18 Pages«<23456>»
Lupita Nyong'o
#61 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 4:59:08 PM

Museveni wrote:
madollar wrote:

Who decides the winner is it members of the public ama some people in sitting in a room .. however it is done oprah is big in the states. it will be a huge upset if lupita wins..

Lupita wins = more publicity

Hii ni PR business

They say "There is no such thing as bad publicity"

The image of prof. will rise ten fold and 2017 baba may just ride on this wave!

wacha tucheke Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so how will it go at a rally? nikishida hii kiti, nitahakikisha kila mtu hapa amepata Oscar!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#62 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 5:05:44 PM

Museveni wrote:
madollar wrote:

Who decides the winner is it members of the public ama some people in sitting in a room .. however it is done oprah is big in the states. it will be a huge upset if lupita wins..

Hii ni PR business

May at times the supporting actress has gone to a woman of colour....I see Lupita scooping this one!!!!!

So is Oprah

One is a new entrant!!!

Oprah has also never won an oscar so she needs it as bad. Julia roberts I think has won one to date!
#63 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 11:13:14 AM

Museveni wrote:
madollar wrote:

Hii ni PR business

May at times the supporting actress has gone to a woman of colour....I see Lupita scooping this one!!!!!

So is Oprah

One is a new entrant!!!

Oprah has also never won an oscar so she needs it as bad. Julia roberts I think has won one to date!

With her film 'The Butler' crossing the $100 million mark, Oprah Winfrey is lobbying hard to clinch an Oscar for the Best Supporting Actress. However, many industry pundits feel that more than Winfrey Lupita Nyong'o's performance in 'Tweleve Years A Slave' is worthy of winning an Oscar.

key word is lobbying she can even call michelle obama to get that oscar
Museveni
#64 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 11:22:47 AM

madollar wrote:
Museveni wrote:
madollar wrote:

Hii ni PR business

So is Oprah

One is a new entrant!!!

With her film 'The Butler' crossing the $100 million mark, Oprah Winfrey is lobbying hard to clinch an Oscar for the Best Supporting Actress. However, many industry pundits feel that more than Winfrey Lupita Nyong'o's performance in 'Tweleve Years A Slave' is worthy of winning an Oscar.

key word is lobbying she can even call michelle obama to get that oscar

On this we need @mawinder's services sasa.

Apigie O.W amwambie to back-down. We got this one.

She can just talk Lupita apitie kwa ile talk show yake after the ceremony.

We will even let her keep the Oscar statuette. smile
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
#65 Posted : Saturday, October 12, 2013 3:15:32 PM

http://ht.ly/pKzgU
#66 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:43:06 AM

and she bags her first hollywood award

#67 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 8:51:09 AM

I'm so happy for her! Always thought Eddie Githengi would be the first Kenyan to come close to an Oscar...

#68 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 9:44:26 AM

butterflyke wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Congratulations. Let's hope that talent comes to build her home country, whenever she can.

Tokyo
#69 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:13:56 AM

Congrats Lupita.
Life is a bi**ch. When your father incited your age mates loosing or ruining their lives, You were acquiring knowledge and experience at Yale.
Lesson learned
work to prosper
#70 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:18:57 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Congrats Lupita.
Life is a bi**ch. When your father incited your age mates loosing or ruining their lives, You were acquiring knowledge and experience at Yale.
Lesson learned

Completely it is...Kethi never bothered to register in makueni to vote for her father. Twice I burnt fuel worth ksh 6,000 +tear and wear of my vehicle+time to go register and again go vote. Foolish me. I learnt my lesson!
#71 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:52:01 AM

It is inspiring to see this words written about a Kenyan. You see Kenyans are world class, as bright as the stars, and we often don't even have a clue...

Well there’s also Oprah, for her work in The Butler. But lovely Lupita Nyong’o is coming on strong. Nyong’o received the New Hollywood Award last night for her performance in 12 Years A Slave, introduced by the ageless Angela Bassett. Nyong’o’s emotional speech – full of gratitude and humility and charm – was one of the favourites of the evening. And her momentum is surging. They’re now saying she’s not only a legitimate challenge to the Mighty O, with the right campaign strategy, she could very well win. And this is great. Because she’s great. And her talent is great. And …

Holy sh-t does she have some game on the red carpet.

Now that’s how you elevate an ordinary dress. Check out that lip colour too. This is an emerging superstar.
http://www.laineygossip.com/Lup...lywood-Film-Awards/28403

#72 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:59:57 AM

Good stuff, congrats to Lupita!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:06:40 AM

kudos to the lady, she has done her family proud.
I am not a movie person, lakini nitatafuta hii ikotokelezea.
rryyzz
#74 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:13:50 AM

muganda wrote:
It is inspiring to see this words written about a Kenyan. You see Kenyans are world class, as bright as the stars, and we often don't even have a clue...

Well there’s also Oprah, for her work in The Butler. But lovely Lupita Nyong’o is coming on strong. Nyong’o received the New Hollywood Award last night for her performance in 12 Years A Slave, introduced by the ageless Angela Bassett. Nyong’o’s emotional speech – full of gratitude and humility and charm – was one of the favourites of the evening. And her momentum is surging. They’re now saying she’s not only a legitimate challenge to the Mighty O, with the right campaign strategy, she could very well win. And this is great. Because she’s great. And her talent is great. And …

Holy sh-t does she have some game on the red carpet.

Now that’s how you elevate an ordinary dress. Check out that lip colour too. This is an emerging superstar.
http://www.laineygossip.com/Lup...lywood-Film-Awards/28403

Applause Applause Applause Applause Well done gal. You have done us proud, you go gal...
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#75 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:27:44 AM

Is the movie available at River road? Joking! Where can I get a copy?
#76 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 12:27:10 PM

butterflyke wrote:

Luoz are up there, for real.
I hope RAO will meet her during his CORD-Governors trip hapo US.

urstill1
#77 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 12:52:19 PM

I'm so happy for her! Always thought Eddie Githengi would be the first Kenyan to come close to an Oscar...

Must it be a competition?
#78 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 12:54:37 PM

Nyar seme, ndiyo hiyo Applause Applause Applause
MKWASI
#79 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 2:09:49 PM

Hongera Lupita....pass my regards to Prof for the superb mentorship.
#80 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 2:50:49 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Must it be a competition?

Aren't the Oscars a competition?
Anyway, what I meant is I knew a Kenyan would win an Oscar one day just wouldn't have guessed her. I also know Kenyans will win Grammy and my guess would be Sauti Soul but that's just my guess, get it?