What does your spouse do for a living
#101 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 2:46:00 PM

And this must be the 100th reply.

Can silence be misquoted?
sheep
#102 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 2:51:00 PM

Its clear Pretty is a mhindi...she studies under the GCE system while sisi ma-retards used the 8-4-4 mafi akilini system
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Jacy26
#103 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 2:55:00 PM

You guys are just so funny.... he he he. I think I'll even dream of this thread tonight when I go to sleep. Some guys r just beyond repair!!!

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#104 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 3:29:00 PM

...was just wondering how much memory space in our brains is reserved for issues to do with moneymaking...and is it expandable???

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
sokomjinga
#105 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 5:09:00 PM

Swali langu kwa @Mrembo aka @Pretty ni hili?

Je sisi ambao hatukuweza hata kununua vitabu vya fasihi,na kwa hivyo hatukuisoma,tunaweza kuwa twatumia kiasi gani cha akili zetu?

Wajinga kama mimi twawezaje kuepuka kuwa watumwa wa wengine. Lakini nakwambia ni heri kuwa mtumwa kuliko kuwa mwombaji. Na ni kama ulivyosema hapo awali, wanaume wengine ni lazima wawe watumwa. Lakini utumwa ni wa aina nyingi - na ikiwa wataka bwanako asiajiriwe kazi ili awe mtumwa wako huko nyumbani,basi namhurumia! Utakachomuomba Mungu atakupa. Endelea kuomba na hatimaye utakipata utakacho.

Yaonekana wafanya kazi katika Shirika lisilo la Kiserikali. Huko ndiko wapata pesa zako? Pesa aina hiyo ni ya kuomba na uombaji nauchukia kabisa. Ni kheri kuwa mtumwa kuliko kuomba. Ama pengine wapeleka pesa za babako huko shirikani?

Mimi na Mke wangu tu watumwa,na twamshukuru Mungu sana kwa kutupa fursa ya kuweza kuwatumikia Wakenya kwa utumwa wetu.

Je waalimu wako huko ulikosomea si walikuwa watumwa pia? Bila wao pengine hungeweza kusema hayo unayojaribu kutuambia.

@ Mrembo - Akili nyingi huondoa maarifa!

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
The Phantom
#106 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 6:46:00 PM

.....misconceptions zote,typos zote na hata grammatical errors zozote kwenye maoni ya soko mjinga...nawaomba muwie radhi.

big up to pretty. Gotta admire her drive and will to own up to her ideals.
4% of my brain...Damn!!!naona shida at the next 'innovative ideas meeting' in my dept.

pretty ...since you seem to be on an employee bashing spree wat do you do yourself. Anything we can learn from your experience apart from having 96% of our brains being cabbage all year round.

walk the talk.

last but not least ...I dont have a spouse.

...If you havent found anything worth dying for...then you aint fit to live
......If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart....
Surealligator
#107 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 5:10:00 AM

@Pretty

You must be a Muhindi girl

You did medicine or you are under influence of neurotic substances

Anyway,am staring at the SK Website to pick up where you left last.

They walk among us,and they reproduce.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
jitetee
#108 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 6:12:00 AM

Wolololo! Na huyu Pretty siyo mchezo.

I do not agree with most of what she says here but she has argued her point to the end and for that I will give her credit. Of course it is only a fool that does not change his or her mind and each one of us can come out with something from this entire discourse.

But that 4% thing...I am in stitches. @ikonini - Yaani you are at 0%?

Any hope for some of us that are past 5 years many times over? Because there goes any fantasies I had of furthering my education and adding any more professional certs...

Time and chance happen to all.
kamaumash
#109 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 6:30:00 AM

pretty despite her age or marital status,and strong use of words like slave,i think her sentiment are a huge challenge to us who works for other pple making them millions while they pay us peanuts,is a wake up call to us,i will take it in a positive way.

invest slowly on a monthly basis dont wait till ati u get millions
Chaka
#110 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 7:11:00 AM

@Pretty,

Wacha kulala kwa kazi....

What kind of memory does an elephant have?

Was Uri Gellar for real?

