wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

7 Pages«<4567>
Kenya power posts 36 pct profit jump in FY 2012
Aguytrying
#101 Posted : Saturday, February 23, 2013 3:30:58 PM

[quote=Aguytrying]@muchr. And kplc expects a 30% increase in revenue if tarrifs are increased as they propose

They always come short of their targets, read this http://www.kplc.co.ke/fi...13_Detailed_Version.pdf[/quote]

I respect the way you discuss. I've seen their projections and actual results.

In light of this, i still see an investment case, because even as it is the company is undervalued.
The new tarrifs should increase earnings (maybe not according to their projections). I see opportunity here if the market sells of KPLC due to poor earnings this fy year.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#102 Posted : Saturday, February 23, 2013 4:54:08 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
[quote=Aguytrying]@muchr. And kplc expects a 30% increase in revenue if tarrifs are increased as they propose

They always come short of their targets, read this http://www.kplc.co.ke/fi...13_Detailed_Version.pdf[/quote]

I respect the way you discuss. I've seen their projections and actual results.

In light of this, i still see an investment case, because even as it is the company is undervalued.
The new tarrifs should increase earnings (maybe not according to their projections). I see opportunity here if the market sells of KPLC due to poor earnings this fy year.

Yes, at 12-14/- I think i shall be tempted
#103 Posted : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 5:33:27 AM

http://www.businessdaily...32/-/pd6i4v/-/index.html
Aguytrying
#104 Posted : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 7:57:38 AM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-Power-seeks-Sh29bn-Chinese-loan-/-/539552/1704832/-/pd6i4v/-/index.html

I have become increasingly uncomfortable with the debt kengen and kplc want to take up.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Kausha
#105 Posted : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 8:48:11 AM

@aguy...been ranting about this, while @deal and co want to slit my throat. I just think it's outright stupid for government to make it KPLC's oh sorry consumers responsibility to regenerate the grid! Either government sets up a sinking fund or grants KPLC some MoE budget to regenerate the grid or alternatively make it Ketraco's work.

Again enter Exim bank of China and more no minimal economic effects for Kenya. For those who have experience with Exim banks esp the chinese one we know very well even the 'sululu' that digs the trench to bury the cable will come from china. The only thing we will provide will be MANUAL labor. If it was a government funded project, EA Cables and other domestic cable companies would have a great opportunity to grow their businesses and create jobs. Meanwhile our young and upcoming engineers would have a first crack at the jobs in these project. However now we expect Li Xiang or Wing Wong to do this job working for China 'hauwui' while we consumers will repay the loans! Sad day for Kenya. We need to regenerate the grid but not with Chinese loans!
#106 Posted : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 8:53:50 AM

Having sold my kplc,iam liquid and praying for the worst to happen to take position.
#107 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 8:01:42 PM

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/2mmtqd/-/index.html

I like this

The power distribution firm also benefitted from a Sh868 million increase in other income which include fibre optic lease charges, reconnection charges and miscellaneous sales.

How low can this ship sink, i might just get some...is 14 feasible?
#108 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 8:13:37 PM

Just be here for other reasons not dividends,the guys are very mean and need additional capital.
holycow
#109 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 8:34:12 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Just be here for other reasons not dividends,the guys are very mean and need additional capital.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....62/-/2mmtqd/-/index.html

The folks are really mean, no interim dividend.
Aguytrying
#110 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 11:37:45 PM

Kausha wrote:
@aguy...been ranting about this, while @deal and co want to slit my throat. I just think it's outright stupid for government to make it KPLC's oh sorry consumers responsibility to regenerate the grid! Either government sets up a sinking fund or grants KPLC some MoE budget to regenerate the grid or alternatively make it Ketraco's work.

Again enter Exim bank of China and more no minimal economic effects for Kenya. For those who have experience with Exim banks esp the chinese one we know very well even the 'sululu' that digs the trench to bury the cable will come from china. The only thing we will provide will be MANUAL labor. If it was a government funded project, EA Cables and other domestic cable companies would have a great opportunity to grow their businesses and create jobs. Meanwhile our young and upcoming engineers would have a first crack at the jobs in these project. However now we expect Li Xiang or Wing Wong to do this job working for China 'hauwui' while we consumers will repay the loans! Sad day for Kenya. We need to regenerate the grid but not with Chinese loans!

