wazua Thu, Apr 30, 2026

Monetary Contribution towards Wedding...Pain or Persecution.
#11 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 12:50:00 PM

Its like calling a bash and asking friends and colleagues to contribute towards cost.

Pure rip-off.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

Bobb
#12 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 1:44:00 PM

I dont know what to say,I was the chairman and the best man. One year down the line they have separated Kabisa. Better ningenunulia watoto wangu nguo na hizo pesa.

BOBB
wangura
#13 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:08:00 PM

I think if one cannot afford it,do not do it! period! I only contribute to emergencies e.g. hospital bills,education fundraisers etc. People need to learn to live within your means in this country
#14 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:22:00 PM

@wangura.....its better to live within your means.But with the crop of Nairobians chics,u have to live within their means.Ole u when their means is beyond your reach.

Chaka
#15 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:53:00 PM

@bobb,

Since you were the best man,you should try and reconcile the couple.
#16 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 3:53:00 PM

Wedding committees and contributions attached are voluntary. If you feel it&rsquo;s a rip off simply don&rsquo;t attend / contribute. Personally I contribute to my close friends/ relatives and consider the contributions as future investments.

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
Mkimwa
#17 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 4:02:00 PM

This is a pain..

Over the last 7 months,i have been invited to 8 committees. In one commitee they decided a figure of 8K for everyone..

I can think of 64 better ways of spending my 64K (which i dont even have).

Halafu another one called for a committee for the 'ruracio'.. i contributed knowing it was for the wedding,now,he invites me again for the wedding committee. havent responded yet. will never respond.
so i have vowed.. al be there but not financially. hiyo siwezimek. nitasaidia.. ushering.. gari..security lakini pesa.. sina!
#18 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 6:07:00 PM

As someone said,no one is forcing you to contribute. If you're against it then keep off and stop complaining

RO
#19 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 6:26:00 PM

Wedding committees are just a way of getting things for free. You do not want to fund the expensive wedding but want it anyway.

I am not hijacking the thread :) but of late I am finding all kinds of giving (education,hospital bills etc) enable laziness and lack of proper financial planning. Maybe we should just drop this african 'community' kind of living and embrace 'individualism' - we might just actually be able to reduce poverty.

Disguised Opportunity?
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 5:58:00 AM

@zzze123...future investment in what?to u this is like buying some shares?Please look further;its only investment if u have not wed(ded) and hope that they in turn will contribute towards your course,otherwise its a painful rip-off.If u cant finance a wedding,keep off and live your life.Invite pals to come over and witness and bless u&gt;kwani whats more than blessing?????