Talk2Us
Wazua Discourse
mkeiyd wrote:ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:I missed it! There will be hyperbole in the responses you get so Lady Admin allow me to allude to the content. It was a survey using random sampling on a scale of 1-5 to gauge how anyone who deems himself a Kenyan feels toward his Kenyan or non-Kenyan Somali brothers and sisters with a reasoned why. The variables being security linked events and reports in the country with the key event being the developments at Westgate The respondents are Wazuans who deemed reflective of the prevalent attitudes and actual events on the ground in the last 72hrs being the prime motivator to the question. As for me, nothing has changed. The people bombing us are not ALL Somalis. They [Somalis] are fighting the same Al Shabab. If you have no wedge to drive, KILL this thread. You might want to view with a keen eye,fresh Moslem converts, not Somalis. The post sought to answer that specific question it laid out not the various applicable narratives that you mention. I am personally privy to info that the Kenyan security forces have been carrying out arrests against members of the Somali community since Saturday evening in areas other than those reported in the media and holding people without charge for days. The profiling against Somalis is almost official now. The backlash is here.
a majority are a good people...99%. The 1% should not affect how we relate. I wonder how "Captain Phillip" will be received next week. That image of a typical somali i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:a majority are a good people...99%. The 1% should not affect how we relate. I wonder how "Captain Phillip" will be received next week. That image of a typical somali If that is how you also feel, OK. However, you lost me in "Captain Phillip"?
Nyaiira wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:I missed it! It was about how we Kenyans feel when we come across a somali waria on the streets following the happenings at Wesget! As in do you feel like muddering a Somali you meet at the street or you feel nothing? I dont think I would want to kill any...aiish thats too harsh.. its more of being uncomfortable if they are fully covered(ninja) or carrying a bag...I guess it a normal reaction at the moment @ Alpha i feel you..hv somali friends real good, so we need to change and stop black listing a whole community That is a prevalent statement I'm getting from friends when in public places with strangers. Add an overzealous police force..as Kenyans how do we avoid stigmatization?
Through college and later in life some of my best friends are of Somali origin. I can say here without fear of contradiction that on a scale of 1-43 Somalis could rank among the top 3 most hardworking and honest 'tribes/ethnic group' a deal with a Somali is as good as his word and his word is his honour. That is more that i can say of some ... Lakini WeAreOne "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Siringi wrote:Through college and later in life some of my best friends are of Somali origin. I can say here without fear of contradiction that on a scale of 1-43 Somalis could rank among the top 3 most hardworking and honest 'tribes/ethnic group' a deal with a Somali is as good as his word and his word is his honour. That is more that i can say of some ... Lakini WeAreOne True.I have dealt with them and they are the best.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Nyaiira wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:I missed it! It was about how we Kenyans feel when we come across a somali waria on the streets following the happenings at Wesget! As in do you feel like muddering a Somali you meet at the street or you feel nothing? I dont think I would want to kill any...aiish thats too harsh..its more of being uncomfortable if they are fully covered(ninja) or carrying a bag...I guess it a normal reaction at the moment @ Alpha i feel you..hv somali friends real good, so we need to change and stop black listing a whole community I'm glad you feel me buddy @Nyaiira. So far so good with the objectivity. I remember during the time of Mungiki. Some of my trusted business partners are Kyuks. Please note these are exceptional guys, but majority aren't. During this time, I never, ever treated any of my Kyuk people as suspect, becuase I know it was not about the community!
ecstacy wrote:chemos wrote:If i meet a cute somali airport my feelings would be to immediately bomb Kandahar!!!!! so on a scale of 1-5... i would pick 15 to bomb that airport with my rocket propelled bazooka....
Donge!!!! Now you, sijui niseme. OK, let's just say many agree a high proportion of the average Somali ladies are easy on the eye. Kweli? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
ecstacy wrote:Nyaiira wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:I missed it! It was about how we Kenyans feel when we come across a somali waria on the streets following the happenings at Wesget! As in do you feel like muddering a Somali you meet at the street or you feel nothing? I dont think I would want to kill any...aiish thats too harsh.. its more of being uncomfortable if they are fully covered(ninja) or carrying a bag...I guess it a normal reaction at the moment @ Alpha i feel you..hv somali friends real good, so we need to change and stop black listing a whole community That is a prevalent statement I'm getting from friends when in public places with strangers. Add an overzealous police force..as Kenyans how do we avoid stigmatization? @ecstacy, is anyone wearing a buibui considered a somali? I do believe, we have a variety of different communities hapa North Eastern? and not all are privy to the acts that we saw at westgate...so, no hard feelings...but I missed your earlier thread...
