wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

Debez in KDF
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 3:56:19 PM

Coming your way soon!
Bright students in secondary schools who dream of joining the Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) as privates will have to shelve their desires after a senior military officer said they wonโ€™t be accepted.

si sasa ndio mutajionea movies!!

Rink!
http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/11nxilk/-/index.html
mkonomtupu
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:19:17 PM

makes perfect sense to me why would you need to train some bright chaps on how to kill people no reasoning is required in that. For privates you need someone who you can give commands to who accepts the command without question that how the military works. Even america recruits from poor neighborhoods and people with low school grades for their lower cadre infantry troops.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:25:58 PM

Can't believe a senior person in the army or any organisation for that matter can make such a statement publicly.

People get good grades because of hardwork, and not coz they are any brighter than the debez that flop, did anyone tell this to Brig. Magut!!

So what did this Brig get?
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:31:00 PM

The WW III will not be fought with rungus and nyahunyos. It will be fought (and won) by superior intelligence and technology. Even the drones to be used will be flown by overweight geeks sitting in dungeons at the barracks. There's no room for dunderheads, maybe for the WW IV.
mkonomtupu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:35:58 PM

please understand a private in the army is the lowest rank a.k.a kanda ya moko the guys who dig trenches and run around.

The commissioned officers COs i.e from lieutenats, captains, majors are the ones who need a grade of B
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:47:38 PM

Explains why greencard holders easily get absorbed into the army huko majuu!!!!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:47:51 PM

[quote=masukuma]Coming your way soon!
Bright students in secondary schools who dream of joining the Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) as privates will have to shelve their desires after a senior military officer said they wonโ€™t be accepted.

si sasa ndio mutajionea movies!!Sad Sad Sad

Rink!
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/11nxilk/-/index.html[/quote]

No hapana Please read the entire statement and dont quote out of contextShame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Only those with grades between B- and the minimum requirement of D+ are being considered for recruitment as privates, the lowest rank, in the ongoing exercise. But those with higher grades still have the possibility to join as cadets. [Mbona hii haukusoma???]

Implying there are different entry levels

Kurutu za rungu
technicians
professionals
na hao wasomi wengine

point is even on payscales if you hire indiscriminately ther shall be manunguniko ya mshahara and ranks... between the 'swots' and hawa jamaa wengine who are good with their hands and other skills and not necessarily vitabu... without prejudice if you know what i mean

even in private sector and other HR practices you find guys insisting and hiring Diploma and certiticate holders and ignoring graduates...

wazua hayo
"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:49:20 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
please understand a private in the army is the lowest rank a.k.a kanda ya moko the guys who dig trenches and run around.

The commissioned officers COs i.e from lieutenats, captains, majors are the ones who need a grade of B
. DITTO

The rank and file of any military is composed as stipulated by the Officer. Anyone joining as a commissioned officer must be a graduate, the lowest ranks are not for fellows with further ambitions than being a career soldier, not a BRIDGE for further advancement. Ask the Kenya Police and the problems they have with graduates who quit immediately after 3 years of specialized training for greener pastures.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 6:50:52 PM

@Siringi

I disagree with your reasoning. First of all as I had stated, poor grades in high school are mostly a result of poor work, and lack of commitment by students.

Why can't they go for strong, fast and physically gifted guys who also worked hard in school.

Don't compare with the US or other countries where they accept any comers into the military coz of lack of interest by the general population.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 7:14:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Siringi

I disagree with your reasoning. First of all as I had stated, poor grades in high school are mostly a result of poor work, and lack of commitment by students.

Why can't they go for strong, fast and physically gifted guys who also worked hard in school.

Don't compare with the US or other countries where they accept any comers into the military coz of lack of interest by the general population.

They will take numerous offs to go do high studies and leave the barracks empty and thus will not be available to attack Al Shaabab when needed.