Market
Pennywise
Nairobi Parking Fees go up to 300 bob and House Rents
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/14/2010 Posts: 50 Location: Nairobi Kenya
Parking fees will go up to 300 bob up from current 140 for saloon cars w.e.f 01-11.2010.Also housing rent for Kanjo houses will rise by 500 to ksh 3,000 bob.What does this translate to your pocket earnings wazuans
Rank: Member Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 249 Location: nairobi
i thought katiba mpya ilikataa kujiongeza mshahara?...but nairobi ina wenyewe....am sure by 1 week wenyewe watakua wamezoea... ..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
So that means the daily average cost of getting to work will be
Petrol - 500bob parking - 300bob
That's 800bob a day or Ksh 16000 per month or about 200,000 per yr. Enough to buy a plot of land!
May have to switch to matatus and save 600bob per day....or 12,000 a month or about 150,000 per yr.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
is it true matatus will also not ply cbd route? And the kbs/hoppa (which are worse than many matatus)?
Rank: Hello Joined: 10/26/2010 Posts: 1 Location: nairobi
For those motorists who get into town through Mombasa road, there is a parking lot just at the junction of Haile Selassie and Mombasa Rd at the Kenol petrol station (next to Neno church) and they charge like 100/- per day parking.
Would be convenient for those working around Times Towers and Harambee avenue to park there and just cross the street instead of paying kanjo 300/- with no security guarantee. Plus jioni one would avoid traffic in town as you would just join Msa Rd and head home. Am sure there are other such convenient private parkings on that major arteries into town too. Heard some people park even at Nakumatt Mega
My two cents
If CBD parking goes to 300 as expected from next week, be sure that prices of parking at all these private parking lots will go up.
The immediate benefit will be reduced traffic in the CBD. Chances are that matatu fairs will go up gradually due to increased demand. The best real estate investment to make in CBD is a parking lot... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Court throws out petition 300/- will now be effected. If you cant afford 300/- daily then bado haujafika stop filling our roads/parking spaces mpishe mwenye nguvu "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,497 Location: nairobi
wow.. having a car is definitely expensive HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
mkenyashujaa wrote:For those motorists who get into town through Mombasa road, there is a parking lot just at the junction of Haile Selassie and Mombasa Rd at the Kenol petrol station (next to Neno church) and they charge like 100/- per day parking.
Would be convenient for those working around Times Towers and Harambee avenue to park there and just cross the street instead of paying kanjo 300/- with no security guarantee. Plus jioni one would avoid traffic in town as you would just join Msa Rd and head home. Am sure there are other such convenient private parkings on that major arteries into town too. Heard some people park even at Nakumatt Mega
My two cents These private parking guys always adjust their prices according to council rates. They will ongeza theirs soon.
murchr wrote:Court throws out petition 300/- will now be effected. If you cant afford 300/- daily then bado haujafika stop filling our roads/parking spaces mpishe mwenye nguvu yeah, this should be. Hii story ya magari ya KCB/murchr and equity/murchr kujaza barabara
And the problem is that whether you drive a 2013 Range rover worth 20m or an old jalopy worth 50k, the parking charge is the same.
jaggernaut wrote:And the problem is that whether you drive a 2013 Range rover worth 20m or an old jalopy worth 50k, the parking charge is the same. Why would one park his car in the streets?
mawinder wrote:jaggernaut wrote:And the problem is that whether you drive a 2013 Range rover worth 20m or an old jalopy worth 50k, the parking charge is the same. Why would one park his car in the streets? When they work there? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:jaggernaut wrote:And the problem is that whether you drive a 2013 Range rover worth 20m or an old jalopy worth 50k, the parking charge is the same. Why would one park his car in the streets? When they work there? Why would they work in the streets?
nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:jaggernaut wrote:And the problem is that whether you drive a 2013 Range rover worth 20m or an old jalopy worth 50k, the parking charge is the same. Why would one park his car in the streets? When they work there? Why would they work in the streets? Because that is where he sells his drugs and that is also where he collects his drug orders from his minions!
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
New rates of 300bob to take effect beginning next month. New rates of 200/= to apply to areas out of CBD such as Buruburu, Eastleigh, Lang'ata, Ngong' Road, etc. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:New rates of 300bob to take effect beginning next month. New rates of 200/= to apply to areas out of CBD such as Buruburu, Eastleigh, Lang'ata, Ngong' Road, etc.
If I get a monthly ticket for industrial area (assuming it will be 200/=), I will need to top up when I park at the CBD?
All rates have gone up in nairobi, including business licences, rally fees, ....
Market
Pennywise
Nairobi Parking Fees go up to 300 bob and House Rents