Some dude called Mbugua failed an IQ test ati coz he did not know the difference between Hamburg and hamburger/

Seriously I think you belong in a research lab or something.....we need a cure for HIV
Jaina
#111 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 7:38:00 AM

whoever this pretty is and Whatever she does,i can bet that she's damn good at it. But that excludes pale pale. All i can tell her is to go for her dream man,,...all the best of luck
Surealligator
#112 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 8:35:00 AM

I went throw the following article and felt Pretty has a lot to tell us.

If our species was meant to do manual tasks with one finger,we would NOT have been born with ten fingers. If we were meant to use only 10% of our brain cells to lead a happy life,we would not have been born with 10 times as much to use. In fact,man (Homo sapiens) is the only creature on earth that does not use its 100% brain capacity. Man also appears to be the only creature on earth that is in constant disharmony with its fellow creatures.

......Dolphins have about the same neuronal capacity as man,yet they live as intelligent,fun-loving and harmonious creatures with their environment. They use their complete brains,not just a fraction. Is it too much of an imaginative stretch to assume that the more you use your brain capacity,the more harmonious your life could be? Can you really imagine a 100% brain user engaged in crime,war,starvation,disease,prejudice or environmental destruction? Of course not.

......So in other words,we're creatures that are designed just as perfectly as every other creature on earth,but we're just not using all the potential available to us like all other creatures! Why? Could it be that we no longer know HOW to connect to our 'energy source' like all other creatures? Or is it that we don't care to make the free CHOICE to do so? Free will is such a confusing thing to 10% brain users controlled by 'knee-jerk' desires of the body! Regardless of the reason for the brain neglect though,it's the 'use it or lose it' axiom at work here,because average human beings are losing over 100,000 brain cells every day due to disuse or misuse. The more a person neglects using his brain potential,the more his condition is likely to worsen! Is there any wonder why there are diseases such as Alzheimer's,dementia,senility,Parkinson's and other brain disorders increasing in a disproportionate rate to our global population growth?

......What is the solution? Can we really use 100% of our brains and improve the quality of our lives? Of course we can. Instead of having memory loss,we can become memory wizards. Instead of being stymied by the simplest problems,we can become creative 'geniuses.' Instead of not being able to balance our checkbooks,we can become lightning calculators. Instead of being dull to our sensory world,we can become enlivened and truly conscious about our sensory environment. Instead of being 'stuck' in unhappy emotional ruts all our lives,we can learn to get along with our fellow creatures in complete and diversified harmony!

......Everything in life is only as difficult as you think it is. Low self-esteem has become especially prevalent in the U.S. Why? Externalized reasons are often proffered by people as to why they are the way they are deprived childhood,no money,bad breaks in life or simply the people around them. Yet,in every deprived situation,there are salient individuals that have had meager beginnings and nevertheless develop stable,happy lives. They learned that it is more rewarding to grow and develop themselves.

......As one grows in self-awareness,the realization slowly unfolds that one's own condition is brought about by oneself and one's own choices in life,whether they are gut reactive,knee-jerk choices or conscious choices. Whatever you were dealt with at birth,your choices throughout your life determine your outcome. The more complete the usage of both your mind and body the more physically and mentally able you become,and the better you feel about yourself,too. In so doing,your spiritual development cannot help but evolve a higher consciousness state as well.

......Many people get so 'stuck' in daily routines and knee-jerk patterns of behavior that they often never see the many opportunities and alternatives around them every day. To begin the process of stimulating your 100% brain,practice the following 7 brain gymnastic drills for seven days and see for yourself the progress you can make in such a short span of time. Each drill touches upon a different area of your brain.

1) Get used to your body in new ways. Switch your handedness and comb your hair,brush your teeth,stir your coffee or do other simple tasks with your non-dominant hand. Close your eyes and 'sense' your way slowly around a room. Get truly conscious of the sounds and smells in the space around you. Also,use your feet to pick up things,flush the toilet or close a door. Read a page in a book held vertically and then upside down!

2) Where normally you would criticize someone,find something to compliment them on instead! Suspend your judgment about that person as well,and view him (her) as simply another human being with different viewpoints than your own.

