wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Strawberry farming
ekahindi
#21 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2013 8:38:49 PM

i've planted the Day-neutral variety.

I've also managed to get other info on strawberries in the following link.http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/article-112810/kiambu-farmer-finds-fortune-strawberry-flower-bed.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 10:26:22 AM

Any updates on the projects?
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 1:34:34 PM

I'd love to know this... where are the farmers to update us on their experience.
Blackout
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 3:40:56 PM

hiya...strawberry farmers wako quiet..ama waliharvest pesa ikawa mingi sasa wamenyamaza...
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 9:13:50 AM

I planted a few in my kitchen garden two weeks ago. For now watering twice a day.I dont know what variety they are but I bought them from KARI Thika.
Chaka
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 9:28:51 AM

Euge wrote:
I planted a few in my kitchen garden two weeks ago. For now watering twice a day.I dont know what variety they are but I bought them from KARI Thika.

How old are the KARI seedlings and how much do they cost?
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 12:04:07 PM

Chaka wrote:
Euge wrote:

How old are the KARI seedlings and how much do they cost?

They had just transplanted them when I bought. Not sure of the exact age. I bought at 30 bob each
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 12:14:06 PM

I found this http://dumisha.com/grow-strawberries-seeds/
#29 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 9:42:27 AM

I'd love to know this... where are the farmers to update us on their experience.

Incase farmers dont come back and you are still interested, do a trip to Gitau's demo farm in Kabuku limuru in the neighbourhood of St Pauls University.His contact is 0722639716.

He will advise on the areas that they can be grown and the variety for your given soil.

He can also help in setting up your shamba and offer follow-up consultancy.In addition he has variety of herbs...Rosemary,Thyme,Mint,Lemon Grass,wheatgrass etc.He charges 500/=.

Another demo place is in Thika the former UTI Indutrial park.They even have the seedlings selling at between 80/= and 120/=.They demonstrate on how to grow them in green houses and shaded houses as well as some additives that they manufacture to make them sweet.

I planted afew in pots and they did well for sometime.(as in they produced huge succulent fruits)After that for about 6 months they have just been producing beautiful green leaves.I must have done something wrong.Will be going back to consult.

#30 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 10:28:39 PM

I got strawberry seedlings to sell at 30 bob each. Let me know if you need.
Chaka
#31 Posted : Saturday, October 12, 2013 11:25:37 AM

Euge wrote:

@Euge,
Location?
kryptonite
#32 Posted : Saturday, October 12, 2013 3:18:54 PM

Incase farmers dont come back and you are still interested, do a trip to Gitau's demo farm in Kabuku limuru in the neighbourhood of St Pauls University.His contact is 0722639716.

He will advise on the areas that they can be grown and the variety for your given soil.

He can also help in setting up your shamba and offer follow-up consultancy.In addition he has variety of herbs...Rosemary,Thyme,Mint,Lemon Grass,wheatgrass etc.He charges 500/=.

Another demo place is in Thika the former UTI Indutrial park.They even have the seedlings selling at between 80/= and 120/=.They demonstrate on how to grow them in green houses and shaded houses as well as some additives that they manufacture to make them sweet.

I planted afew in pots and they did well for sometime.(as in they produced huge succulent fruits)After that for about 6 months they have just been producing beautiful green leaves.I must have done something wrong.Will be going back to consult.

Read somewhere that those beautiful green leaves are highly sought after by florists for decorating bouquets.

The harder you work, the luckier you get
#33 Posted : Saturday, October 12, 2013 11:04:22 PM

Chaka wrote:
Euge wrote:

@Euge,
Location?

Here in Nairobi
kollabo
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 15, 2013 2:10:02 PM

@Euge hebu weka simu nikuvutie waya!