wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

28 Pages«<2425262728>
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
#501 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 1:57:52 PM

The fear surrounding safcom disappeared when its competitors became "living dead".
streetwise
#502 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 3:05:39 PM

Very nice subject to analyse and discuss in a management class, what business lessons can we draw from the demise of Safaricom competition. Was Safaricom too good in their strategy, did the competition misread the market etc.

#503 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 3:12:51 PM

I dont know if its in this thread or another where I told u that Safaricoms competition is not the telco's but EABL and banks...Its aim is to convince Kenians to buy credit, send/save money and paybills using them eabl's competition is not keroche but to convince you not to buy units and send/save money but to have a beer and enjoy life...they wont mind how yu pay the bill.

The scramble of the Kenian shilling
mwekez@ji
#504 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 6:13:20 PM

young wrote:
cnn wrote:
On this day,Safaricom touches a high of 9 shillings,money still being made and maybe some getting into the slaughter house.

On the flip side, others will regret not joining the bus on 9 or sub 9 bob when Safaricom will print 15 mid next year.
Things are looking up for Safaricom, there is room to grow.

@young, how do you arrive at the Target Price of 15?
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#505 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 1:57:34 AM

Safari sevens is now safari ninessmile
@SufficientlyP
hisah
#506 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 6:45:50 AM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

If 8.50 is broken down, 9 will be tested. And it has come to be. The breakout above 7.50 a multi yr resistance level, was very significant. I'm still amazed that mpesa bank is above 7.50 in 2013. Never saw it coming this soon. Currently the extension points towards 9.80 - 10 level. Crazy d'oh!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#507 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 6:48:21 AM

hisah wrote:

If 8.50 is broken down, 9 will be tested. And it has come to be. The breakout above 7.50 a multi yr resistance level, was very significant. I'm still amazed that mpesa bank is above 7.50 in 2013. Never saw it coming this soon. Currently the extension points towards 9.80 - 10 level. Crazy d'oh!

Seems Rich was right afterall
mwekez@ji
#508 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 8:56:00 AM

hisah wrote:

He, &u, could also be right on KQ
the deal
#509 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 9:54:12 AM

Foreigners just keep buying this thing because of Liquidity...overall SCOM is a cash cow but current valuations are too expensive for me...I rather buy MTN...MTN is most likely going to grow faster than SCOM over the next 5 yrs....if you have nerves of steal...there is Econet in Zimbabwe.
#510 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 11:44:00 AM

hisah wrote:

Quite confounding this safari.
The stock continues powering on since Friday 13th September when it closed its dividend books!
@SufficientlyP
Ericsson
#511 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 1:51:38 PM

Market cap in dollar terms is $4.1 B which is rivalling some of Europe's top companies.
Kenya oyeee
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#512 Posted : Friday, October 04, 2013 1:53:23 PM

hisah wrote:

And the way some people battered him here...mmmh
ericnyamufx
#513 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 9:55:39 PM

wow. what is this stock doing up here ..
Aguytrying
#514 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 8:19:02 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Market cap in dollar terms is $4.1 B which is rivalling some of Europe's top companies.
Kenya oyeee

this says a lot. there will be a time to buy safcom, just as there was on 2 occasions over the last five years . it's a good stock, excellent company.
but just not at these valuations.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mv_ufanisi
#515 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 10:27:45 AM

I like SCOM. Excellent Company in an Excellent Industry. High Barriers to Entry. Amazing additional revenue opportunities - M-PESA, M-SHWARI & who knows what they could do next. Competition is dead in the water. It's almost like they own the internet and they get to charge for all traffic going through it.
#516 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 10:32:55 AM

The bull still powers on. Supply now at 9.10smile

#SlaughterhouseWithinSightsmile
@SufficientlyP
young
#517 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 11:08:11 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
young wrote:
cnn wrote:
On this day,Safaricom touches a high of 9 shillings,money still being made and maybe some getting into the slaughter house.

On the flip side, others will regret not joining the bus on 9 or sub 9 bob when Safaricom will print 15 mid next year.
Things are looking up for Safaricom, there is room to grow.

@young, how do you arrive at the Target Price of 15?

15 bob is a 50% capital gain by Fy 2014 by
June 2014 as it is aporoaching 10 bob very
soon.
It is over valued at the moment but HY by
november will be salutary that will even out
the notion of being over valued. It is a blue
chip super brand with much growth potential
due to its dominance and miltiple income stream
Simply put it had got is act well so expect accelerated
growth in the near term.
Foreigners participation also drive the price
crazy hinged on expectation that it will double
its dividend next year. A dividend of circa 65
cents is circa 4% on the price of 15 bob.
Foreigners also position on EABL irrespective
of its lack lustre performance. This translates to
EABL approaching mid 300 wheras the true
valuation is 268 - 282. So fundamentals is not
everything. Market sentiments play a big role
specifically on blue chip superbrands in NSE.
Even if you go wrong be patient , your stock
will rebound and rake in gains.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#518 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 6:30:54 AM

At this price of above 9,i think safcom has done its best to uplift the nse,if other counters supported this,at this level the index could be at or past 5500points..kudos safcom
streetwise
#519 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 10:26:44 AM

This is steroids for lack of a better word
mv_ufanisi
#520 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 12:36:25 PM

Now hit 9.50 - its bull season and then will come bear season.