SME
Office
UN JOBS
Do we have members of Wazua working for the UN? How did you get your job? all the people I know have been applying and non has ever been called for an interview....
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
GalMU wrote:Do we have members of Wazua working for the UN? How did you get your job? all the people I know have been applying and non has ever been called for an interview.... I worked there some time back... lets just say the UN is not all its billed to be! I applied for mine via the jobs.un.org (it was one of the many that I had applied for). Sometime later I was called for an interview and then i got the job!  no tricks no foul! when time to nego came - i realized they were very obtuse! I left my jobo at a telco for a 10k increment! thinking... its my way into the UN system. wacha niingie! i discovered what it means to be a General service staff! I made jobs.un.org my homepage during the first week! Let me tell you - Those people you see driving around are not GS! they are professionals (P) and above. I realized that those P positions kumbe are recruited internationally! people with "multicultural experience". When I met a GS who had been in there for 22 years I decided this was not a place for me. My boss was very good and he appreciated my work and after just 6 months I walked to him and handed my resignation letter.... I left the UN job for a 3 months consultancy!! nilikuwa nimechoka!! no fixed JD, Empire building, a sense of entitlement... I had done so many things in those 6 months I got 2 replacements!! Huko sirudi haraka! Advice - Apply for the P positions ukikosa... sawa.. those general service positions pay peanuts ndio hiyo reference link http://www.un.org/depts/...owances/salaries/gs.htm All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
masukuma wrote:GalMU wrote:Do we have members of Wazua working for the UN? How did you get your job? all the people I know have been applying and non has ever been called for an interview.... I worked there some time back... lets just say the UN is not all its billed to be! I applied for mine via the jobs.un.org (it was one of the many that I had applied for). Sometime later I was called for an interview and then i got the job!  no tricks no foul! when time to nego came - i realized they were very obtuse! I left my jobo at a telco for a 10k increment! thinking... its my way into the UN system. wacha niingie! i discovered what it means to be a General service staff! I made jobs.un.org my homepage during the first week! Let me tell you - Those people you see driving around are not GS! they are professionals (P) and above. I realized that those P positions kumbe are recruited internationally! people with "multicultural experience". When I met a GS who had been in there for 22 years I decided this was not a place for me. My boss was very good and he appreciated my work and after just 6 months I walked to him and handed my resignation letter.... I left the UN job for a 3 months consultancy!! nilikuwa nimechoka!! no fixed JD, Empire building, a sense of entitlement... I had done so many things in those 6 months I got 2 replacements!! Huko sirudi haraka! Advice - Apply for the P positions ukikosa... sawa.. those general service positions pay peanuts ndio hiyo reference link http://www.un.org/depts/...owances/salaries/gs.htm @Masukuma, agreed. I once was seconded there as a specialist and from what I discovered getting the P jobs takes more than just what you see on the advert- ni serious kujuana. As for performance I did serious planning and documentation of implementation designs that they still use to this date (since 2009). Then there is the siasa bit at international level sema ukabila international.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/28/2009 Posts: 353 Location: Cloud
@masukums well put... all that gliters is not Gold! in my days serious kujuana and in some cases bed/boardroom manouvres for others worked well if not better than the faceless jobs page. If u r a P then consider contracted work sio end month peanuts!The Gym was always a better source of info on openings! "For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
I work with a UN agency and I concur with Masukuma. It is pretty difficult to ascend into the professional levels and even harder to join the UN at that level. You have to earn your stripes before you get a P contract.
I started out as an intern (the perfect place to start out). After my internship ended, I made about 12 unsuccessful applications. I finally got in as a junior national staff member before moving onto a G6 contract a year later. I worked for two years and left for my post-graduate studies.
I had established a good rapport with my supervisors and upon completion of my studies, I called them up. The recommended me for a position outside Kenya but within Africa. It was not as Professional staff but as a Consultant, I have been doing this for three years now. Like most UN staff members, I aim to hold a proper P contract sometime soon and I can see it coming. I have friends who have broken into the P ranks much faster.
A little help in the UN goes a long way and there is all the usual office politics (most countries have cartels and their people look out for each other). However, I still find it a pretty fair place to work and the working conditions are good. The sacrifices you have to make to hold a P contract are also huge. There are very few P contracts for Kenyans in Kenya, you have to leave your country to be professional. That means you are most likely to end up in a godforsaken location in a strange country where you might not even be allowed to take your family. The toll on family life in the UN is huge. You are likely to move from one duty station to another often and this can destabilise you and your family.
