wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Best cheapest visa debit card
Drobos fly
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 12:27:22 PM

Am wondering what's the best one out there since most banks are capitalizing on consumer ignorance and making a killing.

Whats the latest on I&M debit visa cards? (I know they offer currency specific debit cards at 1,000/- per 5 years)

Whats the latest on Nationhela? (I know very little on that, probably have an annual deductible fee of 600/- making it one of the most expensive)

Equity visa card from what I have heard seems to be the cheapest to maintain of them all though I don't know about it being the best.

Know of any other visa cards with better rates?
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 2:10:24 PM

Drobos fly wrote:
Am wondering what's the best one out there since most banks are capitalizing on consumer ignorance and making a killing.

Whats the latest on I&M debit visa cards? (I know they offer currency specific debit cards at 1,000/- per 5 years)

Whats the latest on Nationhela? (I know very little on that, probably have an annual deductible fee of 600/- making it one of the most expensive)

Equity visa card from what I have heard seems to be the cheapest to maintain of them all though I don't know about it being the best.

Know of any other visa cards with better rates?

What about using the usual VISA ATM cards? Will it be any cheaper if you go for VISA debit card?

ION:I have put on my concrete shield just any case I get bashed by wajuaji?

bird_man
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 3:45:32 PM

In terms of security...go for I&M,NationHela or a special shopping one from KCB. The good thing is that they are not attached to your bank account (in case a Naija bro gets your details).
When it comes to cost, I think normal VISA atm debit cards are cheaper.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 4:09:16 PM

@Drobos, i though "debit" implies you have the money in your account so the issues of cheapest does not apply as the fee varies from provider/bank etc based on their withdrwal charges?
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 4:57:10 PM

Gathige wrote:
@Drobos, i though "debit" implies you have the money in your account so the issues of cheapest does not apply as the fee varies from provider/bank etc based on their withdrwal charges?

Barclays is the cheapest.
webish
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 6:50:11 PM

Gathige wrote:

Rates?

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
quadc
#7 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 9:29:31 PM

I have KCB and Nation Hela debit cards... The KCB card attracts 100/- Per month charge... I can't remember the nation hela card charges which I got later due to;
1. You can load money using M-pesa without having to go to a local branch & queue.
2. You can check your card transactions,balances, block & unblock card online.

for the KCB card, you have to load cash in a local branch & tellers normally have to get authorization from their supervisors for money to be transferred to the card. To get a card statement you have to send a request thru email to card centre staff.
holycow
#8 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2013 4:56:13 PM

quadc wrote:
I have KCB and Nation Hela debit cards... The KCB card attracts 100/- Per month charge... I can't remember the nation hela card charges which I got later due to;
1. You can load money using M-pesa without having to go to a local branch & queue.

for the KCB card, you have to load cash in a local branch & tellers normally have to get authorization from their supervisors for money to be transferred to the card. To get a card statement you have to send a request thru email to card centre staff.

I got KCB card. Well, you can top up by mpesa, Paybill 522522. Account Number is the Visa debit card Number.

As for statement, you can get it online at https://estatements.kcbbankgroup.com but you have to call customers care to be enrolled for the online statement.

I have used the card to do purchases from eBay.
quadc
#9 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2013 1:15:55 AM

holycow wrote:
quadc wrote:

I got KCB card. Well, you can top up by mpesa, Paybill 522522. Account Number is the Visa debit card Number.

As for statement, you can get it online at https://estatements.kcbbankgroup.com but you have to call customers care to be enrolled for the online statement.

I have used the card to do purchases from eBay.

@holycow Thanks for the update, it seems competition made KCB apply value on their debit cards cause when the Nation Hela card launched, they weren't offering these services.

@Drobosfly, if you're after a card for online payments & money roaming then KCB is a good candidate cause it also appears like they did away with monthly charges as per their webpage.

Both services are ok I,ve never had issues ..I guess it's time to call nation hela & find out their charges as its not clear from their website
justus.korir
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 11:01:36 AM

UBA Visa prepaid card is the cheapest currently in the market. Its a KES denominated and only goes for a minimum of KES 621.No monthly charges but you only charged KES 100 for every card loading you do up to a maximum of KES 1M.

The card can also be topped up as well using MPESA pay bill number 559900.

UBA card does not attract any monthly charges as other cards.
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 12:29:23 PM

justus.korir wrote:
UBA Visa prepaid card is the cheapest currently in the market. Its a KES denominated and only goes for a minimum of KES 621.No monthly charges but you only charged KES 100 for every card loading you do up to a maximum of KES 1M.

smile Yani you registered just to advertise your product? Si hata ungepiga hodi kwanza?
The Clown
#12 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 4:20:24 PM

People, please be careful with the NationHela card. Four times in the last year I had problems accessing the funds in my card account, and I swore not to use them again. I'm not in Kenya now so perhaps they have improved.

First time I deposited money without a problem but after purchasing some stuff off ebay, my card was double charged for the transaction. Took two months to reverse this.

Second time I made a large deposit and my money was only credited a week later after numerous calls and emails to NationHela/ DTB customer care team. This made me suspect that in that period, DTB (who handle the back office stuff for NH) was trading with my money.

Third time I made an online purchase and was double charged again; this time for a large sum. Took ages to get this corrected. NH customer care told me that the problem arose with the merchant's system but I have my doubts. I have three other Kenyan debit cards and this has never happened with them.

Fourth time, I deposited 5K in my account and received a text message showing my new balance. Confirmed same balance online at home. Two days later, I went to shop at Naivas and the transaction was rejected. Reason? Insufficient funds in my account. Checked online and indeed, all my money had been wiped out and this wasn't showing in the transaction history. Called customer care (They knew me by now) and those guys couldn't explain what was happening. Said that I might have been a victim of online fraud. But how was this possible? I'm very careful with online transactions.

