thing in EA. KES25 a minute for receiving a call? I'd rather not pick it and walk across the border for a face to face conversation. It's all free. Unlimited. The maasai waysmile

#542 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 1:27:29 PM

ion
Sealing the leakage loopholes

is it 33 or 100?

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
mwekez@ji
#543 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:41:35 PM

Safaricom Half Year 2014 Results release - Tuesday 5th November 2013

http://www.safaricom.co.ke/abou...hboard/investor-calendar
mwekez@ji
#544 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:44:27 PM

^ @4pm
hisah
#545 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 4:02:47 PM

3G reseller slams TOT for cut-off without cause - http://www.bangkokpost.c...r-cut-off-without-cause

365 Communication Co is crying foul over what it deems "unfair treatment" by TOT Plc in terminating its third-generation (3G) service agreement under the mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) model.

Chief executive Surin Ritteepamorn said TOT could not just scrap the agreement that allows 365 Communication to provide 3G service before the agreement expires without a good reason.

The company signed a four-year memorandum of understanding with TOT to provide the service on behalf of the state telecom.

TOT reasoned that 365 is mired in financial troubles and struggling with a lack of cash flow and high debts. The company also failed to place a guarantee of three million baht required for the purchase of each airtime allotment.

Orange and Yu - will they wake up one morning to such a rude shock from CCK...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#546 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 4:43:19 AM

The Voda Verizon deal came and went with Voda booking $130B from that US biz sale. Not to be left behind, now AT&T wants the Europe biz.

http://www.theverge.com/...ntial-vodafone-takeover

Verizon PER is a crazy frothy figure at 66!? While AT&T is still high at 27. But looking at Voda's PER whether at LSE or NASDAQ, the current figure above 250 is utopia stuff!

A PER of 27 when applied to mpesa bank's trailing EPS pushes the price to 11.85/- I will not bother with the other crazy PERs mentioned above.

@muganda - if indeed mpesa bank reports next week H1 results showing PBT growth above 30% then the price will easily breeze past 10 and test 11 or break above to around 11.50. Fully year results will be interesting esp for mshwari and mbenki stats. I hope mpesa will be spinned off some day. Less volatile than telco biz.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#547 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 7:39:03 AM

@hisah - There may be other considerations for the price paid. And at some point the pyramid scheme runs out of the suckers! Paying increasingly higher prices [PERs or PBs] will destroy the buyer.
young
#548 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:42:20 PM

young wrote:
the deal wrote:
young wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
Now hit 9.50 - its bull season and then will come bear season.

Yes safaricom price cannot appreciate everyday indefinately. There will be price correction after foreign insitutional investors finish their buying spree. It might touch 10 bob before this happens.
This correction may be momentary because if November expected HY safaricom result is excellent as expected, the bull run will resume past 10 bob on or before early 2014.

I see the bull market euphoria has gotten into your head @MrYoung...Bears feed on Euphoria.

@The deal of Namibia,

Be aware fundamentals is not everything. What drives prices is consistent profit growth not necessarily PE.

ARM with a PE of 29.08 is apprciating at the moment faster than Bamburi with a PE of 17.58.

The big boy EABL has a PE of 38.55, what is driving its price ?

What is making KCB grow faster than Equity ?
It is the HY results. KCB performed better than Equity. But look at the PEs. KCB at 11.44 and equity at 10.51 ? If Equity performs better in Q3 VS KCB, you will see a steep rise in equity, but if KCB outperforms equity, the gap between KCB VS Equity will be wider irrspective of the fact that equity may still have lower PE which means it is cheaper.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#549 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:46:31 PM

young wrote:
the deal wrote:
young wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
Now hit 9.50 - its bull season and then will come bear season.

Yes safaricom price cannot appreciate everyday indefinately. There will be price correction after foreign insitutional investors finish their buying spree. It might touch 10 bob before this happens.
This correction may be momentary because if November expected HY safaricom result is excellent as expected, the bull run will resume past 10 bob on or before early 2014.

I see the bull market euphoria has gotten into your head @MrYoung...Bears feed on Euphoria.

@The deal of Namibia,

Be aware fundamentals is not everything. What drives prices is consistent profit growth not necessarily PE.

ARM with a PE of 29.08 is apprciating at the moment faster than Bamburi with a PE of 17.58.

The big boy EABL has a PE of 38.55, what is driving its price ?

What is making KCB grow faster than Equity ?
It is the HY results. KCB performed better than Equity. But look at the PEs. KCB at 11.44 and equity at 10.51 ? If Equity performs better in Q3 VS KCB, you will see a steep rise in equity, but if KCB outperforms equity, the gap between KCB VS Equity will be wider irrspective of the fact that equity may still have lower PE which means it is cheaper.

@the deal of Namibia,
You owe me a drink when we meet in Nairobi for wrongly accusing me for
being bullish on Safaricom.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#550 Posted : Sunday, December 01, 2013 4:24:59 PM

hisah wrote:
maligumu wrote:
hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
hisah wrote:
Watching the bids build up. I'm interested in the large bids like the 13M @4.55/- The next support level is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/-

VWAP @4.55/-

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly a more sober and humble post from bwana @Hisah.

I posted the above last week to indicating that the floor is being raised from 4/- to 4.50/- based on the bid pattern. How is that drunkardness...

Just received a confirmation that my trade went through @4.55. Im happy to have sold this laggard stock. Having averaged down heavily I leave wit a very small loss and no hard feelings..

Kumbe watu wameumia ! Learn to cut losses early enough and move on . When was the last time Safcom was past 5 sh ? Can't remember well but may be when many were floating in the tide of 2010 January . Next time don't be left floating naked .

Last time mpesa bank was above 5/- was in Jan - Sept 2010.

Seems @obiero got in ard 2010 and refused to grow a thick hide ama skin smile

All the best @obiero, win some, lose some.

Now we wait for simba to push to 40/- in 2013.

Ooops. Definitely dint foresee KES 11. Im human after all. Bought most of my holdings at KES 3.95 and some even lower!!! Though as many know, in stock trading js as it is in life, you have to learn to live with the decisions you make

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45