The link that Masukuma has given indicates what the UN pays and their salaries are not negotiable... and yes Masukuma, the average UN staffer has an immense sense of entitlement. And some can whine!
As for the kujuana, off course it will be there. How else would you recommend someone for a job unless you have worked with them?
Fezzhappy wrote:I work with a UN agency and I concur with Masukuma. It is pretty difficult to ascend into the professional levels and even harder to join the UN at that level. You have to earn your stripes before you get a P contract.
I started out as an intern (the perfect place to start out). After my internship ended, I made about 12 unsuccessful applications. I finally got in as a junior national staff member before moving onto a G6 contract a year later. I worked for two years and left for my post-graduate studies.
I had established a good rapport with my supervisors and upon completion of my studies, I called them up. The recommended me for a position outside Kenya but within Africa. It was not as Professional staff but as a Consultant, I have been doing this for three years now. Like most UN staff members, I aim to hold a proper P contract sometime soon and I can see it coming. I have friends who have broken into the P ranks much faster.
A little help in the UN goes a long way and there is all the usual office politics (most countries have cartels and their people look out for each other). However, I still find it a pretty fair place to work and the working conditions are good. The sacrifices you have to make to hold a P contract are also huge. There are very few P contracts for Kenyans in Kenya, you have to leave your country to be professional. That means you are most likely to end up in a godforsaken location in a strange country where you might not even be allowed to take your family. The toll on family life in the UN is huge. You are likely to move from one duty station to another often and this can destabilise you and your family.
The link that Masukuma has given indicates what the UN pays and their salaries are not negotiable... and yes Masukuma, the average UN staffer has an immense sense of entitlement. And some can whine!
As for the kujuana, off course it will be there. How else would you recommend someone for a job unless you have worked with them? one can always wait 5 years then do that G to P exam and then get placed on a roster. I decided that its not healthy to come home and whine every night to my wife while wondering why exactly i am doing this job! considering I don't drink the benefits of the commissary were pointless. But if you can get a P position utakuwa juu! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 10/19/2009 Posts: 671 Location: Nairobi
@masukuma @fezzhappy, i'm curious, this P level contract you guys talk about, what's their range? when in college, this was one of my dream places to work in.. Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
UN placement is a dream job for almost every young graduate in this country, mainly driven by prestige and of course the perks.Unlike the lucky few's above, I did some two interviews (G level) in two different UN agencies unsuccessfully. Not sure that I harbor the 'dream' anymore. The salary based on advert I saw on ICC (Yes-What many of us call Hague), for a modest P2 level will be circa Kshs 500K...not too much in a foreign land
254.co.ke wrote:UN placement is a dream job for almost every young graduate in this country, mainly driven by prestige and of course the perks.Unlike the lucky few's above, I did some two interviews (G level) in two different UN agencies unsuccessfully. Not sure that I harbor the 'dream' anymore. The salary based on advert I saw on ICC (Yes-What many of us call Hague), for a modest P2 level will be circa Kshs 500K...not too much in a foreign land what people don't understand about P positions are the perks around them. Post Adjustment allowances, Spouse and Children Allowances. School fees for the children (i think upto 6), in Kenya Duty free mafuta, No taxation (per say... kuna kitu inaitwa staff adjustment lakini), a portion of your house rent for a number of years e.t.c. Those are the things that make UN in third world countries a place to work as a P. I know many P's who have pigad kambi hapa and will never leave... those are just too good. For a Kenyan to be A P in Kenya its quite difficult kwanza considering that Kenya is not in the list of under represented countries. Maybe if you were an Uzbekistani or from Laos you would fare much better. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
I think it depends on what one considers good pay - I often do some consultancy work for some of the country offices, when my mitumba business is low and the pay of the developers I get to work with ranges 100-200k, of course depending on how good your cv looks.
but one thing about the un system is that one is better off getting in at a starting point on a higher level - moving between levels is very difficult.
What I have never liked about the place is the blame games, you have to be an expert at shifting blame to others for you to survive especially at senior levels.
SME
Office
UN JOBS