Culture
Bribes don't help the police.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
radio wrote:@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:
- try observe the stipulated traffic laws - when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them! - don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order - express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process - pray to be kept away from evil - be lucky Seconded!!!, as for CLK how many years did you serve in the Force??? Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
Coolio wrote:radio wrote:@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:
- try observe the stipulated traffic laws - when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them! - don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order - express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process - pray to be kept away from evil - be lucky Seconded!!!, as for CLK how many years did you serve in the Force??? @radio. Hadn't noticed your post. It's a reasonable strategy, I must say. I know someone who's wriggled out of police trouble like that on a couple of occasions. But I think you have to belong to a certain demographic to pull that off. You know, a suited-up middle-aged man with shoes that wear out more on one side of the heel than the other. Maybe even with a wife in the passenger seat and two or three uniformed kids in the back. That's a powerful picture for any policeman. When you are a seemingly hot-blooded twenty-something year old wearing jeans and riding alone with the volume turned up, the boys in blue are far more inclined to waste your time and ride out your whining until you pay up. Or at least that's how it seems to me. Disclaimer: Any personal resemblance to the descriptions above is purely coincidental. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku wrote:Coolio wrote:radio wrote:@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:
- try observe the stipulated traffic laws - when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them! - don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order - express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process - pray to be kept away from evil - be lucky Seconded!!!, as for CLK how many years did you serve in the Force??? @radio. Hadn't noticed your post. It's a reasonable strategy, I must say. I know someone who's wriggled out of police trouble like that on a couple of occasions. But I think you have to belong to a certain demographic to pull that off. You know, a suited-up middle-aged man with shoes that wear out more on one side of the heel than the other. Maybe even with a wife in the passenger seat and two or three uniformed kids in the back. That's a powerful picture for any policeman. When you are a seemingly hot-blooded twenty-something year old wearing jeans and riding alone with the volume turned up, the boys in blue are far more inclined to waste your time and ride out your whining until you pay up. Or at least that's how it seems to me. Disclaimer: Any personal resemblance to the descriptions above is purely coincidental. FYI, I am way below 30 and no kids!   and I haven't suited up this year! but I have pulled this stunt several times successfully! Police are humans with seemingly bruised egos! From the look the are normally ready for a confrontation but never allow then to get that from me!
radio wrote:seppuku wrote:Coolio wrote:radio wrote:@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:
- try observe the stipulated traffic laws - when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them! - don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order - express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process - pray to be kept away from evil - be lucky Seconded!!!, as for CLK how many years did you serve in the Force??? @radio. Hadn't noticed your post. It's a reasonable strategy, I must say. I know someone who's wriggled out of police trouble like that on a couple of occasions. But I think you have to belong to a certain demographic to pull that off. You know, a suited-up middle-aged man with shoes that wear out more on one side of the heel than the other. Maybe even with a wife in the passenger seat and two or three uniformed kids in the back. That's a powerful picture for any policeman. When you are a seemingly hot-blooded twenty-something year old wearing jeans and riding alone with the volume turned up, the boys in blue are far more inclined to waste your time and ride out your whining until you pay up. Or at least that's how it seems to me. Disclaimer: Any personal resemblance to the descriptions above is purely coincidental. FYI, I am way below 30 and no kids!   and I haven't suited up this year! but I have pulled this stunt several times successfully! Police are humans with seemingly bruised egos! From the look the are normally ready for a confrontation but never allow then to get that from me! Maybe it's the shoes then Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
radio wrote:@seppuku, I learnt early a few things. .:
- try observe the stipulated traffic laws - when stopped be very very police...habari boss, habari ya kazi, et al ...it disarms them! - don't be arrogant! tell him u dont have cash but the moment u get some you will fix whatever is not in order - express your willingness to cooperate if he insists on taking u court! don't show any fear of the court process - pray to be kept away from evil - be lucky @radio, unajitetea stylo hii  "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Dash wrote:Arent they the ones who own rentals and fleets of matatus? And breakdowns. I get shocked every time the fine/bail for motor vehicle related offenses are raised because that just raises the bribe. I hear if you are caught for drink-driving the new bribe is 30k! un-negotiable. The only way to end bribes especially on the road is people have to be declared innocent and freed until proven guilty or unless there's a video recording of the offense. There's no way the traffic police's word can be the final and only word. Mutunga needs to look at this closely because it is wrong for you to be arrested and advised that you must plead guilty or you go in. BBI will solve it :)
Rankaz13 wrote:livie wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:The traffic enforcement system is rigged against the motorist right from the word go. From experience, these guys more or less know all the matatus in their routes. Whenever they see a new one, they'll arrest your driver on trumped up charges (like a worn out spare tyre) just so that the owner can present themselves eti 'wajue ni nani'. The more brazen ones will keep harassing your driver, especially if you insist on not 'tipping', in an attempt to force him to quit. When this happened severally to me, one of them had the audacity to tell me to my face 'eti wewe futa hiyo dereva yako tukupatie dereva mzuri upee yeye kazi'. The shock must've been evident in my silence. Of course I never acceded to this. Nilisema ka mbaya ni mbaya, played some dirty tricks of my own, earned my respect. please share.... Can't say much, you never know who's watching. All I'll say is, I got to know intimately how the justice system 'works', and I played the game to my benefit. Hehe... Reminds me of a time when a neighbour friend of mine bought a Toyota DX common for ferrying passengers between upcountry towns then, prior to the Probox. His newly employed driver was arrested by the base commander himself and charged with 8 counts of offenses ranging from; -Carrying fare paying passengers without Uniform -" " without displaying his photo in the vehicle - " " without a PSV badge -" " Without a yellow line on the vehicle - " " Without without class ... Insurance - " " Without TLB licence etc....etc... He was arrested, charged and sentenced to six months in prison without an option of fine. Later we learned that the Base commander usually takes 2k per any new psv before it can operate the route. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Tebes wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:livie wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:The traffic enforcement system is rigged against the motorist right from the word go. From experience, these guys more or less know all the matatus in their routes. Whenever they see a new one, they'll arrest your driver on trumped up charges (like a worn out spare tyre) just so that the owner can present themselves eti 'wajue ni nani'. The more brazen ones will keep harassing your driver, especially if you insist on not 'tipping', in an attempt to force him to quit. When this happened severally to me, one of them had the audacity to tell me to my face 'eti wewe futa hiyo dereva yako tukupatie dereva mzuri upee yeye kazi'. The shock must've been evident in my silence. Of course I never acceded to this. Nilisema ka mbaya ni mbaya, played some dirty tricks of my own, earned my respect. please share.... Can't say much, you never know who's watching. All I'll say is, I got to know intimately how the justice system 'works', and I played the game to my benefit. Hehe... Reminds me of a time when a neighbour friend of mine bought a Toyota DX common for ferrying passengers between upcountry towns then, prior to the Probox. His newly employed driver was arrested by the base commander himself and charged with 8 counts of offenses ranging from; -Carrying fare paying passengers without Uniform -" " without displaying his photo in the vehicle - " " without a PSV badge -" " Without a yellow line on the vehicle - " " Without without class ... Insurance - " " Without TLB licence etc....etc... He was arrested, charged and sentenced to six months in prison without an option of fine. Later we learned that the Base commander usually takes 2k per any new psv before it can operate the route. I was a victim of that too when I began, kwanza huyo base wa Sagana. Sema kuhangaishwa? Wacha tu. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Culture
Bribes don't help the police.