A very important criteria to me is the debt and aggressiveness a company demonstrates. History doesn't favour such radical actions. Yes they may pull it off. however the stock becomes that much more risky and less attractive.
At times like these its easy not to see (or question) the challenges and early signs that may become clearer later.
I'm not saying its doom and gloom for KENG n KPLC however, i question the appetite for debt and aggressive speed in expanding. because i think a slower (less leveraged) expansion would have still provided enough power judging the projected increase in demand.
#111 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 1:26:02 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Kausha wrote:

A very important criteria to me is the debt and aggressiveness a company demonstrates. History doesn't favour such radical actions. Yes they may pull it off. however the stock becomes that much more risky and less attractive.
At times like these its easy not to see (or question) the challenges and early signs that may become clearer later.
I'm not saying its doom and gloom for KENG n KPLC however, i question the appetite for debt and aggressive speed in expanding. because i think a slower (less leveraged) expansion would have still provided enough power judging the projected increase in demand.
KQ
#112 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 6:43:09 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Kausha wrote:

@Aguy economic growth and surge in electricity demand does not allow for "slow and unleveraged" expansion...

These guys are still making up lost time from Moi days Sad

However here is a theory that argues in favour of debt use in expansions!

www.investopedia.com/wal...iller.aspx#axzz2MA5RpOhW
gesowan
#113 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 5:19:21 PM

this counter was below ksh 14 now iko above Ksh 15 kwani iko kitu kwa vitabu...last year the results were released in october
Pesa Nane
#114 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 6:39:30 PM

gesowan wrote:
this counter was below ksh 14 now iko abobe Ksh 15 kwani iko kitu kwa vitabu...last year the results were released in october

mmm?? d'oh! d'oh!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
mwekez@ji
#115 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 11:17:47 PM

Kenya Power Gains in Longest Rally Since March: Nairobi Mover

Kenya Power Ltd., the East African nation’s sole electricity distributor, recorded its longest win streak in six months as investors looked for a haven amid concern that a tax increase will dent other companies’ profit.

The stock climbed 2.4 percent to 15 shillings by the close in Nairobi, a fourth day of gains and the highest level since June 21. About 2 times the three-month average volume of shares were traded.

Kenya’s expanded value-added tax came into effect on Sept. 2, broadening the range of goods the tariff is imposed on at a standardized rate of 16 percent. Kenya Power is the second-best performer this month on the FTSE NSE Kenya 25 Share Index. Kenya Electricity Generating Corp., known as KenGen, has rallied 6 days to a gain of 4 percent this month.

“In the case of Kenya Power and KenGen those are utilities and so people need their services,” Eric Munywoki, a research analyst at Nairobi-based Old Mutual Securities Ltd., said in a phone interview today. “Consumer companies will experience an adverse effect because incomes remain at the same level and consumers’ purchasing power is eroded.”

Kenya’s 25-Share Index rose 26 percent this year, with KenGen the second-best performer, adding 90 percent. Kenya Power has dropped 12 percent since the start of the year.
gesowan
#116 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 11:29:36 PM

@mwekez@ji...hii kitu iko maneno naona kama watataja faida..
mwekez@ji
#117 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:12:45 AM

gesowan wrote:
@mwekez@ji...hii kitu iko maneno naona kama watataja faida..

faida ni lazima hapa. waona ikipanda na asilimia ngapi juu ya mwaka uliopita
gesowan
#118 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 7:01:51 PM

naona kama faida itakuwa juu kwa aslimia 12 pekee...
#119 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 7:17:42 PM

American firm General Electric will invest KES8.70Billion in Kenyan electricity Sector.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/990jlwz/-/index.html

Kwani what happened to choices and consequences?

#120 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 7:26:36 PM

First Solar Company, an American conglomerate, Thursday announced plans to set a base in Kenya for expansion of its renewable energy business in East Africa.

The firm with manufacturing bases in USA and Malaysia said it would start the operations through partners later this year. It would also invite equity partners to its projects.

“We intend to produce two Gigawatts through a Photovoltaic (PV) solar- hybrid plant (with traditional liquid fuel generators) to create a reliable source of electricity,’’ First Solar managing director Johan Cilliers said during a media briefing in Nairobi Thursday.

http://www.businessdaily...42/-/fm7s4i/-/index.html