wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Grafted avocados
ktr
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 3:41:00 PM

Where will get grafted avocado seedlings.it is a lucrative venture.

...better bitter butter.
ktr
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 3:46:00 PM

Varieties? Maturity? Yield? Mkt? etc...

...better bitter butter.
katena
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 8:13:00 AM

just try the prisons or KARI centers they are the main guys in grafting.Goodluck

katena ventures
Correct
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 9:27:00 AM

Is it the grafted avocadoe seedlings that are lucrative or the actual avocadoe fruits? I got some that take 18months to bear fruits. How many plants are you seeking & cost pp?.

bird_man
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 1:33:00 PM

@Correct

Which variety do you have?The ones I planted I was told were to take roughly over 24 months.Also whats the average yield per tree and the lifetime of the tree?

@Ktr

Ukikosa kabisa near Nairobi,I know a place in Nyeri with a guy who can sell you the grafted seedlings.The variety is Hass and he sells at around 150sh per seedling.He however takes his sweet time!
I just planted kitu 340 of them in Feb and April.....I would love to exchange ideas on the same and your findings since not many people are growing them or have the patience.

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man
#6 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 3:15:18 PM

Hi all,for all those who would like grafted Avocado seedlings, we have some in Nyeri going for 150sh/seedlings.Hass Variety.
So far we have 1,000 ready ones though we are still increasing.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#7 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:14:47 PM

am looking for grafted apple mango seedlings, anyone with experience on maturity,yields, pests/diseases, sourcing (apart from KARI),etc.
of course trees have to be short.
MatataMingi
#8 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:32:57 PM

@ All. I bought some natural ones not grafted. They took about 5 years to bear fruits. The fruit is much bigger than grafted ones. However, if you want o export, then you have to go with grafted ones. I only got 3 plants for my house in Nairobi. Just enough for me and friends.

By the way how do avocados do at the coast. 2 nd row and coral !!!

Thanks
bird_man
#9 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 4:35:34 PM

@MatataMingi, true.For consumption the larger Fuerte avocado is better.For export and oil extraction Hass is preferable.
K22
#10 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 8:32:54 AM

bird_man wrote:
Hi all,for all those who would like grafted Avocado seedlings, we have some in Nyeri going for 150sh/seedlings.Hass Variety.
So far we have 1,000 ready ones though we are still increasing.

What are your contacts?

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
K22
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 5:07:15 PM

kwani huyu bird_man alipotelea wapi?

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 5:36:44 PM

bird_man...need to get in touch...need enough for half acre early march. so need to source them now!
bird_man
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 8:06:05 PM

@Alma & K22 poleni.Office work has kept me quite busy.

My old man in Nyeri says they will be ready for planting in March or latest April since the graft has to "shika" nicely. There are about 1,700 grafted ones right now.

Just email me dialmoviez@gmail.com will get back.