AlphDoti wrote:@ecstacy we are very mature. And Lady Admin is too. And no, nobody is afraid, but your thread wasn't going to build the nation but destroy.
#WeAreStillOne I love this joke @doti!
At this rate, #WeAreNotOne, #WeAre42Millions
washiku wrote:At this rate, #WeAreNotOne, #WeAre42Millions Well said; Westgate and its aftermath is a fertile cancerous ground for prejudice. In borrowed words of wiser men... Prejudice is a learned trait. You're not born prejudiced; you're taught it. Charles R. Swindoll The less secure a man is, the more likely he is to have extreme prejudice. Clint EastwoodYet we must aspire...The republic I fell in love with, the republic I risked my life to defend, the values I hold dear, the integrity that we all share - these do not know prejudice and they do not accept partiality. Allen WestBecause what goes around comes aroundIt is no coincidence that the growth of modern tyrants has in every case been heralded by the growth of prejudice. Henry A. Wallace
washiku wrote:At this rate, #WeAreNotOne, #WeAre42Millions #WeAreOne is a fallacy...
nostoppingthis wrote:washiku wrote:At this rate, #WeAreNotOne, #WeAre42Millions #WeAreOne is a fallacy... where's tycho when when we need him?
ecstacy wrote:harrydre wrote:a majority are a good people...99%. The 1% should not affect how we relate. I wonder how "Captain Phillip" will be received next week. That image of a typical somali If that is how you also feel, OK. However, you lost me in "Captain Phillip"? yes, i have interacted with many of them way back from school and in business. very trustworthy people. keep their word and won't take your cent. Captain Phillips is a movie being released Oct 11 about the Somali pirates starring Tom hanks. based on a true story by the way. Watch the trailer on youtube. Now that's the image the world will see them as. i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:ecstacy wrote:harrydre wrote:a majority are a good people...99%. The 1% should not affect how we relate. I wonder how "Captain Phillip" will be received next week. That image of a typical somali If that is how you also feel, OK. However, you lost me in "Captain Phillip"? yes, i have interacted with many of them way back from school and in business. very trustworthy people. keep their word and won't take your cent. Captain Phillips is a movie being released Oct 11 about the Somali pirates starring Tom hanks. based on a true story by the way. Watch the trailer on youtube. Now that's the image the world will see them as. Trustworthy - in business - I concur. Does that have anything to do with the consequences of violation of trust? Whatever the reason, this is an area they doing well in. I'll check out the movie.
kysse wrote:I will invite one here.
A pair of grunet in the pocket and a bottle of fanta! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:washiku wrote:At this rate, #WeAreNotOne, #WeAre42Millions #WeAreOne is a fallacy... where's tycho when when we need him? I had this childhood friend called Hussein. He was a 'waria'. One day as we were playing, I realized that I was hungry, and it was lunch time. Because there was some matoke in the house I decided to invite my friend for lunch. 'No. No.' He said. 'But it's only food'. 'No. No.' I decided to go ahead and eat. Our kitchen window was facing where we were playing so I took my dish and went to the window. I was about to ask my friend whether he was still not eating, when I saw a dark blue figure throwing dirt on my matoke. I was very surprised. I kept asking myself what had happened, and no answer came into my mind. But I stopped trusting my friend. And he knew it. And for a long time I came to distrust the 'walalos'. I never even wanted to play on the same team with them. And every time I looked they confirmed my suspicions. But one day, I was in a situation and got into despair. I was also very hungry. And it was dark. I realized that it was a good time to die. I must have been thinking of Sartre. These dark thoughts didn't last long before this 'walalo' came and gave me hope, and light, and food. That night I realized that the Man had actually taken time to think of me, and I had never spared him a thought. I thought about him for the first time, and realized how he was a compassionate Man, moved not by wealth, or fame. That's when I began to see how mistaken I was about the nature of Man. We are all the same. We are all 'hustlers' even in the depth of our hearts. None of us is even 99% clean; and I'd not expect anyone to be 99% clean. What I'd expect is a whole hearted and loving commitment to being 99% clean. Then you'll have no fear. And no 'walalo' will threaten you. Al Shabaab won't even exist. Meanwhile, let's not be nettled by our 42 goggles. Legend in the ghettos have tales of 42 brothers who have performed daring robberies and exploits. We can also be 42 and do exploits.
Talk2Us
Wazua Discourse