Muslim Women not allowed to drive!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Let's me forget @Mukiri for a moment...
As for driving, women in Islam have a right to move, to go out, for their needs. And if there is need for them to drive, the society has to provide safe & secure environment for them.
Of course, in some places they have not allowed them to drive because they are afraid that women may encounter difficulty and some problem. Not because Islam forbids them. That is only there for their own circumstances, only for their own social structure that they forbid that. For example, in China, women are not allowed to ride motorbikes. Did you know that? And do you agree with that? May be not. So you realized that it is their own circumstances, and they know better why.
You know most of the Muslim countries have not forbidden women from driving. They do drive. Nobody says it is forbidden or it is haram in Islam.
Just understand that in some areas at certain times, people may do that. You may agree with them or you may not agree with them. But that's their own particular circumstance, but it has nothing to do with shariah or Islamic law.
Shariah law is universal law. And universal law has not forbiden anybody from driving, as long as that person knows how to drive, and vehicle is in right condition and those road rules.
So I hope this is clear to all concerned. Boss, hope my name is not a source of dis-pleasure to you. I'd hate to give anyone heartburn. And NO! This is not clear to me. If it is not Islamic law, then why aren't there many women drivers in said country? Hapo iko kitu! I don't live in that country. I didn't make the rules. Neither did you. But why don't you explain to me why your Bible says "let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak;.." (1 Corinthians 14:34-35)? Eh? Explain.
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Let's me forget @Mukiri for a moment...
As for driving, women in Islam have a right to move, to go out, for their needs. And if there is need for them to drive, the society has to provide safe & secure environment for them.
Of course, in some places they have not allowed them to drive because they are afraid that women may encounter difficulty and some problem. Not because Islam forbids them. That is only there for their own circumstances, only for their own social structure that they forbid that. For example, in China, women are not allowed to ride motorbikes. Did you know that? And do you agree with that? May be not. So you realized that it is their own circumstances, and they know better why.
You know most of the Muslim countries have not forbidden women from driving. They do drive. Nobody says it is forbidden or it is haram in Islam.
Just understand that in some areas at certain times, people may do that. You may agree with them or you may not agree with them. But that's their own particular circumstance, but it has nothing to do with shariah or Islamic law.
Shariah law is universal law. And universal law has not forbiden anybody from driving, as long as that person knows how to drive, and vehicle is in right condition and those road rules.
So I hope this is clear to all concerned. Boss, hope my name is not a source of dis-pleasure to you. I'd hate to give anyone heartburn. And NO! This is not clear to me. If it is not Islamic law, then why aren't there many women drivers in said country? Hapo iko kitu! I don't live in that country. I didn't make the rules. Neither did you. But why don't you explain to me why your Bible says "let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak;.." (1 Corinthians 14:34-35)? Eh? Explain. smh Side-shows again  Let's finish with islam, then you can open a thread and ask all the Christian questions you want. If your defense is that you do not live in that country 1. Why did you at first try to defend them? 2. Isn't that your holy land? Shouldn't you atleast know how they do things? If your wives go for haj and drive... will you claim ignorance? 3. Do your wives drive your Subaru?
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Let's me forget @Mukiri for a moment...
So I hope this is clear to all concerned. Boss, hope my name is not a source of dis-pleasure to you. I'd hate to give anyone heartburn. And NO! This is not clear to me. If it is not Islamic law, then why aren't there many women drivers in said country? Hapo iko kitu! I don't live in that country. I didn't make the rules. Neither did you. But why don't you explain to me why your Bible says "let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak;.." (1 Corinthians 14:34-35)? Eh? Explain. smh Side-shows again  Let's finish with islam, then you can open a thread and ask all the Christian questions you want. If your defense is that you do not live in that country 1. Why did you at first try to defend them? <AD reply> Read my post #8 again. If you dont like what they are doing, then it is your problem. Make your rules in your own country.2. Isn't that your holy land? Shouldn't you atleast know how they do things? If your wives go for haj and drive... will you claim ignorance? <AD reply> the subject already informed you that they they don't drive. Or you think during haj rule is removed? Your ignorance again!3. Do your wives drive your Subaru? <AD reply> I don't own a Subaru 1. <AD reply> Read my post #8 again. If you dont like what they are doing, then it is your problem. Make your rules in your own country.2. <AD reply> the subject already informed you that they they don't drive. Or you think during haj rule is removed? Your ignorance again!3. <AD reply> I don't own a Subaru
AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mukiri wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Let's me forget @Mukiri for a moment...