3) Look in your refrigerator briefly,but thoroughly. Then close the door and enumerate the items contained therein. Do the same with a room of your house,a store front window or a detailed picture on the wall.

4) For 5 minutes every day,put yourself in another person's shoes and view things from another person's perspective for a change and see how it feels. Suspend your judgment about that person as well. Pretend you're an actor and taking on the part of that person in exact demeanor and manner. Feel how it feels!!

5) Whenever you catch yourself worrying,doubting or looking down on yourself,think instead of what you most want out of life in complete detail,and affirm to yourself the achievement of same. Replay this positive inner movie whenever negative thoughts intrude during your day.

6) At the end of every daily hour,review what happened to you during the previous 60 minutes. This is good practice for getting more mindful throughout your day,and should only take seconds to do. At day's end,mentally review all the events that happened to you throughout the day up to your present point. Memory gaps about your day's events reveal unconscious moments.

7) To develop flexibility and adaptability to change in your life,do something different every day. Shop at a different store. Take a different route home. Bake a pie or a loaf of bread. Involve yourself in a new game or sport,like roller skating,bowling,karate or sky diving. Introduce yourself to a new neighbor. Sameness every day is a death knell to your brain. For more complete usage of your brain,diverse stimulation is the key. It also gets you unstuck from habits and ruts that are bringing you unfavorable results.

......A new training manual with over two hundred mental exercises has recently become available for those willing to improve themselves. It is entitled,The 100% Brain Course,and it shows you how to train yourself to do extraordinary things with your mind and body.

...by Melvin D. Saunders......

They walk among us,and they reproduce.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#113 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 9:09:00 AM

@surealligator,

You forget so fast. Most of us cannot remember what is in your second first paragraph while reading the second

forewarned is forearmed
#114 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 9:41:00 AM

A close scrutiny of my brain activities reveals a -ve reading! Is someone using my brain? U know nowadays with technology things just happen. Is that the reason I feel so exhausted?

Can silence be misquoted?
#115 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 10:43:00 AM

Eti somebody wanna convince you that all human beings are living below capacity while all the animals are always at their peak....come on,that dakatri is also just putting food on his table with all that talk!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Ericks
#116 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 11:10:00 AM

ha ha ha..... This is very interesting..... human beings use 10% of their brains..ha!!!!!!!... hilarious.....what percentage of his brain did saunders use to discover this phenomenon??

We all have a tendency of pinning people down with facts that can never be proven.... for example what indicator will u use to tell that am using 10% of ma brain while u actually are using 10% of urs. one very important part of saunders article (to him the author) as reiterated by @ surealligator is marketing a course entitled The 100% brain course.... offcourse this comes at a fee a heavy one for that matter,,,,,,,,,so i think the best thing to do 4 now instead of paying 4 the course,i should buy shares in this guy's company and share in the profits. then take the company's financials and read them upside down highlighting the key parts with ma left hand while walking around in ma house coz am used to reading while sitted.....

That way i can benefit partly from this assertion and make money from others who wants to increase their brain usage from 10% to 10% (this aint a typo)

Its just me
whatever choice you make in life make sure that you can live with it.
#117 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 1:23:00 PM

@ surealligator,

thanks for the brain stimulating tips,but if you allow me to comment on these tips based on real life situation...i am an employee (an acountant to be precise) working in industrial area with a first moving goods company and i stay in Zimmerman in a two bedroomed flat. the salary attached to the job is enough to cater for my family's needs. i work from 8.00am to 5.00pm on weekdays and 8.00am to 1.00pm on saturdays...now back to the brain stimulating tips:

1) Get used to your body in new ways. Switch your handedness and comb your hair,brush your teeth,stir your coffee or do other simple tasks with your non-dominant hand. Close your eyes and 'sense' your way slowly around a room. Get truly conscious of the sounds and smells in the space around you. Also,use your feet to pick up things,flush the toilet or close a door. Read a page in a book held vertically and then upside down!

By the time I arrive home from work the only thing that I need most then is a rest and peace of mind after so much harassments at work and other social places&hellip;I am usually too tired to do any reading. besides the kids needs my attention. Also the smells (mainly from ugali,sukuma wiki,fried meat,fish,chapatti and chips) and sounds within the house (mainly from the kitchen,the TV and the children's noise) and the neighbours are consistently the same&hellip;one more thing,activities like flashing the toilet unnecessarily is a waste of water and money which is very hard to come by...

