wazua Sun, May 10, 2026

Money raised by Kenyans 848484 - Safaricom
#1 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2013 4:13:54 PM

#Weareone and 30 million raised so far by Kenyans on Safaricom 848484 is commendable. Efforts by Red Cross and Abbas Gullet are worthy of note. However, I must state I think most Kenyans are raising money/donating blood for more than just the Red Cross.
* More than 100,000 Kenyans have contributed on M-PESA so far. Monies sent range from 10 bob to Kshs. 50,000
* Abbas Gullet sets target at Kshs. 80 million
* Funds to go towards emergency evacuation crisis operations.

https://www.facebook.com/notes/s...8484-for/638640392837319

How much money are the hospitals offering free care receiving? I see much more expenditure in their case as compared to evacuating injured from Westgate to MP Shah/Aga Khan/Guru Nanak.

Forgive if my question is out of line Pray

Mjasirii
#2 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2013 4:28:41 PM

muganda wrote:
#Weareone and 30 million raised so far by Kenyans on Safaricom 848484 is commendable. Efforts by Red Cross and Abbas Gullet are worthy of note. However, I must state I think most Kenyans are raising money/donating blood for more than just the Red Cross.
* More than 100,000 Kenyans have contributed on M-PESA so far. Monies sent range from 10 bob to Kshs. 50,000
* Abbas Gullet sets target at Kshs. 80 million
* Funds to go towards emergency evacuation crisis operations.

https://www.facebook.com/notes/s...8484-for/638640392837319

How much money are the hospitals offering free care receiving? I see much more expenditure in their case as compared to evacuating injured from Westgate to MP Shah/Aga Khan/Guru Nanak.

Forgive if my question is out of line Pray

The hospitals should get funds from the Government I believe money was allocated for National disasters and calamities.
#3 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2013 5:03:48 PM

This victim's sister seems stranded getting help for a funeral in Busia this Friday. She's been looking for support from government, Safaricom, RedCross, CitizenTv etc to no avail. Tricky...

#4 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 9:16:40 AM

Safaricom has contributed 20m, total is 90m today morning. When Abbas Gullet and Safaricom appeared on TV, they indicated money would be used for (RedCross):

1. Counseling
2. Trauma
3. Operations and Ambulance

I spoke to a recognised surgeon working from MP Shah. Hospital's accepting all victims, offering treatment. They're just working, not raised bills, no one's spoken about money...

#5 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 5:24:57 PM

Surprisingly, Wazuans not very concerned with this issue. To close the matter, all the money has been handed over to Kenya Red Cross; a total of KShs 102m raised (including 30m Safariom, 0.4m diaspora)

Due to some Twitter brouhaha, a press conference was called to clarify some of the issues, and specifically how the money will be used.

Money to go to five key areas:
50m, Medical emergency providers
20m, Ambulance service providers
15m, Trauma & Counselling
10m, Blood donor services

5m, Blood transfusion facility, Kenyatta National Hospital

It was a good initiative, successful, that came with responsibility for accountability. Even Kenya RedCross has endeavoured to share some of proceeds with other institutions which is caring smile

#6 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 9:10:47 PM

That allocation says that KRC and its corporate affiliates (St. John's, Ambulances, MP Shah, Aga Khan etc) are taking care of their expenses and overheads during this tragedy. 95 million into their bank accounts.

Many Kenyans donated thinking the money was going directly to the victims and their families.

KNH gets most of its blood from the National Blood Bank a few meters away. Why are they being given 5 million bob?

Sad.

I wear very thick welding goggles. I work in healthcare.
#7 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 10:56:51 PM

jguru wrote:

That allocation says that KRC and its corporate affiliates (St. John's, Ambulances, MP Shah, Aga Khan etc) are taking care of their expenses and overheads during this tragedy. 95 million into their bank accounts.

Many Kenyans donated thinking the money was going directly to the victims and their families.

KNH gets most of its blood from the National Blood Bank a few meters away. Why are they being given 5 million bob?

Sad.

I wear very thick welding goggles. I work in healthcare.

There are interesting cases/issues facing Bwana Abbas and thats why people went ham on twitter in regards to that money being handed to red cross...