Kept calling and emailing NH for a month and eventually, 4K was mysteriously credited back into my account. I called CC to ask why full sum of 5K had not been credited and the guy told me that he would 'sort' me out but I shouldn't email again. Dude gave me his personal number to call in case of any problem, again saying I should avoid using the official email and phone channels to communicate.

500bob was credited into my account ten minutes later and I again emailed the CC (official email) to complain. Two minutes later, the same CC guy called to ask why I was 'reporting' him to the company and proceeded to scold me. 40 bob was credited into my account soon after.

I emailed NH once more, complaining and the same CC guy called using a private number and reprimanded me for emailing. 200 bob was then credited into my account again but there was still 260 that was missing. I got tired of these people, withdrew all my money and destroyed my NH card. I don't plan to use them again as I felt that it was easy to get defrauded by their own staff. At that time they didn't have any offices so it was only possible to complain via phone or email. Maybe it's different now.

If you want to engage in online shopping, my advice would be to just open a bank account for that specific purpose. Keep the account balance at the minimum allowed and only deposit when you intend to spend. I&M and NIC's debit cards are excellent for this purpose.
#13 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 6:46:34 PM

justus.korir wrote:

Can I use to purchase it commodities priced in other currencies?

ericnyamufx
#14 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 10:04:33 PM

justus.korir wrote:

wacha ushamba na wewe.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ofcourse you can that's why there's currency conversion at the banks
ericnyamufx
#15 Posted : Saturday, October 05, 2013 10:07:45 PM

The Clown wrote:
People, please be careful with the NationHela card. Four times in the last year I had problems accessing the funds in my card account, and I swore not to use them again. I'm not in Kenya now so perhaps they have improved.

First time I deposited money without a problem but after purchasing some stuff off ebay, my card was double charged for the transaction. Took two months to reverse this.

Second time I made a large deposit and my money was only credited a week later after numerous calls and emails to NationHela/ DTB customer care team. This made me suspect that in that period, DTB (who handle the back office stuff for NH) was trading with my money.

Third time I made an online purchase and was double charged again; this time for a large sum. Took ages to get this corrected. NH customer care told me that the problem arose with the merchant's system but I have my doubts. I have three other Kenyan debit cards and this has never happened with them.

Fourth time, I deposited 5K in my account and received a text message showing my new balance. Confirmed same balance online at home. Two days later, I went to shop at Naivas and the transaction was rejected. Reason? Insufficient funds in my account. Checked online and indeed, all my money had been wiped out and this wasn't showing in the transaction history. Called customer care (They knew me by now) and those guys couldn't explain what was happening. Said that I might have been a victim of online fraud. But how was this possible? I'm very careful with online transactions.

Kept calling and emailing NH for a month and eventually, 4K was mysteriously credited back into my account. I called CC to ask why full sum of 5K had not been credited and the guy told me that he would 'sort' me out but I shouldn't email again. Dude gave me his personal number to call in case of any problem, again saying I should avoid using the official email and phone channels to communicate.

500bob was credited into my account ten minutes later and I again emailed the CC (official email) to complain. Two minutes later, the same CC guy called to ask why I was 'reporting' him to the company and proceeded to scold me. 40 bob was credited into my account soon after.

I emailed NH once more, complaining and the same CC guy called using a private number and reprimanded me for emailing. 200 bob was then credited into my account again but there was still 260 that was missing. I got tired of these people, withdrew all my money and destroyed my NH card. I don't plan to use them again as I felt that it was easy to get defrauded by their own staff. At that time they didn't have any offices so it was only possible to complain via phone or email. Maybe it's different now.

If you want to engage in online shopping, my advice would be to just open a bank account for that specific purpose. Keep the account balance at the minimum allowed and only deposit when you intend to spend. I&M and NIC's debit cards are excellent for this purpose.

eiiiish ! Boss dont scare me
#16 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 11:35:43 AM

ericnyamufx wrote:
justus.korir wrote:

wacha ushamba na wewe.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ofcourse you can that's why there's currency conversion at the banks

smile smile smile

ION: Are there underlying charges during the currency conversion?
Like if KES:USD is now 87, is there a chance the automatic conversion may use sat a KES:USD of 90?

#17 Posted : Monday, October 07, 2013 11:39:06 AM

Chaka
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 3:06:26 PM

I wish to purchase some stuff from Amazon. I Went to Barclays about this and was told I have to open a premier account @ Ksh 3,410(excise duty inluded)per month.I will then be issued with a premier debit card which can be used to do the purchases.
What is the current position in terms of charges and ease of use for the following or any other cards?
1.KCB card
2.I&M card
3.Nationhela card
4.UBA Visa prepaid

Gathige wrote:

Vallerrie
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 3:35:54 PM

I dont understand why yáll need a special card to shop online. I buy stuff from Ebay and Aliexpress all the time and all I've ever needed is my CFC Stanbic ATM card and previously my Equity ATM card. The problem with Equity is that they limit your daily shopping amount to 2k, unless you instruct them otherwise.
Chaka
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 3:51:00 PM

Vallerrie wrote:
I dont understand why yáll need a special card to shop online. I buy stuff from Ebay and Aliexpress all the time and all I've ever needed is my CFC Stanbic ATM card and previously my Equity ATM card. The problem with Equity is that they limit your daily shopping amount to 2k, unless you instruct them otherwise.

What you saying is that you are able to do online purchases with your "local" CFC/Stanbic card?In my case, my "local" Barclays ATM/debit card cannot be used
and thus the need to "upgrade" to a premier account.