8 Pages<1234>»
African Proverbs... and their meanings
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 9:40:43 PM

Weka wega niwe weika, na weka uuru nowe weika. Kikuyu

Loosely translated it say 'If you do good, you do it unto yourself and in equal measure, if you do bad, you do it unto yourself'

An example is, if you go about abusing people in due time you'll start complaining that people are abusing you. And in equal measure, if you are good to people, you might wonder why people are so good to you.

you need to apply this proverb!

I try. Especially when I share the Gospel.

You too might want to give it a try instead of behaving like a toilet house fly and following someone to antagonize them. I said it before, if you expect perfection, try Jesus Christ. Following me with a microscope only gains my pity.

I do not expect perfection from you. Just be more humble and stop hating on Luos.
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 9:43:26 PM

Utathiaga oigaga no nyina urugaga wega. (one who never travels from home thinks that the mother is the only good cook)
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 9:44:42 PM

Weka wega niwe weika, na weka uuru nowe weika. Kikuyu

Loosely translated it say 'If you do good, you do it unto yourself and in equal measure, if you do bad, you do it unto yourself'

An example is, if you go about abusing people in due time you'll start complaining that people are abusing you. And in equal measure, if you are good to people, you might wonder why people are so good to you.

you need to apply this proverb!

I try. Especially when I share the Gospel.

You too might want to give it a try instead of behaving like a toilet house fly and following someone to antagonize them. I said it before, if you expect perfection, try Jesus Christ. Following me with a microscope only gains my pity.

I do not expect perfection from you. Just be more humble and stop hating on Luos.

Quite some contradiction thered'oh! What you expect is your own business. I'll repeat, following me with a microscope will earn one pity. Your endeavors would be best placed elsewhere.

#24 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 9:54:22 PM

Stop imagining that I am following you @mukiri. I am not. I know it makes you feel good but sorry, I am not. The moment I saw that article I remembered you. I remembered someone else too and tagged them on fb. Wasn't doing it out of hate. But when you see the bride of Christ being maligned coz of you, get concerned. Let your deeds so shine before men that they may see your good works(and hear your seasoned words?) and glorify your father in heaven.
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 10:02:35 PM

and on proverbs my good brother, Nazi mbovu harabu ya nzima-a bad coconut will spoil the whole heap. Is it fair for the much respected CITAM/NPC to be dragged into mud because of one member?
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 10:07:20 PM

undugu ni kufaana ndugu si kufanana. Your brother is the one who assists you not the one who looks like you.
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 10:27:07 PM

The first rule of holes is when you're in one, stop digging. Mchimba kisima, huingia mwenyewe.

You stress my point further. Like Titan in Greek mythology who carries the world on his shoulders, you have decided I'm your brother and you want to 'faana' me? Then you do some skewed arithmetic and decide since I worship in CITAM, me and CITAM are one? (Maybe You should come listen to some of the testimonies, you'd have a mouthful to say of the worshipers). When you read your stories, meditate on God, don't remember me; for I'm like you flesh and blood. Not better nor worse.

Put your microscope on God.

#28 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:09:18 PM

I have seen NPC get mentioned adversely here by people you were engaging in your rude manner. That's where the much respected CITAM family comes in. I do not follow you. I read scripture for myself and though you are older than me agewise(from one of your posts) I might be older than you in the faith. I suggest you go through that article again, it's good for all Christians, the way we interact with others is important.
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:12:32 PM

By the way, ndugu ni kufanana has nothing to do with your character, just continuing with the topic!
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:30:00 PM

I don't know if this applies as an African proverb, but it was a favorite of a former colleague... 'Men are not your mother!'

So you have seen something mentioned somewhere and it irks you. This something happens to be a PUBLIC place of worship. Not your property. And yet you feel the need to pass your emotions?(a misplaced notion that, like your mother, I care?)

