wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Am Racist
Pretty
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:37:00 AM

TRUE STORY ABOUT RACISM

U may have watched the recent taping of the Oprah Winfrey Show.

The show where her guest was Tommy Hilfiger. On the show,she asked him if the statements about race. He was accused of saying were true.
Statements like'...'If I'd known African-Americans,Hispanics,Jewish and Asians would buy my clothes,I WOULD NOT have made them so nice. I wish these people would *NOT* buy my clothes,as they are made for upper class pink people'

His answer to Oprah was a simple 'YES'.
Where after she immediately asked him to leave her show.

My suggestion? Don't buy your next shirt or perfume from Tommy Hilfiger.
Let's give him what he asked for. Let's not buy his clothes,let's put
Him in a financial state where he himself will not be able to afford the ridiculous prices he puts on his clothes.

BOYCOTT.

PLEASE SEND THIS MESSAGE TO ANYONE YOU KNOW.
Stop buying any range of his (Tommy H etc) product,perfume,cosmetics,
clothes,bags,etc.,
'please do not Delete it without sending it
to at least one person'.

v Got this via E-mail

v Did any one see the show

v Cauze,if it is true

v Am through with Hilfiger clad

>>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh.
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall?
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
jaribu
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:47:00 AM

pretty

ave done a thorough research and i can conclusively reveal to you..... that was a big fat lie. nothing of the sort happened!

from the oprah site,tommy hilfiger talks about this rumor mill.

http://www.oprah.com/sli...prahshow1_ss_20070502/2

keep enjoying your tommy gear!

ReAL mEn DoN't WeAr TiEs!
The General
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:50:00 AM

Oprah's Statement:
I've Never Even Met Tommy Hilfiger

'So I want to just set the record straight once and for all. The rumor claims that clothing designer Tommy Hilfiger came on this show and made racist remarks,and that I then kicked him out. I just want to say that is not true because it just never happened. Tommy Hilfiger has never appeared on this show. READ MY LIPS,Tommy Hilfiger HAS NEVER APPEARED ON THIS SHOW. And all of [the] people who claim that they saw it,they heard it it never happened. I've never even met Tommy Hilfiger.'

Taped live on 'The Oprah Winfrey Show'
January 11,1999

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Pretty
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:54:00 AM

@Jaribu

v Thanks trial

v You are such a wonderful brother

v Continue attempting

v And you will finally make it

v And make it big

v Ever thought of when you will get the big break in life?

v By the way,go for moderator of SK

v Wendz also

v And Willing2learn

v And Kingfisher

v And Djinn

v And Alphadoti

v Woi,we got talent here

v Sasha,Leona,etc

v Where is newhere

>>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh.
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall?
>>>>>>

Where do you fall?
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 10:36:00 AM

Don't believe everything you read...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Djinn
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 11:39:00 AM

that email must have gone around the world abt 5,672 times - I recall i saw it first around 1999 - in the good days of dial up internet at Kshs 15,000 per month (plus the local call bill)...@pretty - thanks hun,for the nomination smile

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 2:40:00 PM

Thank you @The general for putting that matter safely to rest,hopefully for the final time!

Wondergirl
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 3:39:00 PM

I actually watched that programme on K.B.C last year where Opra Said its all a big lie.
Ali Baba
#9 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 4:11:00 PM

PRETTY<

I think you live in a time warp. That's a very old show. It's more than 5 years old. It is no longer news.

Ali Baba
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 7:42:00 PM

mtaalam
#11 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 6:12:00 AM

SK,why is this post in Biz Ideas?
I'm sure metamorphosis will sort the apostrophe and other issues.

...ili iwe funzo!
jaribu
#12 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 7:20:00 AM

@pretty:

you asked me...

'Ever thought of when you will get the big break in life?'

My reply:

No,I have never thought about getting a big break in life. During the course of my job,I interact with so many different people from various ethnic and financial backgrounds. I'm the type that likes engaging people in deep conversations whether it's on a bus ride to the coast,on a flight to London or a matatu ride to my shagz. More importantly,I like listening when different people be they lawyers,mechanics or mama mbogas go to great lengths to pour their hearts out. Believe me most people I talk to are not also bothered by the so called big breaks which some of us are obssesed with. They appreciate being alive,happy and great health as more important. One day I met this filthy rich old man who was ailing with cancer who told me he could give everything,all his assets,to recapture his youth and regain good health. It just goes to show that being healthy is actually more important than that wealth! This rich man would look at some healthy but homeless man and wish to be in his position! My point is,everyday is just a blessing,live it well and be thankful for the small mercies! There are millions of people in this world who wish to be in your pretty....pun intended.... shoes today.

ReAL mEn DoN't WeAr TiEs!
#13 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 8:12:00 AM

@Pretty

Those remarks were made some ten years ago live on Oprah. It was big news. This new denial thing is recent. All the Tommy Hilfiger T-shirts in my house became dusters then and I never bought any other pieces. Tommy Hilfger ceased to be big. I doubt whether any of the people belonging to any of the mentioned races can touch anything from the guy in the US. He did himself in.

People ask why,I ask why not?
tony stark
#14 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 8:44:00 AM

Pretty umetumwa na SK admin to test SK community?

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
The Real Shaft
#15 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 9:06:00 AM

BTW,

I haven't come across...

Tommy Hilthingummummy......

in the draft constitution.....

what article...???

macho ya chura......

this post is what we call.....

an unnecessary information.......

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Kamaa
#16 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 9:52:00 AM

it is history and inconsequential...

we better move on...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Pretty
#17 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 10:10:00 AM

@Tony Stark

v No,I have not been sent

v Why would guys assume I was around ten years ago

v I was a child by then and international news did not register much in my universe

v Woiye,can’t you feel me

@TRS

v TRS,I give you wanted

v Come to The Hutch,and I will disorganize you

v Either through prayers

v Or by any other means necessary

>>>>>>

Where do you fall?
The Real Shaft
#18 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 12:19:00 PM

pretty*.....

my heart is racing from...

anti-cipation.....

hope it shall not be from....

a disease called....

anti-climax.....

we haven't found a vaccine yet.... but i hear we are getting there......

hope SKenge* hype...

shall also not disappoint...

we boast a very susceptible constitution...

our hearts are not that strong.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
rock
#19 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 10:50:56 AM

Kwani this thread is mutating already??..but tis a good thing that story isn't true coz one of my Sunday best is a very cute Tommy Hilfiger shirt that i would not want to give up!Shame on you
Phaoro
#20 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 4:33:25 PM

@ Jaribu,

Thanks for posting the link