wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Uninspiring Kenyan university motto
MADE
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 3:46:34 PM

My Research thru observation indicates that local institutions of higher learning either imitate one another or simply come up with boring, uninspiring n very tired mottos.Infact that one of KU sounds like it's of a primary school. Have Wazuans also noticed this?
Sample:

Knowledge is a source of strength- KU

Education and training for the real world- Technical University

A world class university for the advancement of humanity- Egerton

Unitate et Labore (In Unity and Work) - UoN

Foundation of Knowledge - Moi

Fountain of excellence- Maseno

The University of choice- MMUST

To set trends in Higher Education, Research and Innovation -JKUAT
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 3:51:41 PM

MADE wrote:
My Research thru observation indicates that local institutions of higher learning either imitate one another or simply come up with boring, uninspiring n very tired mottos.Infact that one of KU sounds like it's of a primary school. Have Wazuans also noticed this?
Sample:

Take a look at this...

http://cornell.elliottba...ivy-league-latin-mottos/
MADE
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:02:16 PM

[quote=MADE]My Research thru observation indicates that local institutions of higher learning either imitate one another or simply come up with boring, uninspiring n very tired mottos.Infact that one of KU sounds like it's of a primary school. Have Wazuans also noticed this?
Sample:

Take a look at this...

http://cornell.elliottba...vy-league-latin-mottos/[/quote]

Some in Latin world are quite peculiar!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:09:23 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Eti knowlegde is a source of strength!!!!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:12:52 PM

MADE wrote:
Sample:

I will love this forever..
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 6:20:43 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Eti knowlegde is a source of strength!!!!!

Did they mean 'Knowledge is power'?
kollabo
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 6:46:52 PM

MADE wrote:

This one was simpy plagiarized from UNISA

http://www.unisa.ac.za/D...ent&ContentID=20572
maligumu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:21:17 PM

kollabo wrote:
MADE wrote:

What became of Sic Donec.
Peace be with you
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:34:47 PM

They were thinking in kiuk and put the thoughts on papet
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:49:56 PM

maligumu wrote:
kollabo wrote:
MADE wrote:

hehe... naona wewe ni mtu wa njoro!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:51:26 PM

They were thinking in kiuk and put the thoughts on papet

He he he
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:33:09 PM

What of Inoorero university which is purely their language,I doubt its authenticity.
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 7:04:26 AM

maligumu wrote:
kollabo wrote:
MADE wrote:

hehe... naona wewe ni mtu wa njoro!

i remember how it was corrupted to sick donkeys smile
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:52:59 PM

How about KEMU's ' The future is here!' Nkt
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:58:49 PM

Robinhood wrote:

Oops, turns they have two. The 'future' and labore est orare (to labour is to pray)
MADE
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 5:37:49 PM

Robinhood wrote:

Oops, turns they have two. The 'future' and labore est orare (to labour is to pray)

...na hii mambo ya kutumia Latin/Spanish or French yet the official medium of communication is either English or Kiswahili haileti shangwe kabisa! i hope in TZ we have Kiswahili mottos
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 5:56:08 PM

MADE wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

...na hii mambo ya kutumia Latin/Spanish or French yet the official medium of communication is either English or Kiswahili haileti shangwe kabisa! i hope in TZ we have Kiswahili mottos

KU's motto isn't Elimu ni Nguvu?
iMANI
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 6:06:18 PM

MADE wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

KU's motto isn't Elimu ni Nguvu?

If I recall....the "v" was changed into an "m" to read "Elimu ni Ngumu"...smile smile
Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.