So I hope this is clear to all concerned. Boss, hope my name is not a source of dis-pleasure to you. I'd hate to give anyone heartburn. And NO! This is not clear to me. If it is not Islamic law, then why aren't there many women drivers in said country? Hapo iko kitu! I don't live in that country. I didn't make the rules. Neither did you. But why don't you explain to me why your Bible says "let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak;.." (1 Corinthians 14:34-35)? Eh? Explain. smh Side-shows again  Let's finish with islam, then you can open a thread and ask all the Christian questions you want. If your defense is that you do not live in that country 1. Why did you at first try to defend them? <AD reply> Read my post #8 again. If you dont like what they are doing, then it is your problem. Make your rules in your own country.2. Isn't that your holy land? Shouldn't you atleast know how they do things? If your wives go for haj and drive... will you claim ignorance? <AD reply> the subject already informed you that they they don't drive. Or you think during haj rule is removed? Your ignorance again!3. Do your wives drive your Subaru? <AD reply> I don't own a Subaru 1. <AD reply> Read my post #8 again. If you dont like what they are doing, then it is your problem. Make your rules in your own country.2. <AD reply> the subject already informed you that they they don't drive. Or you think during haj rule is removed? Your ignorance again!3. <AD reply> I don't own a Subaru  Sawa sawa. Take it easy tho'
Some of us are too deep into foreign religions forgetting the beliefs of their ancestors.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Been following this story in the news. Apparently, there's no specific Saudi Arabian law that explicitly bans or forbids women from driving, but driving licences are not normally issued to women. One of the lady drivers participating in the protest and interviewed on BBC says she obtained her DL from Dubai. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Reading through most posts here, one gets to terms with just how paplable Religious passsions can get. Though as you would expect, I have my thoughts in that regard, for now I will try to steer clear of the open ended controversy. As regards the Title of the thread, I think it's in order. One can't say everything in the title - the details that follow expound on the matter in a way that achieves clarity. That aside, any rule, whether enshrined in law or just some practice - that forbids Women from driving is repugnant, discriminatory, archaic and retrogressive. It gets worse when the Government is the main enforcer of the rule. However much we may wish to bury our heads in the sand, it is clear that the proponents of the rule explain it in religious terms. Remember it's by sheer happenstance that you and I were born Men, and the same applies to the Womenfolk here. Imagine yourself as a Woman in Saudi Arabia with such restrictions around your life. Cant drive, cant go out alone to do some shopping, you are practically held hostage by these dictates - simply sickening. Are the Women there allowed to challenge these shackles in Court. Hoping that their lives wont be threatened for taking such a move. Dunia ni msongamano..
Saudia is a strange country. The IOC had o twist their arms to allow for female athletes at the Olympics. 2 women participated. one a Saudi living in America and one from Saudi Arabia. The unlucky girl is still being abused and threatened just coz she participated in the Olympics. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
bkismat wrote:Saudia is a strange country. The IOC had o twist their arms to allow for female athletes at the Olympics. 2 women participated. one a Saudi living in America and one from Saudi Arabia. The unlucky girl is still being abused and threatened just coz she participated in the Olympics. was that the girl who ran fully covered, and got a standing ovation when she came in last. well its their laws, whether religious or not - would love to see their men soccer team play with kanzus
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
I think people have a very bad impression of Islam for various reasons. I used to be like this too. However, I visited an Islamic country and came to realize that the religion is actually quite good and strong. Muslims have a very strong bond which is displayed in the way they relate to each other. They behave like sisters and brothers. I find it amazing. You cannot fail to get help, unconditional help in times of need. And in fact I was very suprised with their way of life. Very different from how I imagined it eor heard about it. Islam is a good religion, principally. The true Islam is good. However, like all other religions, people tend to misinterpret the teachings and implement their own laws and restrictions. And this is what spoils the good name of Islam. Christians would be in big trouble if we implemented even a quarter of what the bible says regarding women and men. Hahahaha. Nonetheless, Saudi Arabia is in a category of its own kabisa kabisa.
Muslim Women not allowed to drive!