2) Where normally you would criticize someone,find something to compliment them on instead! Suspend your judgment about that person as well,and view him (her) as simply another human being with different viewpoints than your own.

How do you expect me to put myself in the shoes of a policeman who is demanding ksh 500 at Nyayo Stadium round about for a non existant offence or a mugger who is already holding me high on my neck as his collegues ransack my pockets or a makanga who is charging me ksh100 instead of the normal fare of kshs 60 to town and tells me to 'shuka chini' if I don&rsquo;t top up???

3) Look in your refrigerator briefly,but thoroughly. Then close the door and enumerate the items contained therein. Do the same with a room of your house,a store front window or a detailed picture on the wall.

many working people don't own refrigerators and those who own them,80% of the time they are empty. i am in the category of the emty refrigerators.

4) For 5 minutes every day,put yourself in another person&rsquo;s shoes and view things from another person&rsquo;s perspective for a change and see how it feels. Suspend your judgment about that person as well. Pretend you&rsquo;re an actor and taking on the part of that person in exact demeanor and manner. Feel how it feels!!

this applies to the no. 2 above

5) Whenever you catch yourself worrying,doubting or looking down on yourself,think instead of what you most want out of life in complete detail,and affirm to yourself the achievement of same. Replay this positive inner movie whenever negative thoughts intrude during your day.

This I can handle as I am already used to it. I am always worried that I have been working for that company for too long and I want my own.

6) At the end of every daily hour,review what happened to you during the previous 60 minutes. This is good practice for getting more mindful throughout your day,and should only take seconds to do. At day&rsquo;s end,mentally review all the events that happened to you throughout the day up to your present point. Memory gaps about your day&rsquo;s events reveal unconscious moments.

my department at work is usually very busy and we are given very high targets to meet failure to which ones employment terms would be reviewed. we work continuously like donkeys to meet these targets and the only free time we have is 15 minutes tea break and 1 hour lunch break. by lunch time we are normally too tired and all that we need is a snack and a rest or a siesta. We cannot afford to be idle when we have deadlines to square.

7) To develop flexibility and adaptability to change in your life,do something different every day. Shop at a different store. Take a different route home. Bake a pie or a loaf of bread. Involve yourself in a new game or sport,like roller skating,bowling,karate or sky diving. Introduce yourself to a new neighbor. Sameness every day is a death knell to your brain. For more complete usage of your brain,diverse stimulation is the key. It also gets you unstuck from habits and ruts that are bringing you unfavorable results.

after arriving home at 9.00 pm in the evening from work i am normally so tired after spending so much time in the jam. after that shower and diner i have to do the homework with the children. when we finish at about midnight we go to sleep and sleep for 4 hours as we have to wake up at 4.00am in the morning and prepare to leave the house for work and school. On Saturdays afternoons the kids want to go swimming while the madam wants to go for shopping at nakumatt where the prices of commodities are pocket friendly. On Sundays church,sort out the undone homeworks and sometimes visiting the parents in upcountry&hellip;.

What I have outlined above is the real life situation and most of us are trapped in it&hellip;it is not a fault of our own making&hellip;.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
half_empty
#118 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 1:50:00 PM

i see where this thread is going...IQ ya mwafrika iko chini ya wengine...thats why we have less wealth... according to some controversial studies... (and cut me some slack... i'm only the messenger)
#119 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:33:49 PM

willin2learn wrote:
@ Thimioni,

Huh! yaani you are such a hotcake! Effects of living on Leeward

@Pretty,

I know time is the better teacher here. 2 or 3 years down the line you won't give a damn what i do for a living if i place enough doughnuts on the table.

forewarned is forearmed

Nothing better than revisiting some old threads here.... I wonder what @Pretty would say now, two years later!!!!!!!!!
Mpenzi
#120 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:26:12 AM

Where is pretty, she disappeared without trace or she metamorphosed to famooz or mwende or .... ? smile