Notwithstanding that it was a conversation I was having with someone else (eavesdropping?) and in a manner that to you seemed rude(hope you are not in any way insinuating that I need to pass my posts by you, just to ensure that they meet your 'humility' level).

And then you have the audacity to point out your youthfulness(or is it immaturity?) and further gloat that in you is more Bible than is in me(so if you got saved earlier than I did, means you are more 'educated' Biblically?) Have you come up with a grading system?

Someone please tell me how to swat this pesky young toilet house-flyPray

#31 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:35:07 PM

Post 30 is interesting, brother! 1 question. Did you read the article?
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:40:24 PM

I don't know if this applies as an African proverb, but it was a favorite of a former colleague... 'Men are not your mother!'

So you have seen something mentioned somewhere and it irks you. This something happens to be a PUBLIC place of worship. Not your property. And yet you feel the need to pass your emotions?(a misplaced notion that, like your mother, I care?)

Notwithstanding that it was a conversation I was having with someone else (eavesdropping?) and in a manner that to you seemed rude(hope you are not in any way insinuating that I need to pass my posts by you, just to ensure that they meet your 'humility' level).

And then you have the audacity to point out your youthfulness(or is it immaturity?) and further gloat that in you is more Bible than is in me(so if you got saved earlier than I did, means you are more 'educated' Biblically?) Have you come up with a grading system?

Someone please tell me how to swat this pesky young toilet house-flyPray

You MIGHT be right on some things up there. But emotional? Not me. Leo niko bila
Wakanyugi
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:46:13 PM

Haiya! Tafsiri hii:

1. Ukistaajabu ya Musa, ngojea ya Firauni

2. Trust in God but tie your donkey

3. Mwaki wa Ngai uraragio ni magoto (The fire of god is slept by banana leaves)
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 17, 2013 11:51:49 PM

smh

Let me drink from my cistern (for you young thing, thats Conjugals) thus use my time wisely. Wewe nimekuwachia Mungu wako. I think I now have you placed and you might not hear from me again, as much as you keep flying and sniffing my buttocks.

Good nightsmile

#35 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 12:02:44 AM

Oh and before I forget
1. Respect your elders... It was the first thing I was taught as a child

2. Asiyefunzwa na mamayake hufunzwa na ulimwengu... incase you were not taught No. 1 above

3. When I was a child, I spoke as a child... Am sure as an 'old' Christian, you know where to find that verse

Good night(re-mixed)smile

#36 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 12:07:10 AM

smh

Let me drink from my cistern (for you young thing, thats Conjugals) thus use my time wisely. Wewe nimekuwachia Mungu wako. I think I now have you placed and you might not hear from me again, as much as you keep flying and sniffing my buttocks.

Good nightsmile

Goodnight Mukiri, didn't know you're married. I will do an apology thread to you kesho. It is my fault that you are hurling insults at me.
#37 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 12:11:04 AM

Oh and before I forget
1. Respect your elders... It was the first thing I was taught as a child

2. Asiyefunzwa na mamayake hufunzwa na ulimwengu... incase you were not taught No. 1 above

3. When I was a child, I spoke as a child... Am sure as an 'old' Christian, you know where to find that verse

Good night(re-mixed)smile

Point no.1 ndio baaba!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly umefanya nicheke usiku bana! Enyewe words develop funny meanings depending on goggles!
#38 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 6:59:10 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Haiya! Tafsiri hii:

1. Ukistaajabu ya Musa, ngojea ya Firauni

2. Trust in God but tie your donkey

3. Mwaki wa Ngai uraragio ni magoto (The fire of god is slept by banana leaves)

Hiyo ya pili I think is Persian, where they say 'trust God but tie your camel'. All the same, meaning and usage is universal I guess.smile
mkeiyd
#39 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 7:53:58 AM

‘‘When a tsetse fly perches on your scrotum, it takes great skill not force, to kill it."
mkeiyd
#40 Posted : Friday, October 18, 2013 7:56:35 AM

"If the throat can swallow a knife, the anus must find a way of expelling it’’